Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 17 Sep 2011 (Saturday) 08:43
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Computer Build Help

 
Bendel
Senior Member
Avatar
323 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Wisconsin
     
Sep 17, 2011 08:43 |  #1

Hey everyone,
I'm currently in Australia studying abroad, but when I get home I plan on building a new desktop. My current Sony Vaio laptop is garbage for a lot of the things I need it to do. The screen is terrible, it can't handle photoshop cs5, and I don't like the fact that when I run a secondary monitor off of it the screens aren't the same resolution. Also, I don't have an hdmi port.

So, I've been doing my research for a couple days and I've made this list of components I plan on buying. The base components are a kit off of newegg, with a few additions of my own. It's a little over my budget at this point so I either need to play with my budget a little bit or drop some components.

Processor: Intel i5 2500k
Motherboard: ASUS P8P67
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX560 TI DCII/2DI/1GD5 GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4gb)
Power Supply: Corsair 750W
Harddrive: Seagate 1TB
SSD: Crucial M4 64GB
Case: Cooler Master CM690II
DVD: Asus
Monitor: 2x ASUS VW246H 24" w/ Huey Pro
And Windows 7


As of now, I feel like the graphics card might be more than what I need. I feel like that's a place where I could save a bit on my budget. That card is $250 and I feel like I could get by with a cheaper one. Anything else I'm missing or I could do better for a similar budget?

The most important need is photo editing. Gaming may be a factor but I don't do a lot of it. Thoughts?


Brandon
Canon 5D, 24-105 F4L, 70-200 F4L, 85 F1.8, 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Merlin_AZ
Senior Member
Avatar
872 posts
Likes: 17
Joined Mar 2010
     
Sep 17, 2011 10:29 |  #2

If you aren't going to game, you can save some money on a less expensive card.
If the possibility exists, keep it.
Looks good to me overall--enjoy it!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,998 posts
Likes: 364
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Sep 17, 2011 19:11 |  #3

I suspect you can use built in video and that'll be fine, especially since you can easily add a graphics card later. Or just buy a cheaper card.

You really, really don't need a 750W power supply. Buy a good brand, but 400W is plenty. Not sure if it makes any difference to price. My PC draws 110W when it's at full load with at least two drives going full speed and all cores max'd out (Q6600 PC, three hard drives, two SSDs).


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bendel
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
323 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Wisconsin
     
Sep 17, 2011 19:28 |  #4

The graphics card is so I can run dual monitors. I've looked into it a bit and will definitely be getting a cheaper card than that one. That was just a starting point to get an approximate price of the system.

I'm so confused with power supply's! A lot of the builds I've seen with a somewhat similar setup run off of a 750W. If people talk about a 650W it seems like it's just barely going to fit their needs.


Brandon
Canon 5D, 24-105 F4L, 70-200 F4L, 85 F1.8, 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,998 posts
Likes: 364
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Sep 17, 2011 19:42 |  #5

A lot of people are stupid, or believe everything they read. Spend $10 on a power meter and hook it up to your current computer like I did. My PC takes 15W on standby, 70W running but doing nothing, 110W flat out.

If people run dual massive video cards they might use more power. A little more power is used if you have a lot of drives starting at the same time, but that's still only 10W per drive.

Look at the specs for all your components, add up the typical and max power draw. You'll almost never hit the max, but it'll give you a guideline.

Remember power supplies aren't 100% efficient, but they're not far off.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bendel
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
323 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Wisconsin
     
Sep 17, 2011 19:49 |  #6

Thank you for that


Brandon
Canon 5D, 24-105 F4L, 70-200 F4L, 85 F1.8, 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jladdm3
Member
88 posts
Joined Mar 2011
Location: Maine
     
Sep 17, 2011 19:51 |  #7

You might want to consider a bigger SSD for you OS. I have a 120GB SSD with Windows 7, CS5.5 master, Lightroom, Office 2010 pro and several other programs.The drive is about 60GB full with all of that. ALL of my photo,video, music etc files are on externals.


Follow me on Twitter (external link):D

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bendel
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
323 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Wisconsin
     
Sep 17, 2011 19:56 |  #8

I planned to actually have those exact programs on my ssd. So I know a 64gb would be very full with that, but wont that fill my needs?


Brandon
Canon 5D, 24-105 F4L, 70-200 F4L, 85 F1.8, 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kitacanon
Goldmember
4,706 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 35
Joined Sep 2006
Location: West Palm Beach
     
Sep 17, 2011 20:49 |  #9

My pc with 300w power supply runs the tiny fan on an ATI 5450 that operates my Viewsonic VP2365wb off the DVI, and my Samsung HD TV via HDMI with no problem at all...the box also has 2 HDDs and the ATI fan kicks on only when I open Photoshop...


My Canon kit 450D/s90; Canon lenses 18-55 IS, 70-210/3.5-4.5....Nikon kit: D610; 28-105/3.5-4.5, 75-300/4.5-5.6 AF, 50/1.8D Nikkors, Tamron 80-210; MF Nikkors: 50/2K, 50/1.4 AI-S, 50/1.8 SeriesE, 60/2.8 Micro Nikkor (AF locked), 85mm/1.8K-AI, 105/2.5 AIS/P.C, 135/2.8K/Q.C, 180/2.8 ED, 200/4Q/AIS, 300/4.5H-AI, ++ Tamron 70-210/3.8-4, Vivitar/Kiron 28/2, ser.1 70-210/3.5, ser.1 28-90; Vivitar/Komine and Samyang 28/2.8; 35mm Nikon F/FM/FE2, Rebel 2K...HTC RE UWA camera

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jladdm3
Member
88 posts
Joined Mar 2011
Location: Maine
     
Sep 17, 2011 20:57 |  #10

Bendel wrote in post #13119958 (external link)
I planned to actually have those exact programs on my ssd. So I know a 64gb would be very full with that, but wont that fill my needs?

It's a tough call... it would suck to find out its too small after/while you install every thing. If it were me I would try to go for something a little bigger. I have found that Intel drive are among the most stable SSDs available right now. they cost a little bit more and their stats are a little slower, but its worth it to have a reliable drive.


or if you want to go crazy, set up two 64GB SSDs in raid 0.


Follow me on Twitter (external link):D

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bendel
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
323 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Wisconsin
     
Sep 17, 2011 21:06 |  #11

jladdm3 wrote in post #13120113 (external link)
or if you want to go crazy, set up two 64GB SSDs in raid 0.

College student. Case closed haha.

I'm thinking I can get by with the 64 however, so if I find out it's too small I'll probably put Office on the hdd.


Brandon
Canon 5D, 24-105 F4L, 70-200 F4L, 85 F1.8, 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,998 posts
Likes: 364
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Sep 17, 2011 23:58 |  #12

I have a 60GB SSD, 34GB used. I have Win7, Office 2007, Photoshop CS4, all the web browsers, thunderbird, dozens of random programs, my page file, and a couple of software development tools on it.

Anyone who has similar software but higher disk usage needs to:
- Clean up the temp folders
- Reduce the number or rollback points, and delete the uninstalls for all the windows updates
- Move your caches to another disk
- Other random things I can't think of right now.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,470 views & 0 likes for this thread
Computer Build Help
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Guashumerda
882 guests, 184 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.