Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Bird Talk 
Thread started 18 Jul 2011 (Monday) 20:07
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Am I expecting too much?

Chas ­ G
38 posts
Joined Apr 2009

Jul 18, 2011 20:07 |  #1

Let me start by saying that I do not expect to match some of the amazing photos that can seen on this forum. But take a look at the photos and let me know if I should be expecting more from the Bigmos.

The first is the original converted to JPEG, no PP. The second is cropped original no PP. I am disappointed in the sharpness. Now I am no post processing guru. In fact, I pretty bad. I guess my question is, is there something to work with here? Or should I can it. Also do you feel based upon the data the eagle should have been sharper?

ISO 400
500mm
60D
Ai Servo
Center point
f8.0
1/3200

Comments much appreciated.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

sponsored links
S.Horton
worship my useful and insightful comments
18,051 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Joined Dec 2006

Jul 18, 2011 20:10 |  #2

Your subject is underexposed. If the bird is dark and the sky is bright, my rule of thumb is go up two stops or three from the sky.

I do not own that lens. I cannot really tell from these photos what you are getting.

Are you sure you are not seeing camera shake? What support system do you have? Are you hand holding?

Sam - TF Says Ishmael
http://midnightblue.sm​ugmug.com (external link) 
Want your title changed?Dream On! (external link)

:cool:

Chas ­ G