Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 29 Mar 2011 (Tuesday) 12:50
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

using FlexTT5+Ac3 + 580EXII on Camera?!?! Possible?!

 
johnlo
Goldmember
Avatar
1,113 posts
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
     
Mar 29, 2011 12:50 |  #1

for those that are using Pocket Wizard FlexTT5/MiniTT1. is it possible to use FlexTT5 on camera w/o using the HotShoe? I noticed that camera/P2 port - but believe its for remote trigger camera.

what i am trying to figure out is. I like to have my 580EX on top camera in ETTL mode.. but want to use the AC3 so i can control the OCF in both ETTL and manual mode.


johnlo photography :
website: www.john-lo.com (external link)
personal blog: http://www.jklimagery.​com (external link)
My Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
SMP_Homer
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,614 posts
Gallery: 26 photos
Likes: 426
Joined Mar 2008
Location: London, Ontario
     
Mar 29, 2011 14:24 |  #2

get a flash bracket
put your TT5/TT1 + AC3 on the body
on the bracket, a TT5 + flash
and your remotes TT5/flashes

you can't trigger remotes and take pics at the same time... you can trigger the remote stuff with the "test" button, but good luck syncing that with you hitting the shutter!


EOS R / 7D2 / 1D IV (and the wife has a T4i)
Sig35A, Sig50A, Sig85A, Sig14-24A, Sig24-105A, Sig70-200S, Sig150-600C
100-400L, 100L, 300 2.8L, 1.4x II / 2x II
600EX-II X3, 430EX-III X3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
19,434 posts
Likes: 1614
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Mar 29, 2011 15:16 |  #3

Why not put 580ex on top of mini/flex on camera and control remote flashes from your on camera flash? I know AC3 makes it easy to change things but with AC3 on mini/flex you can't put another flash on top.


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
johnlo
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,113 posts
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
     
Mar 30, 2011 15:33 |  #4

i do have the Flash on top mini when needed. the problem is i like to be able to adjust the OCF in manual mode, while shooting flash on mini in ETTL mode.


johnlo photography :
website: www.john-lo.com (external link)
personal blog: http://www.jklimagery.​com (external link)
My Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dmward
Cream of the Crop
9,081 posts
Gallery: 29 photos
Likes: 1524
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Metro Chicago
     
Mar 30, 2011 16:38 |  #5

Experiment with FEC. I've not tried it but I think the camera will control the remotes and the one on camera can be over ridden on the flash.

Something to experiment with.

The only other option is to do as suggested with a bracket and flex.


David | Sharing my Insights, Knowledge & Experience (external link) | dmwfotos website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Austin.Manny
Goldmember
Avatar
1,040 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
     
Mar 30, 2011 16:47 |  #6

johnlo wrote in post #12126064 (external link)
i do have the Flash on top mini when needed. the problem is i like to be able to adjust the OCF in manual mode, while shooting flash on mini in ETTL mode.

Then don't mix eTTL and manual flash. I don't see why it's becoming such a big trend. In my opinion, that just defeats the purpose of each system and may even impair eTTL. So why even do it? :confused:


450D Gripped | Σ 30 f/1.4 | 85 f/1.8 | 18-55 IS
LumoPro LP180 | Yongnuo YN-460 |
RF-602

Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,533 views & 0 likes for this thread
using FlexTT5+Ac3 + 580EXII on Camera?!?! Possible?!
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is xemlicham
1057 guests, 195 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.