Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Wildlife 
Thread started 21 Mar 2012 (Wednesday) 06:11
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Big Blackbear

Shot4u2
988 posts
Gallery: 141 photos
Joined Feb 2012

Mar 21, 2012 06:11 |  #1

My first bear with a 7D, 300mm F/4L + 1.4TC. Handheld and set on spot metering so as to not underexpose Bear. I'm an amateur, especially with the 7D, and would like it if someone could tell me whether or not center weighted metering would have made the rest of the pic not so overexposed without losing contrast in the bear. Cropped off about 50%.
Thanks for looking. Advice more than welcomed.

PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i1087.photobuck​et.com …shot4u2/IMG_149​7acopy.jpg (external link)

PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i1087.photobuck​et.com …shot4u2/IMG_154​2acopy.jpg (external link)

sponsored links
pbelarge
Goldmember
2,835 posts
Joined Jun 2010

Mar 21, 2012 06:21 |  #2

Black and lighter colors will do this, your camera is not designed to overcome the issue.

These are very good images considering it looks like you shot them when the sun is higher in the sky.