Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 10 Feb 2012 (Friday) 20:36
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5 Shot AEB

 
Simpleboy
Member
197 posts
Joined Aug 2007
     
Feb 10, 2012 20:36 |  #1

Am I the only one who'd think this would come in handy?
I've been travelling a bit recently, and using my 7D with AEB to do some HDR shots, but 3 exposures just isnt enough at times and I dont always have my tripod with me to do more than 3 shots in a burst.
Am I alone in wanting a custom function to give a 5 shot AEB mode to expand options when doing HDRs while travelling light?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Dustin ­ Mustangs
Senior Member
Avatar
310 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: MI
     
Feb 10, 2012 20:49 |  #2

It comes in more than handy if you are serious about hdr. Too bad you have a 7d. One step up or down the canon lineup and Magic Lantern could save your day.


60D | 15-85 3.5-5.6 IS | 70-200 4L | 50 1.8 | 100 2.8 macro | 1.4x II | 580EX | 430EX II


  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gremlin75
Goldmember
Avatar
2,738 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 226
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Detroit, MI
     
Feb 10, 2012 21:39 |  #3

You're not the only one. 5 or ever 7 shot AEB would be great as part of the native firmware. I honesty don't understand why canon has not added it already with the increasing popularity of HDR!!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
svarley
Senior Member
Avatar
592 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Mar 2009
Location: LA, CA
     
Feb 11, 2012 00:16 |  #4

Protecting their model lineup! 1d3 does 7 shot brackets and yes, it's really nice.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gremlin75
Goldmember
Avatar
2,738 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 226
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Detroit, MI
     
Feb 11, 2012 00:29 |  #5

svarley wrote in post #13866564 (external link)
Protecting their model lineup! 1d3 does 7 shot brackets and yes, it's really nice.

Thanks for rubbing it in ;)

But seriously you think they could give the 60D and 7D, or at minimum the 5D's, at least a 5 shot bracketing option....




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Saint728
Goldmember
Avatar
2,892 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Honolulu Hawaii
     
Feb 11, 2012 00:44 |  #6

You could always buy a 1D Mark III for around $1,500.00 and you won't have to worry about it anymore. I mostly use a 5 AEB for my HDR shots not very often do I use the 7 AEB.

Take Care,
Cheers, Patrick


Canon EOS 1Ds Mark III | 17-40mm f/4.0L | 70-200mm f/2.8L USM | 100mm f/2.8L IS Macro | 300mm f/4.0L IS
Click Here To See My Gear
Click here to see my Flickr (external link)
http://www.runryder.co​m/helicopter/gallery/9​019/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rick_reno
Cream of the Crop
44,642 posts
Likes: 134
Joined Dec 2010
     
Feb 11, 2012 01:00 |  #7

Why don't we ask Canon Rumors if it'll be in the 5D3? I'm sure it is, this is something a number of people have asked for, and Canon does one thing right, they always give us what we ask for.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lannes
Goldmember
Avatar
4,370 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
     
Feb 11, 2012 06:08 |  #8

Why don't you just use exposure compensation, take the 3 bracket shots then spin the quick input dial, to dial up and down some exposure compensation and take another 2 -3 brackets etc.

As you adjust the exposure compensation, you'll see the bracket moving in the viewfinder metering scale


1Dx, 1DM4, 5DM2, 7D, EOS-M, 8-15L, 17-40L, 24 TSE II, 24-105L, 50L, 85L II, 100L, 135L, 200L f/2.8, 300L f/4, 70-200L II, 70-300L, 400Lf/5.6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ivann
Member
244 posts
Joined Jul 2011
     
Feb 11, 2012 06:25 |  #9
bannedPermanent ban

9 would be ideal.

Most of Nikons cameras does this trick, not only their "top of the line models".




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
Avatar
12,924 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
     
Feb 11, 2012 06:28 |  #10

I don't ever use the bracketing option I've already got, so no, it would be no use to me.


Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
modchild
Goldmember
Avatar
1,469 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jul 2011
Location: Lincoln, Uk
     
Feb 11, 2012 06:35 |  #11

+1 for the above. I've never even looked at the manual about it at it just doesn't interest me in the slightest.


EOS 5D MkIII, EOS 70D, EOS 650D, EOS M, Canon 24-70 f2.8L MkII, Canon 70-200 f2.8L IS MkII, Canon 100 f2.8L Macro, Canon 17-40 f4L IS, Canon 24-105 f4L IS, Canon 300 f4L IS, Canon 85 f1.8, Canon 50 f1.4, Canon 40 f2.8 STM, Canon 35 f2, Sigma 150-500 OS, Tamron 18-270 PZD, Tamron 28-300 VC, 580EX II Flash, Nissin Di866 MkII Flash, Sigma EM 140 Macro Flash and other bits.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gnirtS
Member
232 posts
Joined Nov 2008
Location: South Wales for now
     
Feb 11, 2012 07:29 |  #12

Its not really important. It takes less than a second to spin a dial 3 clicks to alter exposure by another stop. Just do it manually.


flickr: http://www.flickr.com/​photos/whitcomberd/ (external link)
http://www.hvsac.co.uk (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Unregistered.Coward
Senior Member
Avatar
884 posts
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Looking thru the viewfinder
     
Feb 11, 2012 07:33 |  #13

lannes wrote in post #13867295 (external link)
Why don't you just use exposure compensation, take the 3 bracket shots then spin the quick input dial, to dial up and down some exposure compensation and take another 2 -3 brackets etc.


That's just silly talk, expecting people to do a modicum of work.


....the best camera is the one you have on you at the time.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MCAsan
Goldmember
Avatar
3,871 posts
Likes: 80
Joined Jun 2010
Location: Atlanta
     
Feb 11, 2012 08:12 as a reply to  @ Unregistered.Coward's post |  #14

I always set my 3 or 5 shot sequence manually based on the scene. Indeed it takes only a couple of seconds to spin the wheel in the back and make the shots.

But if you use AEB, change the sequence it shoots. Change it to shoot the most negative exposure first, then the midde exposure, and the highest exposure last. Then when you are looking through your shots in LR (or other PP tool) the steped exposures is a clear indicator that this set of exposures was intended to be used in HDR or maybe in merged layers.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Simpleboy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
197 posts
Joined Aug 2007
     
Feb 11, 2012 11:39 |  #15

I know that I can move the EC dial, however, in the time it takes me to do this i move slightly and that can create a bit of a mess later. A 5 shot AEB would greatly reduce this mess and honestly, its not going to eat into the 1D sales.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7,676 views & 0 likes for this thread
5 Shot AEB
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is ibflyin
884 guests, 237 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.