Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 21 Feb 2012 (Tuesday) 20:01
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

FINALLY! A simple shutter count program for (many) EOS cameras

 
Jared5
Member
Avatar
88 posts
Likes: 16
Joined Aug 2016
Location: Seattle
     
Sep 04, 2016 18:30 |  #781

I used this one a few times (http://astrojargon.net​/EOSInfo.aspx (external link)) but can't seem to get it to work today.


5D Mk4 | 5D Mk3 | 5D Mk2 | 7D Mk2 | 7D | 80D | 50D | 40D |
85mm f/1.8 (x2) | 50mm f/1.4 (x2) | 28mm f/1.8 | 50mm f/2.5 macro |
16-35mm f/2.8L | 24-70mm f/2.8L II (x2) | 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II | 70-200mm f/2.8L IS | ...and more in gear list

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
GreenRiverBoy
Hatchling
5 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Aug 2016
     
Sep 05, 2016 12:22 |  #782

thanks for sharing.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
aezoss
Senior Member
365 posts
Gallery: 58 photos
Likes: 576
Joined Nov 2013
     
Nov 29, 2016 19:45 |  #783

I came across Canon EOS Digital Info* this evening. Works on my Win7 SP1 system. Connected to my 6D (1.1.6 + Magic Lantern) no problem. The shutter count matches the number reported by ML. I assume that to be accurate.

https://sourceforge.ne​t …s/canon-eos-digital-info/ (external link)

I generally trust SourceForge not to distribute malicious applications. As always use at your own risk.

Lee

* Apologies if this is a duplicate post. I quickly scanned the thread and didn't see it mentioned.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
renaissance_myth
Senior Member
Avatar
720 posts
Likes: 758
Joined Nov 2012
Location: Singapore
     
Nov 30, 2016 04:53 |  #784

aezoss wrote in post #18198581 (external link)
I came across Canon EOS Digital Info* this evening. Works on my Win7 SP1 system. Connected to my 6D (1.1.6 + Magic Lantern) no problem. The shutter count matches the number reported by ML. I assume that to be accurate.

https://sourceforge.ne​t …s/canon-eos-digital-info/ (external link)

I generally trust SourceForge not to distribute malicious applications. As always use at your own risk.

Lee

* Apologies if this is a duplicate post. I quickly scanned the thread and didn't see it mentioned.

thumbnail
Hosted photo: posted by aezoss in
./showthread.php?p=181​98581&i=i5101502
forum: Canon EOS Digital Cameras


thanks for the link! great program.


"Dear God, please let me master light"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Inspeqtor
I never knew that!
Avatar
6,487 posts
Gallery: 74 photos
Likes: 1070
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Elkhart, Indiana
Post edited over 1 year ago by Inspeqtor.
     
Nov 30, 2016 07:47 |  #785

aezoss wrote in post #18198581 (external link)
I came across Canon EOS Digital Info* this evening. Works on my Win7 SP1 system. Connected to my 6D (1.1.6 + Magic Lantern) no problem. The shutter count matches the number reported by ML. I assume that to be accurate.

https://sourceforge.ne​t …s/canon-eos-digital-info/ (external link)

I generally trust SourceForge not to distribute malicious applications. As always use at your own risk.

Lee

* Apologies if this is a duplicate post. I quickly scanned the thread and didn't see it mentioned.

thumbnail
Hosted photo: posted by aezoss in
./showthread.php?p=181​98581&i=i5101502
forum: Canon EOS Digital Cameras


I downloaded the program. When I ran the program I then got this: :rolleyes:

I have Windows 10 installed..... Any idea how I can fix this problem?


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Charles
Canon EOS 60D Gripped * Canon EOS XSi * Flickr Account (external link)
Tokina AT-X Pro DX 11-20 f/2.8 * Sigma 17-70 f2.8-4 DC Macro OS * Sigma 150-500 f5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM
Canon 18-55 IS Kit Lens * Canon 70-300 IS USM * Canon 50mm f1.8 * Canon 580EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ramon-uk
Senior Member
613 posts
Gallery: 41 photos
Likes: 149
Joined Mar 2006
     
Nov 30, 2016 10:46 |  #786

Inspeqtor wrote in post #18198986 (external link)
I downloaded the program. When I ran the program I then got this: :rolleyes:

I have Windows 10 installed..... Any idea how I can fix this problem?
thumbnail
Hosted photo: posted by Inspeqtor in
./showthread.php?p=181​98986&i=i198143540
forum: Canon EOS Digital Cameras


That DLL comes in the zip file with the rest of the program, perhaps you should delete the zip file and download it again.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ramon-uk
Senior Member
613 posts
Gallery: 41 photos
Likes: 149
Joined Mar 2006
     
Nov 30, 2016 10:49 |  #787

Canon EOS Digital Info* works perfectly with my 50D but it doesn't recognise my 7D2 even though the documentation says that it should.

