Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 19 Sep 2011 (Monday) 12:13
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

DPP Limitations & PP In General

General_T
252 posts
Joined Aug 2011

Sep 19, 2011 12:13 |  #1

Hi,

First off - I am a total Newb - but trying to learn.

I know that this has been asked in numerous different ways, so please bear with me.
Mind you, I have read a number of the PP threads, but a lot of them started many years ago, so I was hoping for a more current slant on PP.

I have Photoshop CS5 / LR 3 & DPP.

Please confirm for me that you cannot do any image resizing in DPP? I can't seem to find a tab for it.

I am trying to get a grip on the "correct" order of workflow so:

If I start in DPP and do minor adjustments such as Brightness / Contract / Sharpening etc. Do I then convert and save it as a JPEG and then open it up as a JPEG in Photoshop? If so, then I work on it as a JPEG for more sharpening / HighPass filter etc or any special effects I may want to apply in Photoshop?

Or do I just open it up in Camera Raw and do the same minor things and then open it as a Raw file in Photoshop do more PP / resize / USM / sharpen / Highpass etc and finally save as a JPEG from there, or

Is there some point in the Camera Raw and Photoshop work that I should save and convert to JPEG and then reopen in Photoshop for "final" work.

I am confused on the correct sequence of when to convert to JPEG and keep working on the file in Photoshop.