Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 02 Jun 2011 (Thursday) 22:38
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Sigma 85mm f/1.4 underpose issue

 
genjurok
Senior Member
537 posts
Joined Jan 2010
     
Jun 02, 2011 22:38 |  #1

Read this before on different forums that the Sigma 85mm f/1.4 underexposes 1/3 to 2/3 stop compared to Canon 85L, even at manual mode.

A couple of weeks ago, there was a photographic show here. I brought my Canon 85 f/1.8 and did some comparison shot with the Siggy 85. Shoot at manual mode, with same ISO, different shutter speed and aperture combination. Also shot a few video clips to compare.

The siggy under the same ISO, f/1.4 , 1/160 sec shutter, the exposure is almost exactly the same as f/1.8, 1/100 sec shutter with Canon 85. Also tried f/1.4 and 1/200 sec shutter, it's slightly ( a little) darker than f/1.8, 1/100 sec with Canon 85. The video clips confirm the same thing.

I'm sure that the Sigma 85 is indeed 2/3 stop faster than the Canon 85 f/1.8. At least in manual mode, which is what matters to me most.

Hopefully this is helpful to people who are thinking about upgrading to siggy 85, but concerned about the real speed of the sigma.

I will post pictures later after I upload them.


6D
Canon 17-40mm f/4L | Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 | Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II
Canon 50mm f/1.8 | Sigma 50mm f/1.4 | Canon 100mm f/2
580 EX | 430 EX | Pixel King Pro wireless radio trigger and receiver (x2)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
yogestee
"my posts can be a little colourful"
Avatar
13,845 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 36
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Australia
     
Jun 03, 2011 00:50 |  #2

The siggy under the same ISO, f/1.4 , 1/160 sec shutter, the exposure is almost exactly the same as f/1.8, 1/100 sec shutter with Canon 85.

That sounds about right..


Jurgen
50D~700D~EOS M~G11~S95~GoPro Hero4 Silver
http://www.pbase.com/j​urgentreue (external link)
The Title Fairy,, off with her head!!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Sdiver2489
Goldmember
2,845 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 111
Joined Sep 2009
     
Jun 03, 2011 01:31 |  #3

genjurok wrote in post #12526357 (external link)
The siggy under the same ISO, f/1.4 , 1/160 sec shutter, the exposure is almost exactly the same as f/1.8, 1/100 sec shutter with Canon 85.

So let me understand you...

If you use an aperture not quite a stop faster than F1.8 you get get not quite a doubling of shutter speed on the sigma with equal exposure?

That sounds exactly right...I'm not seeing the issue here.


Please visit my Flickr (external link) and leave a comment!

Gear:
Canon 5D III, Canon 24-70L F4 IS, Canon 70-300L F4-F5.6 IS, Canon 100mm F2.8L IS Macro, Canon 35mm F2.0 IS, Canon 430EX II-RT, Canon 600EX II-RT

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Yapo
Member
Avatar
142 posts
Joined May 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Jun 03, 2011 01:59 as a reply to  @ Sdiver2489's post |  #4

Maybe you should have tried the sigma at f/1.8 as well to see whether the shutter speed was different to canon's?


m4/3: Olympus E-PL2 | Nokton 25 f/0.95
Film: Voigtlander Bessa R3M | Nokton 40 f/1.4 SC
DSLR: Canon 5D MKII | EF 50 f/1.4 | EF 85 f/1.8 | Tokina 11-16 f/2.8 | Rokinon 35 f/1.4 | EF 17-40 f/4L | EF 70-200 f/4L IS | 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ckckevin
Goldmember
Avatar
1,439 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jul 2009
Location: Bay Area
     
Jun 03, 2011 02:03 |  #5

Thanks. That's a good info to know.


Kevin life= learning
500D, Canon 10-22mm, Tamron 17-50mm 2.8, Canon 60 macro, Canon 85mm 1.8, Sigma 8mm 3.5, Sigma 30mm 1.4, Sigma 50-150mm 2.8, Kenko SP300 1.4x, efs extension tubes, 580EX, and lens that i don't like

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SMP_Homer
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,617 posts
Gallery: 26 photos
Likes: 429
Joined Mar 2008
Location: London, Ontario
     
Jun 03, 2011 05:44 |  #6

Sdiver2489 wrote in post #12527107 (external link)
So let me understand you...

