Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 04 Jun 2011 (Saturday) 06:23
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Converting & Saving in DPP

 
Roxie2401
Senior Member
Avatar
355 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Western PA
     
Jun 04, 2011 06:23 |  #1

Really new to DPP.

When saving for printing, I know I use "convert & save" but what is the best output file type for printing - TIFF or JPEG and at what resolution?

I see that the resolution can be set in the dialog box as well as the file type.

I'm not planning on doing anything really large - maybe just 8 x 12.

Also, is it best to "resize" or keep the original RAW image size (5184 x 3456, as an example of my RAW size)?

Thanks




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Jun 04, 2011 07:35 |  #2

I wouldn't resize.
ppi is largely irrelevant. I'd set it to 300ppi and forget about it.

For an 8x12 you need about 2400x3600 pixels, but more doesn't hurt.

jpg is okay, but compressed, and you don't want to use that when you want to edit further: Each time you save and close, the file get's compressed more and that will show up eventually. Also, jpg is 8bpc only. If the intende use is sending the file straight to a printer, it is fine however.

For files that require further editing, I would use tiff, either 8bpc or 16bpc (way larger, but better if you need to do luminance / color corrections further on, or use a wide gamut color space)


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Roxie2401
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
355 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Western PA
     
Jun 04, 2011 10:05 as a reply to  @ René Damkot's post |  #3

Is DPP a good program or should I be using something like Lightroom to convert?

I'm using a 7D and apparently need to "sharpen" before printing.

Thanks




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tkerr
Goldmember
Avatar
3,042 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Hubert, North Carolina, USA.
     
Jun 04, 2011 11:24 |  #4

Roxie2401 wrote in post #12534718 (external link)
Is DPP a good program or should I be using something like Lightroom to convert?

I'm using a 7D and apparently need to "sharpen" before printing.

Thanks

For many people DPP is plenty good enough. Remember it is the software developed for your camera and will work very well with it. There is actually more to it than first meets the eye. It's a good program, especially since it's free and so are any upgrades from here on out.
Lightroom on the other hand is a lot more and is for more organizational and management tasks to include development/processing​. And it's upgrades aren't free.

I recommend downloading and installing the trial version of lightroom and giving it a try before you commit to anything. You might not need that much and DPP will be plenty, yet it might be just what you need.
https://www.adobe.com …oduct=photoshop​_lightroom (external link)


Tim Kerr
Money Talks, But all I hear mine saying is, Goodbye!
F1, try it you'll like it.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Jun 04, 2011 11:30 |  #5

DPP is a very good raw converter, but it cannot do local adjustments (for instance: Just brighten one part of an image). LR can.


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jun 04, 2011 11:35 |  #6

Are you going to be using a print shop/lab for this printing?

If so you will typically going to need to provide them with a jpeg converted to the sRGB color space (DPP should be set to use this color space).

A high quality jpeg should be able to print those 8x12 and smaller sizes without needing to fuss with resizing. You may want to experiment with sharpening for different size prints.

Also different standard print sizes will need to be cropped at different aspect ratios. A 4x6 or an 8x12 can be printed without cropping, but a 5x7, an 8x10 and an 11x14 all require some cropping.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Roxie2401
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
355 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Western PA
     
Jun 04, 2011 12:24 as a reply to  @ tonylong's post |  #7

Thanks for the advice.

The one part of DPP that I don't understand is the "resizing" vs. the "trimming tool." I see where you can put dimensions in the trimming tool, but its grayed out.

Do I understand that you first "crop" with the trimming tool and then resize with the "convert & save" function?

I think at this point all I'm really trying to do is add some sharpening and then get a good jpeg for the lab to print.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tkerr
Goldmember
Avatar
3,042 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Hubert, North Carolina, USA.
     
Jun 04, 2011 12:47 |  #8

Roxie2401 wrote in post #12535344 (external link)
Thanks for the advice.

The one part of DPP that I don't understand is the "resizing" vs. the "trimming tool." I see where you can put dimensions in the trimming tool, but its grayed out.

Do I understand that you first "crop" with the trimming tool and then resize with the "convert & save" function?

I think at this point all I'm really trying to do is add some sharpening and then get a good jpeg for the lab to print.

Trimming is the same as Cropping. Throwing away part of the image.
Resizing on the other hand keeps the complete image but just changes it size. like a 8 x 12 print vs a 4 x 6 print. Same picture just a different size

You should only crop if you want to discard part of the picture or reframe it for composition. I.e. the rule of thirds.
But if you are going to crop you should do it before resizing.


Tim Kerr
Money Talks, But all I hear mine saying is, Goodbye!
F1, try it you'll like it.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Roxie2401
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
355 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Western PA
     
Jun 04, 2011 13:00 |  #9

tkerr wrote in post #12535440 (external link)
Trimming is the same as Cropping. Throwing away part of the image.
Resizing on the other hand keeps the complete image but just changes it size. like a 8 x 12 print vs a 4 x 6 print. Same picture just a different size

You should only crop if you want to discard part of the picture or reframe it for composition. I.e. the rule of thirds.
But if you are going to crop you should do it before resizing.


