Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Critique Corner 
Thread started 05 Jun 2011 (Sunday) 14:08
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Bald Peak State Park, OR

kelleystar27
195 posts
Joined Jan 2007

Jun 05, 2011 14:08 |  #1

My first outing with my "new" 17-40L (& CPL). Sorry, I'm not very good at resizing these for posting and retaining decent quality. It was such a beautiful day, but I only had a few minutes. Not really excited about this picture but anyway, C&C appreciated, thank you!

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

Kelley
www.facebook.com/charm​edcapturesphotography.​com (external link)
40D, 5D,5D II, 28-75 2.8, 85 1.8, 200 2.8L, 300 2.8L

sponsored links
pelooyen
Goldmember
2,940 posts
Joined Mar 2010

Jun 05, 2011 23:04 |  #2

ahh - I want the 17-40 with CPL too

On to the picture..
two issues that grab me immediately
1. The sky is blown, and so you lose lots of detail you could have had in the clouds
2. There is nothing interesting in the foreground to draw the eye (its a mound of dirt)

It also is too saturated.
I suggest either a GND filter or our take bracketed shots and merge them (or HDR, but be gentle)

cheers, Paul
---------------
Flickr (external link) | My Website (external link) | Like me on Facebook (external link)
6D | 5Dc | 17-40mm L | 28-135mm IS USM | 70-200L f4 | 100mm f2.8 macro USM | MPE65 | MT-24EX | 580EX | Kenko extension tubes | 1.4x TC
| couple of umbrellas and softbox and other lighting stuff

kelleystar27
THREAD ­ STARTER
195 posts
Joined Jan 2007

Jun 06, 2011 00:19 |  #3

Thanks Paul,