Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 24 Aug 2011 (Wednesday) 02:03
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Editing help - remove power lines!

sticknpuck
205 posts
Joined Jan 2011

Aug 24, 2011 02:03 |  #1

I took this shot and a bunch of others at a friends wedding. I'm not a pro and he had a paid photog there I just want to send him some of the pics I got. Anyway...

What's the best way to remove the power lines from this shot? I tried in LR3 but it leaves that nasty bunch of circles and smudges instead. I have PSE but am not great at masking and painting and such...

Can anybody give me a quick idea as to how to tackle this job. Not asking for a freebie here just a nudge in the right direction would be appreciated.

Cheers

HOSTED PHOTO DISPLAY FAILED: ATTACH id 552316 does not exist. ]

Matt
flickr (external link)

sponsored links
tonylong
...winded
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Joined Sep 2007

Aug 24, 2011 02:24 |  #2

Cloning, which is a common tool in Lightroom and all the "imitators". Just be aware that there is work involved. Cloning is a sometimes painstaking effort of taking a sample from an image and copying it into an offending place.

Here you have plenty of blue sky, but you should be aware that one spot of blue sky is typically not "happy" with blending with another spot of blue sky (maybe too dark or too light or whatever).