If you use an aperture not quite a stop faster than F1.8 you get get not quite a doubling of shutter speed on the sigma with equal exposure?

That sounds exactly right...I'm not seeing the issue here.

I don't think he's reporting an issue
I think he's saying he's read/heard about an issue, did some limited testing, and doesn't believe there's an issue


EOS R / 7D2 / 1D IV (and the wife has a T4i)
Sig35A, Sig50A, Sig85A, Sig14-24A, Sig24-105A, Sig70-200S, Sig150-600C
100-400L, 100L, 300 2.8L, 1.4x II / 2x II
600EX-II X3, 430EX-III X3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
genjurok
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
537 posts
Joined Jan 2010
     
Jun 03, 2011 08:33 |  #7

Yapo wrote in post #12527178 (external link)
Maybe you should have tried the sigma at f/1.8 as well to see whether the shutter speed was different to canon's?

I think I did that, and they looked the same exposure to me.
But keep in mind that I always shoot at manual mode, because I want to test the speed of lens, not metering.


6D
Canon 17-40mm f/4L | Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 | Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II
Canon 50mm f/1.8 | Sigma 50mm f/1.4 | Canon 100mm f/2
580 EX | 430 EX | Pixel King Pro wireless radio trigger and receiver (x2)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
genjurok
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
537 posts
Joined Jan 2010
     
Jun 03, 2011 08:40 |  #8

Alrite, here are some samples. I couldn't find the pictures, but did find the video clips I took with both lens at different aperture , shutter , but the same ISO. Exposure was manual mode. I extracted the frames from the clips and uploaded them.

ISO 320, aperture 1.8 and 1.4, shutter varies between 1/60sec, 1/100sec and 1/125 second.
Lighting was consistent. Here are four pictures. The Canon 1.8 , 1/125 sec is obviously the darkest one. But the Siggy 1.4, 1/100 sec and Canon 1.8, 1/60 sec are very very close in terms of exposure,
although color look a bit different. Histograms look almost identical.

Canon 1.8, 1/125 sec

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/gif' | Redirected to error image by FLICKR


Siggy 1.4, 1/125 sec
IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/gif' | Redirected to error image by FLICKR

6D
Canon 17-40mm f/4L | Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 | Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II
Canon 50mm f/1.8 | Sigma 50mm f/1.4 | Canon 100mm f/2
580 EX | 430 EX | Pixel King Pro wireless radio trigger and receiver (x2)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
genjurok
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
537 posts
Joined Jan 2010
     
Jun 03, 2011 08:46 |  #9

Canon 1.8, 1/60 sec

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/gif' | Redirected to error image by FLICKR



Siggy 1.4, 1/100 sec
IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/gif' | Redirected to error image by FLICKR

6D
Canon 17-40mm f/4L | Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 | Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II
Canon 50mm f/1.8 | Sigma 50mm f/1.4 | Canon 100mm f/2
580 EX | 430 EX | Pixel King Pro wireless radio trigger and receiver (x2)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ni$mo350
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,011 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Apr 2009
Location: Portland, OR
     
Jun 03, 2011 09:20 |  #10

I don't ETTR (I know!) but going off just the meter in 90% of the situations I shot in with it, I had to compensate for one stop in order to get correct exposure. This hasn't happened on any other lens I've owned, just that. This is from hundreds of shots testing out my Sigma 85. It's not a huge deal but it's noticeable.


-Chris-Website (external link)|| (external link)Facebook (external link)|| My Flickr (external link)|| Follow me!!! 500px (external link) || (external link) 5D mkii || 35L || 70-200 f/2.8L IS MKII || My bank account hates you all :cry:

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Sirrith
Cream of the Crop
10,545 posts
Gallery: 50 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 36
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Hong Kong
     
Jun 03, 2011 09:24 |  #11

I don't see the problem.
Your first set of shots, you're using same shutter speed but wider aperture on the sigma, and the sigma shot is brighter.
Your second set of shots, you closed the canon down, which lets in less light, but you've slowed the shutter speed, which lets in more light. With the sigma, you've opened it wider, which lets in more light, and increased shutter speed, which lets in less light, but you haven't exactly balanced the exposures out, so its normal for one to be brighter, and the sigma is, so where's the problem?

