Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos The Business of Photography 
Thread started 25 Mar 2011 (Friday) 08:59
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

My first stolen photo - I feel so proud :)

BioSci
406 posts
Gallery: 16 photos
Joined Nov 2010

Mar 25, 2011 08:59 |  #1

Hi. I'm NOT a professional photographer, but I've been an avid enthusiast for decades. Way back in the mid 1990's, I was piloting a small plane over Boston and took some photos with a 35mm camera using ISO 25 professional film for best grain structure. Then I shipped the exposed film to Kodak for developing and high-resolution scanning onto a photo CD. Recently I put one of the best of these images at medium resolution onto PhotoBucket (see here (external link)) so I could share it with a few friends. Reading this forum, I discovered Tineye.com, and started checking images from my Photobucket album. To my amusement, I found that same photo posted in a Spanish photo web site, Photopaises (external link). I contacted them to enquire whether I could use that image commercially, and was told that it it was copyrighted, and that I absolutely had no right to use it. Of course I have no intentions (at present) of selling that image, but I'm honored that another web site should claim ownership. Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery!

Gripped 7D | 24-70 f/2.8L II | 70-200 f/2.8L II | 100-400L | 17-55 f/2.8 | lots of misc stuff

Tyo Photographyexternal link

sponsored links
drumsfield
Goldmember
1,596 posts
Joined Oct 2009

Mar 25, 2011 09:18 |  #2