Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 08 Nov 2011 (Tuesday) 19:58
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

the $150.00 small flash set up. please advise.

tete
275 posts
Joined Mar 2011

Nov 08, 2011 19:58 |  #1

First of all let me inform you of my current setup.

Im fairly new to flash and off camera photography however Im getting excited as to the possibilities. Right now I am using a very primitive set up.

IMAGE: http://i42.tinypic.com/vzbmv7.jpg

about 2 minute recycle time and squeals like a pig. no joke. This is what I use. I get ok results from it. Cost about 12 bucks.

I also have a cheap 43" umbrella with stand, a reflector, and a wireless trigger that cost about $20.
The idea is a portable set up I can put I can power by batteries.

I have gathered $150-180 for funds.

I would like to use amazon that I can return things if need be, with less hassle.

I was originally thinking about getting a YN 565EX and calling it a day but perhaps you guys can think of a better way to spend my money.

I am using a 5D Mark II. I am not against using sync cords or any other means.

Thanks for your help.

Here is a starter:

perhaps 2 YN 560's and another wireless receiver + stand + Umbrella

this would give me more options and still be cheap.

I don't really know what I am doing here so feel free to jump in.

Tete