Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 13 Mar 2012 (Tuesday) 21:45
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Adapting an old version of PS

 
peterbj7
Goldmember
3,123 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2007
Location: A Caribbean island in Belize and occasionally UK
     
Mar 13, 2012 21:45 |  #1

I need to use my copy of PS9 (from CS2). How can I set it up to read RAW files from my 5DC and my 7D? I know there's a way but I can't remember or find how to do it.


5D & 7D (both gripped), 24-105L, 100-400L, 15-85, 50 f1.8, Tamron 28-75, Sigma 12-24, G10, EX-Z55 & U/W housing, A1+10 lenses, tripods, lighting gear, etc. etc.
"I prefer radio to television. The pictures are better"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Bob_A
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,534 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Likes: 109
Joined Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
     
Mar 13, 2012 21:49 |  #2

You can't for your 7D. The latest version of ACR that works with CS2 doesn't support Raw files from the 7D (ACR 3.7 does support the 5D though). However you can download the free DNG converter and convert your CR2 files to DNG (Adobe's Raw format).

Your can also use the Canon Software for your Raw conversion and just use CS2 to edit.


Page 6 of the following readme for ACR 3.7 shows you which cameras are supported: http://www.adobe.com …camera_raw_3_7_​readme.pdf (external link)


ACR 5.6 that requires CS4 is the first version of Adobe Camera Raw that supported the 7D.


Bob
SmugMug (external link) | My Gear Ratings | My POTN Gallery

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
peterbj7
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
3,123 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2007
Location: A Caribbean island in Belize and occasionally UK
     
Mar 13, 2012 21:57 |  #3

Thanks. I had PS12 (CS5) but the hard disk on that machine has just died. Do you know when CS6 is due out?


5D & 7D (both gripped), 24-105L, 100-400L, 15-85, 50 f1.8, Tamron 28-75, Sigma 12-24, G10, EX-Z55 & U/W housing, A1+10 lenses, tripods, lighting gear, etc. etc.
"I prefer radio to television. The pictures are better"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
51,010 posts
Likes: 372
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Mar 13, 2012 22:01 |  #4

If you have a license for CS5 just download the installation from Adobe.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 560
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Mar 13, 2012 22:17 |  #5

CS6 should be out "soon" but I haven't heard any release date.

In the meantime, I'd dig up the serial# for your CS5 installation. Did you have a "legitamite" copy? Did you install from a disk or from online? Either way, if your copy was legit then you should be able to get the serial number. If you registered with Adobe you should also be able to de-activate your old installation if you contact the Adobe Chat/Support.

But, as was said, you can use the free DNG converter to make your 7D Raw files work with CS2.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
Avatar
12,924 posts
Likes: 15
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
     
Mar 14, 2012 08:46 |  #6

I simply use DPP first, then "EXPORT TO PHOTOSHOP" to get my RAW files into PS7.


Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

872 views & 0 likes for this thread
Adapting an old version of PS
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Phual13
781 guests, 161 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.