Thanks - I guess when I saw the "width and height" boxes in the trimming tool, I thought that was where you could specify the dimensions.

Also, I did just download the trial of LR3 - still haven't found the resizing options yet - boy, is it confusing on first look.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tkerr
Goldmember
Avatar
3,042 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Hubert, North Carolina, USA.
     
Jun 04, 2011 13:04 |  #10

Roxie2401 wrote in post #12535489 (external link)
Thanks - I guess when I saw the "width and height" boxes in the trimming tool, I thought that was where you could specify the dimensions.

Also, I did just download the trial of LR3 - still haven't found the resizing options yet - boy, is it confusing on first look.

LR is set up to make the work flow easier on you. You have a crop overlay tool in the Development Module, but to Resize you do that when you export/save your files.

Here are a bunch of Video Tutorials to get you started.
http://tv.adobe.com/sh​ow/learn-lightroom-3/ (external link)


Tim Kerr
Money Talks, But all I hear mine saying is, Goodbye!
F1, try it you'll like it.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jun 04, 2011 15:43 |  #11

Roxie2401 wrote in post #12535489 (external link)
Thanks - I guess when I saw the "width and height" boxes in the trimming tool, I thought that was where you could specify the dimensions.

Also, I did just download the trial of LR3 - still haven't found the resizing options yet - boy, is it confusing on first look.

In the Trimming tool the Width and Height are just showing you the resulting dimensions of your crop. As you note, they change as you adjust the crop rectangle, but you are not changing the size of your image in the way you do with the Resize option of Connvert and Save (or Batch process).


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gil ­ Bean
Senior Member
515 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Location: San Angelo, TX
     
Jun 04, 2011 16:50 as a reply to  @ tonylong's post |  #12

If I use DPP I set it at 350DPI, convert to Highest qualiy JPG then crop it in an old program called JPEG Crop (free) after sizing to 4X6, 6X4, 5X7 or 8X10.
If I want to really work with the photo I convert to 16 bit TIF in DPP, go to PSE9, do my work, save as 8 bit TIF in whatever print sze I want then upload to Adorama printing. Excellent prints, IMHO.

GilBean


G3, G6, G12, T2i + kit lens & accoutrements

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Roxie2401
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
355 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Western PA
     
Jun 04, 2011 17:13 |  #13

tonylong wrote in post #12536102 (external link)
In the Trimming tool the Width and Height are just showing you the resulting dimensions of your crop. As you note, they change as you adjust the crop rectangle, but you are not changing the size of your image in the way you do with the Resize option of Connvert and Save (or Batch process).


Tony,

Thanks - is there a way to set the crop for a specific size - say 8 x10 to get the correct crop size (or is this a ratio that I should set to get that specific crop) and then just drag the crop to where I want it?

Did I also just notice that DPP crop works the opposite from LR - the grid moves in DPP and the image moves in LR?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jun 04, 2011 17:54 |  #14

Roxie2401 wrote in post #12536404 (external link)
Tony,

Thanks - is there a way to set the crop for a specific size - say 8 x10 to get the correct crop size (or is this a ratio that I should set to get that specific crop) and then just drag the crop to where I want it?

Did I also just notice that DPP crop works the opposite from LR - the grid moves in DPP and the image moves in LR?

First off, yes, the DPP crop tool is different from the Lightroom tool in a few ways! If you are used to working with Lightroom it can throw you off:)!

To set an aspect ratio in DPP, click on the Aspect Ratio button before you begin to do any cropping -- otherwise it is disabled. If you need to, click Reset and the button will be enabled. Then, you can select one of the presets or choose to make a Custom ratio.

One thing to note is that the DPP ratios are fixed in either horizontal or vertical orientations -- unlike Lightroom you can drag a corner to switch between the two. So if you pick the wrong one and start drawing the crop and you are goofed up, then again, the Reset button is your friend, and the drop-down list does provide the alternative ratio orientations.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Roxie2401
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
355 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Western PA
     
Jun 04, 2011 18:33 |  #15

tonylong wrote in post #12536561 (external link)
First off, yes, the DPP crop tool is different from the Lightroom tool in a few ways! If you are used to working with Lightroom it can throw you off:)!

To set an aspect ratio in DPP, click on the Aspect Ratio button before you begin to do any cropping -- otherwise it is disabled. If you need to, click Reset and the button will be enabled. Then, you can select one of the presets or choose to make a Custom ratio.

One thing to note is that the DPP ratios are fixed in either horizontal or vertical orientations -- unlike Lightroom you can drag a corner to switch between the two. So if you pick the wrong one and start drawing the crop and you are goofed up, then again, the Reset button is your friend, and the drop-down list does provide the alternative ratio orientations.


Tony,

Thanks very much - getting familiar with DPP - not a bad program for just adding some sharpening (didn't have to do that with my 40D but for some reason the 7D images seems to need it - or is that because they are at 18mp vs 10mp and I'm just thinking I need to sharpen?); cropping and converting.

I wanted to sent some off to a lab just to see if the images are really soft of its what I mentioned above.

Thanks for all the help.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

6,611 views & 0 likes for this thread
Converting & Saving in DPP
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member was a spammer, and banned as such!
1076 guests, 228 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.