Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 06 Nov 2011 (Sunday) 10:21
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Battery Power useage

Shooting
Goldmember
1,552 posts
Joined Jan 2008

Nov 06, 2011 10:21 |  #1

I have the 50D. Question: does the camera use more battery power to process the raw files when shooting raw compared to processing the jpeg? I am thankful I started shooting entirely raw but noticed that ever since I changed to shooting raw my battery dies in about 2 hours of shooting (bp-511a battery) and I have to change. My charger came with the camera which is about 2 years old and I never take the battery out of the charger until the charge light is fully lit and not flashing and the camera shows it fully charged.

Just trying to narrow down the problem of batteries going dead. When I first got the camera I shot raw sparingly and mostly shot jpeg. Could the raw processing and writing to the CF card (takes longer than jpeg) be the culprit?

Thanks for all responses.

sponsored links
MGiddings ­ Photography
964 posts
Joined Mar 2010

Nov 06, 2011 10:31 |  #2

With my old 50D I could take 600+ raw images per battery charge on a non IS lens. This would go down to 450 if I used an IS lens.

https://mgiddings.com (external link)

Shooting
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
1,552 posts
Joined Jan 2008

Nov 06, 2011 10:42 |  #3