Has anyone else got it working with a 7D2 ?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Inspeqtor
I never knew that!
Avatar
6,487 posts
Gallery: 74 photos
Likes: 1070
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Elkhart, Indiana
     
Nov 30, 2016 11:00 |  #788

Ramon-uk wrote in post #18199143 (external link)
Inspeqtor wrote in post #18198986 (external link)
I downloaded the program. When I ran the program I then got this: :rolleyes:

I have Windows 10 installed..... Any idea how I can fix this problem?
thumbnail
Hosted photo: posted by Inspeqtor in
./showthread.php?p=181​98986&i=i198143540
forum: Canon EOS Digital Cameras


That DLL comes in the zip file with the rest of the program, perhaps you should delete the zip file and download it again.

I just deleted the zip file, downloaded the file again.... same result .... sigh ...


Charles
Canon EOS 60D Gripped * Canon EOS XSi * Flickr Account (external link)
Tokina AT-X Pro DX 11-20 f/2.8 * Sigma 17-70 f2.8-4 DC Macro OS * Sigma 150-500 f5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM
Canon 18-55 IS Kit Lens * Canon 70-300 IS USM * Canon 50mm f1.8 * Canon 580EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ramon-uk
Senior Member
613 posts
Gallery: 41 photos
Likes: 149
Joined Mar 2006
     
Nov 30, 2016 11:16 |  #789

Inspeqtor wrote in post #18199150 (external link)
I just deleted the zip file, downloaded the file again.... same result .... sigh ...

I just unzipped the download to another folder then ran the exe file in the new folder, that was with Windows 7.

If that doesn't work for you then it must be an incompatibility with Windows 10.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
A1original
Goldmember
Avatar
1,893 posts
Gallery: 18 photos
Likes: 1754
Joined Jan 2013
Location: Jacksonville,FL USA
     
Nov 30, 2016 11:51 |  #790

Ramon-uk wrote in post #18199144 (external link)
Canon EOS Digital Info* works perfectly with my 50D but it doesn't recognise my 7D2 even though the documentation says that it should.

Has anyone else got it working with a 7D2 ?

Doesn't seem to work with my 7D II either.


Canon 7D/grip,7DII/grip,6D/g​rip,EF 200 f/2.8L USM USM,EF 17-40 f/4L USM IS,EF 24-105 f/4L USM IS,EF 35 f/2 IS USM,EF 50 f/1.8 USM II,EF 50 f/1.8 STM,EF 85 f/1.8 USM,EF135 f/2L USM,EF 70-200 f/2.8L USM,EF 100-400 f/4.5-5.6L IS USM,1.4 II extender. https//www.flickr.com/​photos/iseiler Ira “No one here gets out alive”

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
aezoss
Senior Member
365 posts
Gallery: 58 photos
Likes: 576
Joined Nov 2013
Post edited over 1 year ago by aezoss.
     
Nov 30, 2016 12:16 |  #791

A1original wrote in post #18199202 (external link)
Doesn't seem to work with my 7D II either.

The SF description page indicates there are two versions:

SDK 2.14 (external link) - for camera with digic until 5/5+
SDK 3.4 (external link) - for camera with digic6/6+,however it doesn't support retrieving the shutter actuations

SDK 3.4 supports recently released bodies:
Digic 6 - 7D2, 5DS, 5DSR
Digic 6+ - 1DX2, 5D4

https://en.wikipedia.o​rg/wiki/DIGIC#DIGIC_6 (external link)

I don't have a Win10 system. The program may run in legacy compatibility mode if win10 has such a mode. Try right clicking on the .exe, click Compatibility tab, choose a previous Windows version. I can't test it but it might work.

