Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 21 Feb 2012 (Tuesday) 20:01
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

FINALLY! A simple shutter count program for (many) EOS cameras

 
WaltA
Goldmember
Avatar
3,862 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 110
Joined Feb 2006
Location: White Rock, BC, Canada
     
Dec 01, 2016 11:03 as a reply to  @ post 18200104 |  #796

Well, that interesting. I ran a search for EDSDK.dll and its still running and so far I have different versions in over 15 different folders on this PC. That file is also installed by other Canon Photography software that you install on your PC.

I am updating my earlier post now


Walt
400D, 5D, 7D and a bag of stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
WaltA
Goldmember
Avatar
3,862 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 110
Joined Feb 2006
Location: White Rock, BC, Canada
Post edited over 1 year ago by WaltA.
     
Dec 01, 2016 11:12 |  #797

WaltA wrote in post #18200073 (external link)
I have Win 10 and the software works fine. Just downloaded both zip files, copied them into 2 folders and ran the exe as the instructions told me to.

Inspeqtor, did you download the installer or just the zip file with files in it? I just downloaded the files and copied them. Maybe its the installer that doesn't like Win 10. I've written and run many apps that use the SDK. That DLL should be copied into the same folder as the executable.

Now I should say that although the install worked fine under win 10, the app didn't. With both my 5D and my 7D , it said "Connected to 5D/7D" at the bottom of the window. But it brought up a goofy date (Dec 1890 or something) and wouldn't show any other data.

However, since starting to write this post a couple of things have occurred to me.

1 - I could try running the app in one of the "compatibility modes" as mentioned above.
2 - I write apps for Canon cameras using the Canon SDK. I think I have the EDSK DLL (latest version) copied into my /windows/system32 folder and so that one would over-ride anything in the local folder where the app was running. So I need to try running the app on a non-Development Win 10 machine that doesn't have the Canon SDK installed.

I'll try these things later today and post back results.


OK, tried Number 1 first. Using 2.14 version and setting the app to XP Service Pack 3 compatibility I ran the app and it worked properly on my 7D.
I did the same this with the 3.4 version and it worked for my 7D as well but the Shutter Count said "Not Available"

I tried doing the same with my 5D *both the 2.14 and 3.4 version and neither worked. But then if you look at the models supported in his documentation, 5D is not there - in either version. So, I guess it works as advertised.

As for # 2 above, after reading the SDK documentation it says that the version of EDSDK.DLL that's situated locally (same place as the executable) takes precedence. SO all the other copies of this DLL scatterd all over my PC don't matter.


Walt
400D, 5D, 7D and a bag of stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Inspeqtor
Chet,You are a genius
Avatar
6,934 posts
Gallery: 76 photos
Likes: 1298
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Elkhart, Indiana
     
Dec 01, 2016 11:45 |  #798

WaltA wrote in post #18200073 (external link)
Inspeqtor, did you download the installer or just the zip file with files in it? I just downloaded the files and copied them. Maybe its the installer that doesn't like Win 10. I've written and run many apps that use the SDK. That DLL should be copied into the same folder as the executable.

I downloaded the only thing I saw to download shown here:

How do you download just the files?


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Charles
Canon EOS 60D Gripped * Canon EOS XSi * Flickr Account (external link)
Tokina AT-X Pro DX 11-20 f/2.8 * Sigma 17-70 f2.8-4 DC Macro OS * Sigma 150-500 f5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM
Canon 18-55 IS Kit Lens * Canon 70-300 IS USM * Canon 50mm f1.8 * Canon 580EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WaltA
Goldmember
Avatar
3,862 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 110
Joined Feb 2006
Location: White Rock, BC, Canada
     
Dec 01, 2016 11:54 as a reply to  @ Inspeqtor's post |  #799

Go to this page
https://sourceforge.ne​t …s/canon-eos-digital-info/ (external link)

Scroll down to the bottom where you'll see this



HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


The 2 "Setup.exe" files will install the app
The 2 *.zip will just contain the needed files.

