Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Astronomy & Celestial 
Thread started 12 Dec 2011 (Monday) 22:20
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Telescope Suggestions

Gometang
266 posts
Joined Jan 2010

Dec 12, 2011 22:20 |  #1

Hi,

I am new to astrophotography and was wondering what telescope would be a good starter for me. I am not new to photography, but I know I have quite a bit to learn regarding taking night shots of the sky with some of my primes lens and learning about longer exposures and layering. I still need to get some shooting time in, but I want to know what is a good starter telescope once I feel more comfortable with it.

Any suggestions and recommendations?

Thanks,

Gome

sponsored links
cyberon
540 posts
Joined Jan 2010

Dec 13, 2011 03:40 |  #2

An ED80 triplet, best starter scope for astrophotography!

500D, Speedlite 430EX II, Lens : 15-85mm; 50mm F1.8 II; 100mm F2.8L IS Macro; 70-200mm F4L; Samyang 8mm F3.5
U/W : G11, OEM Housing, Inon S2000, Inon D4 Tray, Inon UCL-165 Close up lens
Astro : Modded 1100D, ES 80ED, Skywatcher HEQ5 Mount, Astrotrac TT320X-AG, Astronomik CLS Clip in filter

spit
311 posts
Joined Sep 2009

Dec 13, 2011 07:39 |  #3

doesnt matter- any quality APO, newt or sct will do matching up to your camera, what matters is the mount and guiding system

cyberon
540 posts
Joined Jan 2010

Dec 13, 2011 08:34 |  #4

I got my Explore Scientific ED80 triplet complete with illuminated finder, diagonal, eyepiece and case for under US$800