Lee


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Intheswamp
Goldmember
1,061 posts
Gallery: 33 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 291
Joined Sep 2013
Location: South Alabama
Post edited over 1 year ago by Intheswamp. (2 edits in all)
     
Nov 30, 2016 12:38 |  #792

Interesting and don't know what to think of this...don't know if it was a false alert or what....

I just downloaded the v1.3 / v2.14 file here at work. Download went fine, but not having my cables here I did not unzip the file. I decided to simply email it to the house (small file but slow downloads at home) figuring it'd be waiting on me when I got there this evening.

When I attached and hit send Avast! alerted me to a virus and halted the email. The name that Avast! gave was "Win32:Susp/Attach [Susp]".

I have no idea if this was a false alert or if there is something to it. I killed the file and will wait for somebody smarter than me to say yea or nay on it.

-?
Ed

ETA: Doing a little more research...the "Susp/Attach" simply means a "suspicious attachment" was found. Reading more...

ETA2: Ok, it appears to have been a false alert. I submitted the file to www.virustotal.com (external link) which stated that this file had been analysed a couple of days ago. I went ahead and let them recheck it. It came back that out of 53 virus checkers that only one reported a virus. This virus checker is called "Jiangmin" and apparently is a Chinese virus software that appears not to have a good rep. The rest of the virus scanners (52 of them) reported that the file was OK...this includes AVG, McAfee, Avast, Symantec, etc.,. Sorry for the false alarm!!! :oops:


www.beeweather.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Inspeqtor
I never knew that!
Avatar
6,487 posts
Gallery: 74 photos
Likes: 1070
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Elkhart, Indiana
     
Dec 01, 2016 00:11 |  #793

Ramon-uk wrote in post #18199171 (external link)
Inspeqtor wrote in post #18199150 (external link)
I just deleted the zip file, downloaded the file again.... same result .... sigh ...

I just unzipped the download to another folder then ran the exe file in the new folder, that was with Windows 7.

If that doesn't work for you then it must be an incompatibility with Windows 10.

I downloaded to a new folder..... same problem so I suspect it is not compatible with Win10 - bummer :cry:


Charles
Canon EOS 60D Gripped * Canon EOS XSi * Flickr Account (external link)
Tokina AT-X Pro DX 11-20 f/2.8 * Sigma 17-70 f2.8-4 DC Macro OS * Sigma 150-500 f5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM
Canon 18-55 IS Kit Lens * Canon 70-300 IS USM * Canon 50mm f1.8 * Canon 580EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WaltA
Goldmember
Avatar
3,855 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 108
Joined Feb 2006
Location: White Rock, BC, Canada
     
Dec 01, 2016 09:57 as a reply to  @ Inspeqtor's post |  #794

I have Win 10 and the software works fine. Just downloaded both zip files, copied them into 2 folders and ran the exe as the instructions told me to.

Inspeqtor, did you download the installer or just the zip file with files in it? I just downloaded the files and copied them. Maybe its the installer that doesn't like Win 10. I've written and run many apps that use the SDK. That DLL should be copied into the same folder as the executable.

Now I should say that although the install worked fine under win 10, the app didn't. With both my 5D and my 7D , it said "Connected to 5D/7D" at the bottom of the window. But it brought up a goofy date (Dec 1890 or something) and wouldn't show any other data.

However, since starting to write this post a couple of things have occurred to me.

1 - I could try running the app in one of the "compatibility modes" as mentioned above.
2 - I write apps for Canon cameras using the Canon SDK. I think I have the EDSK DLL (latest version) copied into my /windows/system32 folder and so that one would over-ride anything in the local folder where the app was running. So I need to try running the app on a non-Development Win 10 machine that doesn't have the Canon SDK installed.

I'll try these things later today and post back results.


Walt
400D, 5D, 7D and a bag of stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
scriveyn
Goldmember
Avatar
1,188 posts
Gallery: 404 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 1809
Joined Jun 2011
Location: SW Germany
     
Dec 01, 2016 10:33 |  #795

I installed the latest dpp and the other Canon software with my latest camera. EDSDK.dll is part of that, so you should be able to find it in the installation path once you installed the Canon software.

Hope that helps :rolleyes:


Frank, also known as jazzman
C&C welcome
Image Editing OK (for reposting in the same thread)

I Jazz

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

639,793 views & 14 likes for this thread
FINALLY! A simple shutter count program for (many) EOS cameras
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Mimick
815 guests, 315 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.