Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 22 Aug 2011 (Monday) 22:25
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

how to have AF assist and radio trigger?

genjurok
537 posts
Joined Jan 2010

Aug 22, 2011 22:25 |  #1

I'm a newbie to flash. Therefore need some help here. I have a 5D and 60D, 580ex and 430 ex. I've tested triggering 580 ex and 430 ex with 60D builtin wireless trigger, or trigger the 430 ex with on-camera 580ex, as I understand this is optical trigger. However I noticed that the range or the placement is limited for the optical slave.

I wonder if I get a radio trigger, and in the meantime using either 430 or 580 on 5D for AF assist in the case of dark environment where AF doesn't work, how shall I set it up? I guess that I need to connect the radio trigger to 5D via PC port, since the hot shoe will be taken by the external flash ? Does radio triggers normally support PC port connection? Is there a way I can disable external flash firing flash, but only IR for AF assist? I don't see it in 5D menu.
How about for 60D? I know it doesn't have PC port, so that means I can't use external flash and radio trigger at the same time on hot shoe?

Sorry for so many questions.

thanks a lot!

6D
Canon 17-40mm f/4L | Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 | Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II
Canon 50mm f/1.8 | Sigma 50mm f/1.4 | Canon 100mm f/2
580 EX | 430 EX | Pixel King Pro wireless radio trigger and receiver (x2)

sponsored links
Blackey ­ Cole
480 posts
Joined Feb 2007

Aug 23, 2011 04:22 |  #2