Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 24 May 2011 (Tuesday) 14:44
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Flex TT5 TT1 Users, a question....

 
Gel
Goldmember
Avatar
1,145 posts
Likes: 45
Joined Sep 2009
Location: Brighton , East Sussex
     
May 24, 2011 14:44 |  #1

Loving the Pocket Wizard Flex system but I've got a couple of things bugging me which I can't seem to work out. If anyone can help I'd be grateful.

First issue:

I'm at a wedding, I follow the bride and groom outside so only want to use the flash on my camera (which has a TT1 between it and the camera body). Is there a way of setting the system up so it only uses this flash. Rather than take the flash and TT1 off and replacing the flash. In essence turning the TT1 off (or disabling it) but still be able to trigger my on camera flash

Second issue:

First dance at a wedding, I have two flashes snooted in each corner of the room. The light is low so still want to use the infrared function on my flash as AF assist but don't want it to fire as it will flood the area with light. Ordinarily to do this I'd set this on the camera body however in doing so it disables the other flashes as well. Any workaround on this?

All flashes are 580 EX II's

Thanks in advance!


Chris Giles Photography

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
ZXDrew
Goldmember
1,027 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Austin, TX
     
May 24, 2011 14:53 |  #2

First: You could just switch the Channel on the TT1. I have my A channel Set for one camera and channel two and the B channel set for another camera and channel 4. Also if the other flashes aren't affecting you're current shot, is there a reason leaving them on would be a bad thing?

Second: Do you have a one camera flash and two off camera flashes?


PhotoWolfe.com (external link)
Facebook.com/PhotoWolfe (external link)
Gear / My flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gel
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,145 posts
Likes: 45
Joined Sep 2009
Location: Brighton , East Sussex
     
May 24, 2011 15:19 |  #3

ZXDrew wrote in post #12471111 (external link)
First: You could just switch the Channel on the TT1. I have my A channel Set for one camera and channel two and the B channel set for another camera and channel 4. Also if the other flashes aren't affecting you're current shot, is there a reason leaving them on would be a bad thing?

Second: Do you have a one camera flash and two off camera flashes?

Ah, I see......I've these channels set for respective cameras though. But it makes sense to do it that way tbh.

I have 1 on camera flash and FOUR off camera flashes if the venue is big enough. works well ;) I just want to use the AF assist on the main one so the others cast a nice dramatic effect.


Chris Giles Photography

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KinoC
Senior Member
Avatar
524 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 14
Joined Jun 2009
Location: South Florida
     
May 24, 2011 15:29 |  #4

+1 ZXDrew
or
You can buy a PW- AC3 and you can shut off any group combination of lights.

Do your self a favor and bring an extra flash ( do not put it on a TT5) just in case the 580EXII stop working. I had a few 580EXII that stopped working during events so test them and see the actuation on your camera LCD because you will be able to see the pre-flash but not the actual flash. I kept experiencing this issue until I decided to get rid of the 580's and I got the 430EXII.... so far no issues with the 430EXII.


Regards,


KC
1Dx |5D MII | 7D|16-35 MII|24-70 MII|70-200 MII

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gel
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,145 posts
Likes: 45
Joined Sep 2009
Location: Brighton , East Sussex
     
May 24, 2011 15:44 |  #5

Maybe a blackout diffuser for scenario 2?


Chris Giles Photography

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ZXDrew
Goldmember
1,027 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Austin, TX
     
May 24, 2011 15:48 |  #6

Gel wrote in post #12471420 (external link)
Maybe a blackout diffuser for scenario 2?

That could lead to overheating. I'm surprised you haven't had any problems with the 580exII and the TT5's. Mine killed my 580exII.

You could always set the 580exii to manual at 1/128ths and add either point the head off behind you or just gel it down.


PhotoWolfe.com (external link)
Facebook.com/PhotoWolfe (external link)
Gear / My flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
20,438 posts
Likes: 3325
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
May 24, 2011 16:01 |  #7

ZXDrew wrote in post #12471437 (external link)
You could always set the 580exii to manual at 1/128ths and add either point the head off behind you or just gel it down.