Also, to make it simple and less confusing, why don't you just set them both to 1.8 or 1.4, and use the same shutter speed, then you can see if one over or under exposes...


-Tom
Flickr (external link)
F-Stop Guru review | RRS BH-40 review

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
yogestee
"my posts can be a little colourful"
Avatar
13,845 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 36
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Australia
     
Jun 03, 2011 10:04 |  #12

Sirrith wrote in post #12528474 (external link)
I don't see the problem.
Your first set of shots, you're using same shutter speed but wider aperture on the sigma, and the sigma shot is brighter.
Your second set of shots, you closed the canon down, which lets in less light, but you've slowed the shutter speed, which lets in more light. With the sigma, you've opened it wider, which lets in more light, and increased shutter speed, which lets in less light, but you haven't exactly balanced the exposures out, so its normal for one to be brighter, and the sigma is, so where's the problem?

Also, to make it simple and less confusing, why don't you just set them both to 1.8 or 1.4, and use the same shutter speed, then you can see if one over or under exposes...

That sounds about right..

This is why I said this.


Jurgen
50D~700D~EOS M~G11~S95~GoPro Hero4 Silver
http://www.pbase.com/j​urgentreue (external link)
The Title Fairy,, off with her head!!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
genjurok
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
537 posts
Joined Jan 2010
     
Jun 03, 2011 10:14 |  #13

Sirrith wrote in post #12528474 (external link)
I don't see the problem.
Also, to make it simple and less confusing, why don't you just set them both to 1.8 or 1.4, and use the same shutter speed, then you can see if one over or under exposes...

As I said in a previous post, I did some comparison shots at same aperture and shutter, and they look identical.

But that's not my main point. The most important thing for me is to know the real speed of siggy at f/1.4. Is the siggy indeed 2/3 stop at f/1.4 faster than canon at f/1.8? That will decide if it's worthing upgrading for me.

That's why I did the test and compare both at
f/1.4 , 1/100sec vs canon f/1.8 , 1/60sec

and the result to me looks good. The Siggy at f/1.4 is indeed 2/3 faster.

Basically I'm not reporting an issue, as someone said before, rather I'm reporting it's a non-issue (to me) :p


6D
Canon 17-40mm f/4L | Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 | Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II
Canon 50mm f/1.8 | Sigma 50mm f/1.4 | Canon 100mm f/2
580 EX | 430 EX | Pixel King Pro wireless radio trigger and receiver (x2)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
juanpafer
Goldmember
Avatar
1,831 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 49
Joined May 2009
Location: Fort Myers, FL
     
Jun 03, 2011 10:49 |  #14

I was concerned about this issue when I bought my copy. I compared it with a 85L and when shooting both at 1.4 the L is slightly brighter than the Sigma. The difference disappears by 1.6
If you look at transmission data from fast lenses, they are not quite as fast as promised, but in this case the difference is subtle (for MY purposes).


Juan

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
yogestee
"my posts can be a little colourful"
Avatar
13,845 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 36
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Australia
     
Jun 03, 2011 10:50 |  #15

The Siggy at f/1.4 is indeed 2/3 faster.

Yes,, I see your point..

But if you shoot with the Sigma at say f/1.8 at 100th second at 100 ISO and the Canon at the exact same exposure settings, the images should have the same brightness, unless there is a problem with one of the lenses.


Jurgen
50D~700D~EOS M~G11~S95~GoPro Hero4 Silver
http://www.pbase.com/j​urgentreue (external link)
The Title Fairy,, off with her head!!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,926 views & 0 likes for this thread
Sigma 85mm f/1.4 underpose issue
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is LaurensW
746 guests, 228 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.