Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 21 Mar 2012 (Wednesday) 13:18
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon 5D Mark III In Camera HDR and High ISO Test Images

 
Akrobatiks
Senior Member
Avatar
270 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Oct 2011
     
Mar 21, 2012 13:18 |  #1

In Camera HDR test shots from the Canon 5D Mark III....

I just got to shoot with the 5D Mark III last night and I have to say that it is pretty sick!! I could have used another couple of hours more to get more familiar with it but I have to say that I am really impressed with the little time I had!! The 61 point AF system is crazy and I didnt even really tap into its ability at all. The in camera HDR feature is really cool and I am happy with the results. Here is one of the test shots with the In camera HDR function. 3 images @ -2, 0, +2 and composed in camera. I did my usual levels and curve adjustments in photoshop....

In Camera HDR
100 ISO
f11

IMAGE: http://www.jamielinkphotography.com/Other/Fastline/i-V9wJfc9/0/L/Canon5DMarkIIICameraHDRTest-L.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://www.jamielinkph​otography.com …555116&k=V9wJfc​9&lb=1&s=A  (external link)

5D MARK III

Thanks to my buddy J for letting me help him break in his brand new 5D Mark III a week before everyone else!!! Here it is seen with my Canon 14mm 2.8L attached....

IMAGE: http://www.jamielinkphotography.com/photos/i-XrNdQ2k/0/L/i-XrNdQ2k-L.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://www.jamielinkph​otography.com …542899&k=XrNdQ2​k&lb=1&s=A  (external link)

More Canon 5D Mark III Test Shots

10,000 ISO in camera +/- 2 EV handheld HDR shot with the 5DMarkIII.... As you can see, even at such a high ISO, there is very little noise! Im definitely Impressed!! Especially with the fact that it is possible to achieve this kind of result without a tripod at night... Thats insane!!

IMAGE: http://www.jamielinkphotography.com/photos/i-QGWGggb/0/L/i-QGWGggb-L.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://www.jamielinkph​otography.com …153804&k=QGWGgg​b&lb=1&s=A  (external link)

More test shots:

800 ISO
3.2 Sec
f11
InCameraHDR +/- 2 EV
On a Tri-pod

IMAGE: http://www.jamielinkphotography.com/photos/i-GWhVbsF/0/L/i-GWhVbsF-L.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://www.jamielinkph​otography.com …190963&k=GWhVbs​F&lb=1&s=A  (external link)

JamieLinkPhotography.c​om (external link)
Body: EOS 5D Mark II - Battery Grip BG-E6
Glass: EF 14mm f/2.8L II USM - EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM - EF 50mm f / 1.2L USM - EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM - Extender EF 2x II - Extender 1.4x III

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Maverique
Senior Member
Avatar
880 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Portugal
     
Mar 21, 2012 13:20 |  #2

Are you doing these with RAW files or jpegs?


My website (external link) | My facebook (external link) | My flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Akrobatiks
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
270 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Oct 2011
     
Mar 21, 2012 13:23 |  #3

Maverique wrote in post #14126678 (external link)
Are you doing these with RAW files or jpegs?

Raw files... In camera HDR converts 3 Raw files into 1 jpg. I have a ton of raw images I am trying to look at, but adobe needs to release the update so lightroom can read them. Currently LR4 does not recognize the 5DIII raw format...


JamieLinkPhotography.c​om (external link)
Body: EOS 5D Mark II - Battery Grip BG-E6
Glass: EF 14mm f/2.8L II USM - EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM - EF 50mm f / 1.2L USM - EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM - Extender EF 2x II - Extender 1.4x III

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Cody21
Senior Member
Avatar
592 posts
Joined Apr 2006
Location: El Cerrito, Ca.
     
Mar 21, 2012 13:24 |  #4

I was going to ask if you used a Tripod for those .. you said you did NOT ... LOVE IT !!! Can't wait. I hope I get mine before I leave for Italy on April 29th !!!!!!!! Must do HDR for the Roman Coliseum (without tripod - Italy doesn't allow Tripods without extortion for a "PERMIT" !! ) !!


---------------

5DM3 | 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM | 70-200mm IS f/4L | 24-105 f/4L | Sigma 18-50mm f2.8 | Speedlite 430EX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tony ­ Parenti
Senior Member
317 posts
Joined Oct 2010
     
Mar 21, 2012 13:29 |  #5

Curious as to what HDR picture style mode you used internal to the camera


Canon 5d Mk II & III | Canon 35mm 1.4L| Sigma 35mm 1.5 | Canon 50mm 1.2L | Canon 135mm 2L | Alien Bees B800 Strobe & Giant Soft Box | Canon 580EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Maverique
Senior Member
Avatar
880 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Portugal
     
Mar 21, 2012 13:30 |  #6

How many shots can you take with the RAW HDR mode, by the way?


My website (external link) | My facebook (external link) | My flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Akrobatiks
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
270 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Oct 2011
     
Mar 21, 2012 13:35 |  #7

Cody21 wrote in post #14126697 (external link)
I was going to ask if you used a Tripod for those .. you said you did NOT ... LOVE IT !!! Can't wait. I hope I get mine before I leave for Italy on April 29th !!!!!!!! Must do HDR for the Roman Coliseum (without tripod - Italy doesn't allow Tripods without extortion for a "PERMIT" !! ) !!

The only one taken without a tripod was the 3 shot HDR at 10k ISO... all the others were taken with a tripod.