This. I think there is an option to disable the flash in camera with AF assist still working. Haven't tested it on my TT1 yet.


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dmward
Cream of the Crop
9,083 posts
Gallery: 29 photos
Likes: 1529
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Metro Chicago
     
May 24, 2011 16:15 |  #8

Turn off the flash on the back of the on-camera Speedlite. Or use an STE2 for focus assist.


David | Sharing my Insights, Knowledge & Experience (external link) | dmwfotos website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ZXDrew
Goldmember
1,027 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Austin, TX
     
May 24, 2011 16:23 |  #9

bobbyz wrote in post #12471502 (external link)
This. I think there is an option to disable the flash in camera with AF assist still working. Haven't tested it on my TT1 yet.

I believe having the TT1 on camera does not allow access to the normal flash menu on camera. Check to see if there is a custom function on the 580exii that would turn off the flash.


PhotoWolfe.com (external link)
Facebook.com/PhotoWolfe (external link)
Gear / My flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gel
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,145 posts
Likes: 45
Joined Sep 2009
Location: Brighton , East Sussex
     
May 24, 2011 16:31 |  #10

dmward wrote in post #12471572 (external link)
Turn off the flash on the back of the on-camera Speedlite. Or use an STE2 for focus assist.

This works?


Chris Giles Photography

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
HastyPhoto
Senior Member
Avatar
953 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Philly Burbs
     
May 24, 2011 19:20 |  #11

I thought the issue with the tt5 and 580exII's were solved with that plastic cover peice?


60D | EFS 17-55 2.8 IS | Rode VideoMic Pro | Manfrotto 190XPROB

www.HastyPhoto.com (external link)
www.etsy.com/shop/Hast​yPhoto (external link)
www.facebook.com/HastyPhoto (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KinoC
Senior Member
Avatar
524 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 14
Joined Jun 2009
Location: South Florida
     
May 25, 2011 07:41 |  #12

The range issues was resolved but not the battery circuit assembly of the 580EXII. I must say that the 580EXII has something in its assembly that the 430EXII doesn't. I had to send my (3)580EXII five times to Canon and they performed the same fix "Change battery assembly". This happen in a month and half period. Once I change to 430EXII a little more than a year I had not experienced any issues with this combo (430EXII/TT5).

I just wanted to give GEL a heads up so he can have a backup plan in case he needs it. I learn about this issue the hard way and I missed more than a few minutes trying to figure out why my pics where so dark.

Regards,


KC
1Dx |5D MII | 7D|16-35 MII|24-70 MII|70-200 MII

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gel
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,145 posts
Likes: 45
Joined Sep 2009
Location: Brighton , East Sussex
     
May 25, 2011 08:02 |  #13

I thought the issues with 580's failing was when it was used in high speed sync.

The logic behind it being that the ozone created by the rapid strobing damaged the flash as it couldn't ventilate out quickly enough. Something not a problem when not using HSS?


Chris Giles Photography

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
20,438 posts
Likes: 3325
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
May 25, 2011 08:44 |  #14

Maybe something else wrong with KC's 580exII. Never had this battery problem or heard about it when using flexTT5.


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
HastyPhoto
Senior Member
Avatar
953 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Philly Burbs
     
May 25, 2011 08:50 |  #15

Gel, I believe your correct. Thats where my concern comes in in my thread. I'd like to be able to use HSS. So now I'm debating 580exII or the 430.

See this > http://www.flickr.com …iscuss/72157623​362956049/ (external link)


60D | EFS 17-55 2.8 IS | Rode VideoMic Pro | Manfrotto 190XPROB

www.HastyPhoto.com (external link)
www.etsy.com/shop/Hast​yPhoto (external link)
www.facebook.com/HastyPhoto (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,151 views & 0 likes for this thread
Flex TT5 TT1 Users, a question....
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Sonechka
905 guests, 306 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.