Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Sports Talk 
Thread started 24 Oct 2011 (Monday) 11:56
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

First Experience with Ice Hockey and Canon 70-200 f2.8 mkII

General_T
252 posts
Joined Aug 2011

Oct 24, 2011 11:56 |  #1

Hi,

First off - I am very new to photograpy (5DmkII is my 1st DSLR - although I did have a 7D for about a month - then returned for a 5D) and really don't know what I am doing - thank G-d these cameras are forgiving!! But I do want to learn.

I am this years volunteer for team photos for my childs hockey team (Novice A). They were having their first out-of-town tournament this past weekend and I decided I would rent the 70-200mm and try it out. I thought I would share my experience.

1. Overall Appearance - I was expecting the lens to be white. Its kind of a light beige, would have preferred white. The weight is fine, I hand held the lens for the 4 games and it wasn't an issue - I am only 130lbs so if I can manageit, I'm sure anyone can.

2. Ease of Use - Couldn't be simpler. Fast AF and clear pictures - well if you exclude user error! There is a "thingy - hope I'm not getting too technical:lol:" on the lens (some sort of ring) that is ideal for supporting the lens while shooting.