Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 19 Aug 2011 (Friday) 03:56
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

An old blokes perspective.

neil_r
Cream of the Proverbial Crop
Landscape and Cityscape Photographer 2006
18,065 posts
Joined Jan 2003

Aug 19, 2011 03:56 |  #1

First off I am not a grumpy old git (I am old, I can be grumpy and I can be a git, but seldom all three at the same time)

I have been making a reasonable living with a camera for over 30 years but am still happy to be an early adopter of new technology, and since starting to move over to digital when Canon launched the D60 (that is D60 not 60D) I have stayed relatively consistent with their developments (see gear list).

I have been reasonably active on POTN for many years, and it has been great to see how much it has grown, in my early days here there were many people simply trying to work things out as many were in the same place as me in that they were transferring years of knowledge from the film world into the digital age.

Over the last few days I have had a bit more time to venture into parts of the forum that I have not been into for a very long time and I am really surprised by some of the things I have seen.

1. There are people giving advice that is simply wrong.

2. There are people offering opinions and then defending them as if they were set in stone and handed down to Moses on the mountain.