Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon 
Thread started 10 Mar 2012 (Saturday) 02:33
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

S100 users , did you buy an extra battery for s100

 
drigo
Goldmember
1,015 posts
Gallery: 69 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 480
Joined Feb 2009
Location: florida
     
Mar 12, 2012 18:19 |  #16

JustShootin wrote in post #14063805 (external link)
=JustShootin';14063805​]I always buy an extra battery for any camera I own. It just seems like must to me!

i agree! that and a memory card...you can never have enough of both...sucks to have a battery die out while out on a shoot..


7D/10-22/70-200L f/2.8/ 50 f/1.8 / Rokinon 8mm fisheye / 

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 218
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Mar 12, 2012 18:27 |  #17

drigo wrote in post #14074353 (external link)
i agree! that and a memory card...you can never have enough of both...sucks to have a battery die out while out on a shoot..

Truth. Got my wife an SD600 with extra battery and card when she was going to Jordan and Egypt. Of course the spare SD card was too much to carry, so, you guessed it, last full day - at the Pyramids - she filled the 2 GB card in the camera (not helped in the least by accidentally setting it into video mode any number of times) early in the day.

I was lucky - got a demonstrator SD990 and they'd pulled a spare battery for it rather than use the one in the box, so I have 2 batteries for that (and the SX230, which uses the same battery, so actually I could call it 2 spares for the SX230). If I pick up an S100, same battery there too, which is an incentive. I can pass the SX230 on to my wife. Slap a 32 GB SDHC in there and she'll run out of batteries first.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drigo
Goldmember
1,015 posts
Gallery: 69 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 480
Joined Feb 2009
Location: florida
     
Mar 12, 2012 19:42 as a reply to  @ Jon's post |  #18

oh man..that sucks..i was gonna mention..especially when you're shooting at a place where you can't get any spares...
i learned first hand with the S100 when i got it 2 weeks ago that the battery doesn't last long...it died on me after just a few shots and a couple of short videos when i went out to test it...i also read that most people are averaging around 200 shots on a full battery? either way..i now have 3 batteries :)


7D/10-22/70-200L f/2.8/ 50 f/1.8 / Rokinon 8mm fisheye / 

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tgara
Goldmember
Avatar
2,336 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Connecticut, USA
     
Mar 12, 2012 21:54 |  #19

7up wrote in post #14060681 (external link)
Don't forget video will kill the battery .

So will the GPS, especially in logger mode. Found this out the hard way on the wife's 230SX with GPS. Had to recharge the battery every night without fail if she planned to use it the next day.


EOS 5D Mark III
EOS Rebel SL1
Full Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LowriderS10
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,170 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Mar 2008
Location: South Korea / Canada
     
Mar 12, 2012 22:36 |  #20

Yup...five! :D


-=Prints For Sale at PIXELS=- (external link)
-=Facebook=- (external link)
-=Flickr=- (external link)

-=Gear=-

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EowynCarter
Member
33 posts
Joined Feb 2012
     
Mar 13, 2012 03:11 as a reply to  @ post 14067107 |  #21

Yes, got one extra battery in case i want to use the GPS or do video for a while.

Though I should be OK in my "normal" use.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Keyan
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,319 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 77
Joined Mar 2011
     
Mar 13, 2012 10:24 |  #22

I always have an extra. Oddly the one from a camera that I have that is 5 years old is exactly the same model, I didn't use that camera much and the battery pack still holds a decent charge! I only use that one around the house though I wouldn't trust it for vacation type use.


Cameras: 7D2, S100
Lenses: 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM, 18-135 STM, 24-70 f/4L IS USM, 50 f/1.4 USM,70-300L IS USM
Other Stuff: 430 EX II, Luma Labs Loop 3, CamRanger

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
iazybandit
Goldmember
2,090 posts
Likes: 50
Joined Apr 2011
Location: New York
     
Mar 13, 2012 10:31 |  #23

I bought a spare battery and luckily I did. With my old Canon SD1000, I didn't need to buy a spare battery but the S100 goes through it.