Copy them out to a folder
Set to XP compatibility and run as Admin

Walt
400D, 5D, 7D and a bag of stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Inspeqtor
Chet,You are a genius
Avatar
6,934 posts
Gallery: 76 photos
Likes: 1298
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Elkhart, Indiana
     
Dec 02, 2016 01:51 as a reply to  @ WaltA's post |  #800

Walt,

Thank you... I finally did get it running!

Couple more questions if I may... when I ran the program, it did recognize my 60D. I did not see that the program itself really did 'anything'. What is the purpose of this program?

When I clicked on the '2' "arrows" they both sent me to Canon UK. I am guessing there is no way to change that to Canon USA?

Now that I have closed the program, I cannot find how to again get the program running. What is the name of this program?


Charles
Canon EOS 60D Gripped * Canon EOS XSi * Flickr Account (external link)
Tokina AT-X Pro DX 11-20 f/2.8 * Sigma 17-70 f2.8-4 DC Macro OS * Sigma 150-500 f5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM
Canon 18-55 IS Kit Lens * Canon 70-300 IS USM * Canon 50mm f1.8 * Canon 580EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WaltA
Goldmember
Avatar
3,862 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 110
Joined Feb 2006
Location: White Rock, BC, Canada
Post edited over 1 year ago by WaltA.
     
Dec 02, 2016 10:43 |  #801

Inspeqtor wrote in post #18200813 (external link)
Walt,

Thank you... I finally did get it running!

Couple more questions if I may... when I ran the program, it did recognize my 60D. I did not see that the program itself really did 'anything'. What is the purpose of this program?

When I clicked on the '2' "arrows" they both sent me to Canon UK. I am guessing there is no way to change that to Canon USA?

Now that I have closed the program, I cannot find how to again get the program running. What is the name of this program?


Its called CanonEosDigitalInfo.ex​e
You should go into the folder where you copied those files and create a shortcut that you can put on your desktop.



HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


After you ran the program, did you click on the "Connect" button?


The purpose of the program is to display the information about your camera shown below.
It will display

1 - Everything
2 - Everything except the Shutter Count
3 - Nothing but the date

..... depending on the model of your camera.

Read the documentation (readme.rtf) for a better understanding of this.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Walt
400D, 5D, 7D and a bag of stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Inspeqtor
Chet,You are a genius
Avatar
6,934 posts
Gallery: 76 photos
Likes: 1298
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Elkhart, Indiana
     
Dec 02, 2016 11:50 |  #802

Inspeqtor wrote in post #18200813 (external link)
Walt,

Couple more questions if I may... when I ran the program, it did recognize my 60D. I did not see that the program itself really did 'anything'. What is the purpose of this program?


WaltA wrote in post #18201078 (external link)
Its called CanonEosDigitalInfo.ex​e
You should go into the folder where you copied those files and create a shortcut that you can put on your desktop.


After you ran the program, did you click on the "Connect" button?

Yes

The purpose of the program is to display the information about your camera shown below.
It will display

1 - Everything
2 - Everything except the Shutter Count
3 - Nothing but the date

..... depending on the model of your camera.

Read the documentation (readme.rtf) for a better understanding of this.

thumbnail
Hosted photo: posted by WaltA in
./showthread.php?p=182​01078&i=i16680642
forum: Canon EOS Digital Cameras

I will have to read the the doc file later.....

Thank you again!


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Charles
Canon EOS 60D Gripped * Canon EOS XSi * Flickr Account (external link)
Tokina AT-X Pro DX 11-20 f/2.8 * Sigma 17-70 f2.8-4 DC Macro OS * Sigma 150-500 f5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM
Canon 18-55 IS Kit Lens * Canon 70-300 IS USM * Canon 50mm f1.8 * Canon 580EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
burnet44
Cream of the Crop
7,550 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 2515
Joined Jan 2012
Location: Robinson, Texas
     
Dec 03, 2016 20:54 |  #803

I got camera wont connect


Canon 70D Gripped, Canon 1DII, 7D2 Canon gripped 70-200 2.8 ISM II, Canon 50 1.8, Sigma 17-50 2.8, Canon 400 5.6 on loan, Canon 1.4 TC, Canon 550 EX flash
C and C welcome, Brutality Encouraged, Help Always Welcome Editing OK
www.firstdownphotos.ph​otoreflect.com (external link)
Flicker Page http://www.flickr.com/​photos/72506283@N03/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jamganz
Goldmember
3,247 posts
Gallery: 135 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 1167
Joined Jun 2011
Location: New York
     
Dec 04, 2016 11:27 |  #804

burnet44 wrote in post #18202500 (external link)
I got camera wont connect

make sure wifi is disabled




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BushWacker
Goldmember
Avatar
1,889 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 515
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Lake Tahoe, USA
     
Dec 16, 2016 13:56 |  #805

How do you get the shutter count on a 5DsR?


