Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Weddings & Other Family Events Talk 
Thread started 01 Jun 2011 (Wednesday) 10:07
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Off Camera Lighting at Wedding??

iamchanel
82 posts
Joined Dec 2010

Jun 01, 2011 10:07 |  #1

I am new to flash photography and I was wondering whether off camera lighting typically ruins the scene set by the bride and groom. I'm trying to imagine bright lights going off with each click of the shutter and it seems a bit intrusive and attention grabbing. Does any have an issue with off camera lighting at a wedding reception or is it pretty much unnoticeable?

My Blog :-) (external link)
Let's Be Friends :) (external link)

sponsored links
KSPhotography
289 posts
Joined Sep 2009

Jun 01, 2011 10:20 |  #2

Honestly, at most weddings, I have the bride ask me how I'm taking pictures in a dim environment without a flash. They almost don't even notice that I have strobes setup in the reception halls.

I've recently started to add a fill flash on camera to complement the strobes, but I've never had anyone say it's intrusive. Of course, this is just me...others may have different opinions.

Wedding Photographer for the Indian Community in Chicago
(2) 5D Mark II, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II, 85mm f/1.2 II, 24-70mm f/2.8L, 16-35L II, 100mm Macro and a few more L's

picturecrazy
soft-hearted weenie-boy
8,565 posts
Joined Jan 2006

Jun 01, 2011 10:29 |  #3