Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 18 Mar 2012 (Sunday) 20:35
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

What should be my next lens?

AvailableLight
Goldmember
1,208 posts
Joined Mar 2012

Mar 18, 2012 20:35 |  #1

Hello,

I'm a newb. Got into photography a couple of months ago. My gear is Canon Rebel T3i w/18-55 kit lens, 55-250mm, and the 50mm 1.8. "Understanding Exposure" by Bryan Peterson was amazing and I can now take better pictures not only with the Rebel but with my P&S and even my cell phone. I'm taking an evening photography class but honestly so far I've learned more from Bryan's book than from the class.

I'm traveling to Florida in a few weeks and have the "itch" to get a new lens. I plan to take as many types of pictures as possible when I go down there (landscape, portrait, evening, indoor, beach :shock:, etc). I understand my consumer-level lenses take good shots (the 50mm takes excellent shots as we all know), but part of me wants to step things up a bit, if you can relate.

I've been scouring reviews, blogs, etc for weeks, trying to make up my mind. Deep inside I know I want to eventually get 24-105 f/4L, but I'm also very interested in the Tamron 17-50 2.8 (non-VC) which I hear it's great. Another part of me is considering a wider prime lens because I really enjoy taking pictures with my 50mm prime.

What would you guys do if you were me?

a) Get the 24-105
b) Get the 17-50 Tamron and box up the 18-55 kit lens
c) Get a wider prime (30mm or wider)
d) Stick to what I have for now