Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 05 May 2011 (Thursday) 23:43
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Photoshop 12 (CS5) - general ignorance, but especially with Content Aware

peterbj7
Goldmember
3,123 posts
Joined Oct 2007

May 05, 2011 23:43 |  #1

I'm new to this, and am really struggling. I have a particular picture

PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i219.photobucke​t.com …0/peterbj7/IMG_​6521sm.jpg (external link)

that I'm trying to improve, and I'm really making a meal of it.

What I want to do is remove the post and all associated things. I've worked out how to select the bits I want to remove, and that's no problem. But when I try to use Content Aware to replace the bits I don't want the system chooses to introduce a background that I don't want rather than just on the background, based partly on the girl. This is especially noticeable when I try to change the bits of post in front of her.

How do I get Content Aware to interpolate its new background from what actually is the background in the picture? I'm guessing that perhaps I should add a new layer, then in that layer remove the girl completely, THEN (still in that layer) perform a Content Aware deletion on the post/ribbon/shadow, THEN add back the girl. Am I getting close? Not that I really know how to do that either.....