Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 10 Feb 2012 (Friday) 16:39
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Confused about RAW

Amanda55
46 posts
Joined Sep 2011

Feb 10, 2012 16:39 |  #1

I just started shooting in RAW and I love the versatility it gives me with post processing as far as exposure and other things go, but I'm still very confused with the whole thing. I tried to read multiple articles on google and I'm still confused. I hope someone here has the patience to explain some things to me.
My files on my card show up as CR2 files. I can open them with cs5 and edit them but then cs5 wants to save it as a different format, XMP. So on my card I now have a CR2 and XMP of with the same image name. I cannot open the XMP when I click on it. Do I even need this XMP file?
Another thing I was wondering about is if it is possible to edit the RAW images without editing the original image so that I can try multiple techniques on the same photos? I would like to try out different styles but as it sits now, if i change an image to B&W its stuck that way because it has edited the original image.
Any better explanation of post processing with RAW images would be greatly appreciated. As you can tell, I'm very confused. Please help! :o

Aspiring photographer
{Canon 60D} 18-55mm 3.5-5.6, 50mm 1.4, 55-250mm 4-5.6

sponsored links
Eddie
xpfloyd lookalike
14,167 posts
Gallery: 656 photos
Best ofs: 7
Joined Feb 2011

Feb 10, 2012 16:43 |  #2