Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 24 May 2011 (Tuesday) 18:47
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Testing Your New Lens

samefly
246 posts
Joined May 2011

May 24, 2011 18:47 |  #1

Hey everyone :)

I'm new to DSLR and just starting to buy equipment. As my budget is pretty small, making good purchases is pretty important to me. Before I invest in equipment I read a ton of reviews... so much so I can get a bit overwhelmed at times. After reading some reviews or various lenses I see that some people get "good" copies and some don't. It looks like most retailers/manufacturer​s are pretty good about exchanging the "bad" ones.

When you first get your lens is there a series of tests or checklist that you do to determine if your lens is good?

daru photography (external link)
facebook (external link) | flickr (external link)

sponsored links
ni$mo350
Cream of the Crop
6,011 posts
Joined Apr 2009

May 24, 2011 18:54 |  #2

Go out and shoot and come back and review. If there's a real reason that they're not the way they're supposed to be (IE too slow of a ss or over/under exposing or even missing focus due to user error) then you can trouble shoot from their and see what the issue is and if others are experiencing the same. There's a wealth of knowledge and experience here and there's a good chance that if you get a problem with a lens, someone else has too and has posted all about it and the resulting fix for it.