I just posted my review too - http://www.1kindphotog​raphy.com …lingtek-powwer-nb-5l.html (external link)


Canon :: 5D Mark IV | EOS M5
Glass/Gear :: Canon 24-70L II | Canon 50mm f/1.8 STM | EF-M 22mm | EF-M 11-22
FULL GEAR LIST | FEEDBACK
FS: Think Tank Urban Approach 5 and 10 | Varavon Monopod and Camtrol Prime Stabilizer

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
7up
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
204 posts
Joined Jul 2005
     
Mar 15, 2012 10:04 |  #24

Can I stop Gps in canon s100 ?


canon 40D / sx200 /canon 28-135 is / canon 55-250 / canon 50 1.8 / sigma 105 / sigma 70-300/iphone4 /ipad2
---------------
Buying a camera doesn't make you a Photographer. It makes you a camera owner...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 218
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Mar 15, 2012 10:37 |  #25

Yes, go to the Camera Settings menu and open the GPS Settings sub-menu.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Sirrith
Cream of the Crop
10,545 posts
Gallery: 50 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 33
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Hong Kong
     
Mar 18, 2012 16:42 |  #26

LincsRP wrote in post #14062959 (external link)
Talking of such; what's the little bit of rubbery stuff in the battery door for? It doesn't slide but does pop open and reveals the battery below. Are Canon expecting us to work this thing so damn hard the battery needs a blow hole? !!

:lol:

This is actually for powering the camera via an AC adapter. You have a "fake" battery that goes into the battery slot like a normal battery, then you open up the hole in the battery door and plug a pin into the bottom of the "fake" battery which provides power to the camera from the AC adapter.


-Tom
Flickr (external link)
F-Stop Guru review | RRS BH-40 review

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LincsRP
Senior Member
427 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 40
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Lincolnshire,UK
     
Mar 20, 2012 07:29 |  #27

Sirrith wrote in post #14108553 (external link)
This is actually for powering the camera via an AC adapter. You have a "fake" battery that goes into the battery slot like a normal battery, then you open up the hole in the battery door and plug a pin into the bottom of the "fake" battery which provides power to the camera from the AC adapter.

Ah! Thanks for that. I didn't know. Not got one with any other of my G12/G9. Never had an S-series Canon before as all my Canon kit are the 1-series door stops ...


Steve
www.lincsracephotos.co​.uk (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Sirrith
Cream of the Crop
10,545 posts
Gallery: 50 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 33
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Hong Kong
     
Mar 22, 2012 17:01 |  #28

LincsRP wrote in post #14118380 (external link)
Ah! Thanks for that. I didn't know. Not got one with any other of my G12/G9. Never had an S-series Canon before as all my Canon kit are the 1-series door stops ...

I only found out about it when I was looking for a way to continuously power my s95 from the car cigarette lighter :)


-Tom
Flickr (external link)
F-Stop Guru review | RRS BH-40 review

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Heath
Goldmember
Avatar
2,332 posts
Joined Sep 2009
Location: NYC, NY
     
Apr 07, 2012 21:47 |  #29

I only have one battery for the S100.

I have 6 for my T1i and 4 for my 7D. I really only need them when on vacation.


Heath
"Some photographers push the envelope. Some sit behind a keyboard and criticize their accomplishments." (seen in the comments of a photo article)
Blog (external link)-Twitter (external link)-Zenfolio (external link)-500px (external link)-Pinterest (external link)-Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cebuRyda
Member
Avatar
109 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Northern California
     
Apr 07, 2012 21:58 |  #30

My first purchase after the S100, haven't used it yet. :confused:

7up wrote in post #14060681 (external link)
Canon s100 takes around 200 shots
So canon s100 users did anyone of you buy an extra battery for s100
Or you think one battery is ok for you
Don't forget video will kill the battery .


5DMKIII Gripped, 7D Gripped, 50D Gripped, Canon 50 1.4, 35 2.0, 85 1.8, 70-200L 2.8IS, 17-40L, 28-135, 100-300, 580EX, 580EXII & S100
Gallery (external link), My Blog (external link) and Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7,384 views & 0 likes for this thread
S100 users , did you buy an extra battery for s100
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is tjarkom
832 guests, 312 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.