"When I shoot something I use a Canon!"
-------------- Gear List | flickr (external link) --------------

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ikossan
Hatchling
Avatar
5 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Apr 2016
Post edited over 1 year ago by ikossan.
     
Feb 27, 2017 15:34 |  #806

hi,
i'm the author of this application: canon eos digital info v1.3.
I created this video tutorial to show you how to use it:

https://youtu.be/-GGFdbagn-M (external link)

I released tow subversion, one use the Canon SDK 2.14 is for camera with Digic IV, and 5/5+. like Canon 500d, 1000d, 60d, 7d, 5d mark ii / iii...etc

The second subversion, using SDK 3.5, is for camera with digic6/6+ and newer, however it doesn't support retrieving the shutter actuation. Canon has removed some functions from there recent cameras DSLR like 80D and 5D mark IV. So, the shutter actuation reading is not supported any more due to firmware limitations. In this case, like for the Canon 5D Mark IV for example, you can try to use this subversion using sdk 3.5 instead of sdk 2.14. You can edit and read some info, but you can't read the shutter counts actuation.
If someone want to know the number of actuation on a recent camera, he must send his camera to Canon service center. Only Canon repair center can provide shutter count for these models actually. It’s a shame canon won’t allow its customers an accurate way to read shutter count.
DIGIC II and dual DIGIC III cameras are not supported. also EOS M (mirrorless) models are also not supported.
I'm very pleased that my application is interesting and helpful.
Thanks for you


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BushWacker
Goldmember
Avatar
1,889 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 515
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Lake Tahoe, USA
     
Feb 27, 2017 17:14 |  #807

Will it work on a 5DsR?


"When I shoot something I use a Canon!"
-------------- Gear List | flickr (external link) --------------

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ikossan
Hatchling
Avatar
5 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Apr 2016
     
Feb 27, 2017 18:14 |  #808

BushWacker wrote in post #18287086 (external link)
Will it work on a 5DsR?

yes it should be, but you can not check the number of actuation. It seems that Canon has removed the shutter count functionality from the firmware and from the SDK.
you have to use the subversion with the canon edsdk3.5.
It’s a shame canon won’t allow its customers an accurate way to read shutter count.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BushWacker
Goldmember
Avatar
1,889 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 515
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Lake Tahoe, USA
     
Feb 28, 2017 02:18 |  #809

Thanks for the reply but all I want it for is to read the shutter count. What are they thinking?


"When I shoot something I use a Canon!"
-------------- Gear List | flickr (external link) --------------

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WaltA
Goldmember
Avatar
3,862 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 110
Joined Feb 2006
Location: White Rock, BC, Canada
     
Feb 28, 2017 10:52 |  #810

BushWacker wrote in post #18287454 (external link)
Thanks for the reply but all I want it for is to read the shutter count. What are they thinking?

I've been using the Canon SDK (Software Development Kit) for many years. Here's my theory.

When you could use the SDK to query the shutter count it would be possible to reverse engineer that function call and edit the shutter count. I think they took that function out of the SDK around 3 years ago so that hackers couldn't change the shutter count.

Its still being stored in the camera (obviously) and Canon can tell you what it is - if you ask. I think they've changed the memory location to hide it.

Magic Lantern developers have reverse engineered it - you can get it if you install their software. However I don't the 5DsR on their list of supported cameras.


Walt
400D, 5D, 7D and a bag of stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

667,778 views & 15 likes for this thread
FINALLY! A simple shutter count program for (many) EOS cameras
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Xtonys2018
757 guests, 408 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.