Tony Parenti wrote in post #14126720 (external link)
Curious as to what HDR picture style mode you used internal to the camera

I used the "Natural" Setting

Maverique wrote in post #14126726 (external link)
How many shots can you take with the RAW HDR mode, by the way?

from the short time I had with it I could only figure out how to do a 3 shot HDR in camera. There was a menu function that allowed you to turn on bracketing up to 7 stops, but it only allowed 3 in the "HDR mode" even after I changed the setting. I need more time with the camera to figure out exactly how to work it. The menu's are elaborate!!!


I still have yet to figure out a way to open the camera raw files. LR4 does not support the RAW codec for the 5D III yet so if anyone finds a way please let me know!! I would really like to see some raw files out of this baby!!


JamieLinkPhotography.c​om (external link)
Body: EOS 5D Mark II - Battery Grip BG-E6
Glass: EF 14mm f/2.8L II USM - EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM - EF 50mm f / 1.2L USM - EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM - Extender EF 2x II - Extender 1.4x III

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Maverique
Senior Member
Avatar
880 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Portugal
     
Mar 21, 2012 13:36 |  #8

Alright ;) I had the impression you could do up to 9 but wasn't sure if that was in jpeg only or if you could do it with RAWs so it's less of a PITA.


My website (external link) | My facebook (external link) | My flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
S.n.a.f.u.
Goldmember
Avatar
2,769 posts
Joined Jul 2009
Location: by a river in southern colorado
     
Mar 21, 2012 13:38 |  #9

wow... thats slick


I'm Russ. Gear List
Life is too short to drink bad wine
-ching chai
Time is a great teacher. Unfortunately it kills all pupils
-Louis Hector Berlioz

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tony ­ Parenti
Senior Member
317 posts
Joined Oct 2010
     
Mar 21, 2012 13:43 |  #10

Also what did you use for the NR settings when it outputs to JPEG via the RAW files? Does it give you an option for that? Sorry for all the questions :)


Canon 5d Mk II & III | Canon 35mm 1.4L| Sigma 35mm 1.5 | Canon 50mm 1.2L | Canon 135mm 2L | Alien Bees B800 Strobe & Giant Soft Box | Canon 580EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Akrobatiks
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
270 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Oct 2011
     
Mar 21, 2012 13:47 |  #11

Tony Parenti wrote in post #14126799 (external link)
Also what did you use for the NR settings when it outputs to JPEG via the RAW files? Does it give you an option for that? Sorry for all the questions :)

I didnt see that function so if there is one it was set to the factory default for these images. There is an Auto Align feature that helps correct for shifts when handholding HDR... I had that set to auto...


JamieLinkPhotography.c​om (external link)
Body: EOS 5D Mark II - Battery Grip BG-E6
Glass: EF 14mm f/2.8L II USM - EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM - EF 50mm f / 1.2L USM - EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM - Extender EF 2x II - Extender 1.4x III

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jacobsen1
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,629 posts
Likes: 20
Joined Jan 2006
Location: Mt View, RI
     
Mar 21, 2012 13:52 |  #12

NR should be at whatever you've set it for for normal JPEGs. Same for vignetting and HTP and all the other gadgets. From what I've read the HDR option is only 3 shots, bracketing does go higher but that's more for you to do your own later... These look MUCH better than the HDRs out of my NEX. I also love the fact that you get the HDR done in camera but you keep the RAWs on the card as well. As a landscaper these is a great option to merge the files in camera basically, so I can see what the 3 raws will look like once I process them myself later.


My Gear List

my sites:
benjacobsenphoto.com (external link) | newschoolofphotography​.com (external link)
GND buyers FAQ

FOR SALE: 5Dii RRS L-bracket, 430II, 12mm macro tube PM ME!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shadowman
Senior Member
Avatar
336 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Massachusetts
     
Mar 21, 2012 13:53 |  #13

Most excellent. Thank you for sharing.


Canon 5D M II / 24-70 F2.8L / 70-200 2.8L / 85mm 1.2L / 16-35mm 2.8L / 1.4X II / 580 EX II / Alien Bees w/everything

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Scatterbrained
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,416 posts
Gallery: 211 photos
Best ofs: 11
Likes: 4015
Joined Jan 2010
Location: Chula Vista, CA
     
Mar 21, 2012 13:54 |  #14

That looks great, much better than the in camera HDR sample images Canon posted.


VanillaImaging.com (external link)"Vacuous images for the Vapid consumer"
500px (external link)
flickr (external link)
1x (external link)
instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Akrobatiks
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
270 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Oct 2011
     
Mar 21, 2012 13:54 |  #15

jacobsen1 wrote in post #14126844 (external link)
NR should be at whatever you've set it for for normal JPEGs. Same for vignetting and HTP and all the other gadgets. From what I've read the HDR option is only 3 shots, bracketing does go higher but that's more for you to do your own later... These look MUCH better than the HDRs out of my NEX. I also love the fact that you get the HDR done in camera but you keep the RAWs on the card as well. As a landscaper these is a great option to merge the files in camera basically, so I can see what the 3 raws will look like once I process them myself later.

I totally agree!!! If I can figure out how to open these raw files, Il process the same images manually and see what kind of result I can get...

shadowman wrote in post #14126851 (external link)
Most excellent. Thank you for sharing.

No Problem!!


JamieLinkPhotography.c​om (external link)
Body: EOS 5D Mark II - Battery Grip BG-E6
Glass: EF 14mm f/2.8L II USM - EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM - EF 50mm f / 1.2L USM - EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM - Extender EF 2x II - Extender 1.4x III

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

28,674 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon 5D Mark III In Camera HDR and High ISO Test Images
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is julianribinik
820 guests, 290 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.