Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 23 Nov 2011 (Wednesday) 16:00
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Filter help - Polarizer

tomphot
26 posts
Joined Nov 2011

Nov 23, 2011 16:00 |  #1

A little back round - I've been shooting for 30+ years and am updating some equipment in the digital range.
I have just purchased a Tokina 11-16 that has a 77mm lens.
In going through my dozens of older filters, I found 2 - 77mm Polarizers that I used with a Bronica lens.
Am I correct that the proper filter that I need for the 11-16 is a circular filter for that lens?
In looking a my 72mm polarizer, I see that it specifies C-PL.
Do all circular filters say so on the edge?
I can't remember why I have 2 of these filters, one is a Tiffen and the other is a Tokina.
If these don't work with any of my current equipment, I guess I should just try to sell them and buy something I can use.

sponsored links
skater911
Goldmember
1,279 posts
Joined Dec 2006

Nov 23, 2011 16:10 |  #2

You probably won't like the result of a cp on this lens. Since this is an uwa you will see inconsistencies in the sky. With that said if you get a filter make sure it is a cp and linear polarizer. They should say cpl somewhere either on the lens or on the box

Nikon D850 l Nikon 28 1.4E l Nikon 50 1.8 g l Nikon 24-120 F4 l Tamron 100-400 l

paddler4
Goldmember
1,321 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Joined Aug 2009

Nov 23, 2011 16:12 |  #3

make sure it is a cp and linear polarizer.

Should say "make sure it is a cp [CIRCULAR] and NOT a linear polarizer."