Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 28 Jul 2011 (Thursday) 11:02
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Crop Shield - Settings you use

 
Jonta
Senior Member
Avatar
540 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Trondheim, Norway
     
Jul 28, 2011 11:02 |  #1

Research for a new image editing program.

Crop shield is the darkened area around the crop selection / crop area, and can be set in e.g. Adobe Photoshop, Elements, and others.

As far as I understand, these are the defaults:
Adobe Photoshop (& Elements): 75%
GIMP: 50%
Google Picasa: 38%

What do you use? Do you use one setting only? Which one? Or do you vary?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
30,452 posts
Gallery: 393 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 10872
Joined Dec 2006
     
Jul 28, 2011 11:06 |  #2

I use the default. The opacity of the area thats going to be thrown away is of no significance to me whatsoever.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Jul 28, 2011 13:09 |  #3

Mine is set at about 98%: I like to see what I'm doing.


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jonta
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
540 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Trondheim, Norway
     
Jul 28, 2011 13:12 |  #4

René Damkot wrote in post #12838174 (external link)
Mine is set at about 98%: I like to see what I'm doing.

Just to be clear; an image shield at 98% means that the area around the crop selection is almost entirely black, right?

Just seems a little odd with that last sentence, or did I miss something?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Jul 28, 2011 13:44 |  #5

While cropping, I don't want to see what I won't be seeing after I hit crop ;)
So yes, almost black.


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tkerr
Goldmember
Avatar
3,042 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Hubert, North Carolina, USA.
     
Jul 28, 2011 13:52 |  #6

gonzogolf wrote in post #12837563 (external link)
I use the default. The opacity of the area thats going to be thrown away is of no significance to me whatsoever.

^ Ditto
When I crop a picture I am looking inside the boundaries of the box at what I want to keep. Anything outside the box doesn't matter.


Tim Kerr
Money Talks, But all I hear mine saying is, Goodbye!
F1, try it you'll like it.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dustman
Senior Member
Avatar
868 posts
Likes: 21
Joined Mar 2010
Location: New Jersey
     
Jul 28, 2011 14:15 |  #7

How to you change the opacity on the cropping tool? How do make that section outside you crop box lighter or darker? I did not know I can do that, I use Elements 9. Thanks in advance!


www.DustinLevine.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tkerr
Goldmember
Avatar
3,042 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Hubert, North Carolina, USA.
     
Jul 28, 2011 14:25 |  #8

Dustman wrote in post #12838620 (external link)
How to you change the opacity on the cropping tool? How do make that section outside you crop box lighter or darker? I did not know I can do that, I use Elements 9. Thanks in advance!

I don't know about Elements 9, but I think it would be similar.
In PS CS5 as soon as you drag out the crop box the options appear on the options bar under the Menus.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Tim Kerr
Money Talks, But all I hear mine saying is, Goodbye!
F1, try it you'll like it.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jonta
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
540 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Trondheim, Norway
     
Aug 19, 2011 09:55 |  #9

Forgot to put a poll in this thread. Poll thread here.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dustman
Senior Member
Avatar
868 posts
Likes: 21
Joined Mar 2010
Location: New Jersey
     
Aug 19, 2011 11:34 |  #10

tkerr wrote in post #12838703 (external link)
I don't know about Elements 9, but I think it would be similar.
In PS CS5 as soon as you drag out the crop box the options appear on the options bar under the Menus.

I just read your response 3 weeks later, Thanks for your awnser!!

However Elements 9 does not have this feature : ( A very powerful program, but one of the many little things left out. One day I will invest in CS


www.DustinLevine.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 548
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Aug 19, 2011 13:26 |  #11

Dustman wrote in post #12963294 (external link)
I just read your response 3 weeks later, Thanks for your awnser!!

However Elements 9 does not have this feature : ( A very powerful program, but one of the many little things left out. One day I will invest in CS

In Elements, when you click the Crop tool, does anything appear in the toolbar?


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dustman
Senior Member
Avatar
868 posts
Likes: 21
Joined Mar 2010
Location: New Jersey
     
Aug 19, 2011 14:42 |  #12

tonylong wrote in post #12963788 (external link)
In Elements, when you click the Crop tool, does anything appear in the toolbar?

Aspect Ratio, Height, Width, Resolution........Just those 4 adjustments, I don't see anything at all about Opacity. I can still get the job done, just one of those little customizable things that could make life a little easier, if you find a way i can do this with Elements 9 please do chime in, thanks for your time


www.DustinLevine.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 548
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Aug 19, 2011 19:57 |  #13

I don't have Elements. But, the "normal" place for setting Opacity would be in Layers or in Masks.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Aug 20, 2011 12:56 |  #14

tonylong wrote in post #12965415 (external link)
I don't have Elements. But, the "normal" place for setting Opacity would be in Layers or in Masks.

Not for the opacity outside a crop, which is what this thread is about ;)


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 548
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Aug 20, 2011 13:43 |  #15

tonylong wrote in post #12965415 (external link)
I don't have Elements. But, the "normal" place for setting Opacity would be in Layers or in Masks.

René Damkot wrote in post #12968516 (external link)
Not for the opacity outside a crop, which is what this thread is about ;)

Oh yeah, silly me:)!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,563 views & 0 likes for this thread
Crop Shield - Settings you use
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is nmille07
775 guests, 195 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.