Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Astronomy & Celestial 
Thread started 15 Oct 2011 (Saturday) 21:27
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

An early horsehead and flame

ramv
123 posts
Joined Oct 2009

Oct 15, 2011 21:27 |  #1

I got exactly 90 mins between moonset and astronomical twilight last weekend and I shot the horsehead and flame nebula. Somewhat low in the horizon. It is my first attempt and I am quite happy with how it turned out. Now I know I want to get a full 8 hours on this object the next time we have a clear moonless night.
Camera : Canon T2i, Takahashi FSQ 106ED on an Astro-physics 600E GTO mount.

Here it is:

IMAGE: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6152/6233210585_d8568037e2_b.jpg

The original image can be seen here:
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/ramv/6233210585​/ (external link)

sponsored links
Acamacho
287 posts
Joined May 2008

Oct 15, 2011 22:16 |  #2

Amazing!

Gear | Flickr (external link) | Fluidr (external link) | Feedback

Pinhead338
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Mar 2009

Oct 16, 2011 01:09 as a reply to  @ Acamacho's post |  #3

Wow!!!

Toxic ­ Coolaid
Goldmember
1,073 posts
Joined Feb 2011

Oct 16, 2011 01:15 |  #4

Very nice. I'd say you're happy with only 90 min on it. It's funny, when I got my 1st scope I couldn't wait for the Moon to be up...now I can't wait for it to go away.

megrac
635 posts
Joined Oct 2009

Oct 16, 2011 02:00 |  #5

Its good but i would hope so looking at the money thrown at your gear :shock:

I'm not sure about the colour of the bright stars.

Nice to see its from a DSLR.