Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 26 Mar 2012 (Monday) 03:59
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Help with party shooting !!

simpy
233 posts
Joined Mar 2012

Mar 26, 2012 03:59 |  #1

:)

Hey everyone, I have a few parties to shoot in the next month or so, and Im just wondering whats the best way/settings to shoot. Its my first time so hopefully no one flames at me :oops:

I know its better if I go there and try, but some info before wouldnt be so bad :)

I have a 500d, 18-55mm, 50mm f/1.8 and my 75-300 would be of no use. 530exII flash

I am also thinking of borrowing a 17-40 L lens off my friend, would it make any difference?

Thanks everyone.

Canon 5dm2

sponsored links
celowbe
838 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Sep 2010

Mar 26, 2012 04:20 |  #2

L lens would make a difference but with your camera body it wont be wide enough from experience. The 18-55 will do you good with your flash depending on indoor or outdoor. is it inside or outdoor?

Gear list

simpy
THREAD ­ STARTER
233 posts
Joined Mar 2012

Mar 26, 2012 04:26 |  #3

oh, i forgot to add. the parties will be indoor in an enclosed environment, would most likely have some lights and party lights.

im after a shot that will light up the people and the background will be dimmer. without lighting up the whole photo .

say for example like this photo (clubbing)

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: 400 | MIME changed to 'text/html'

Canon 5dm2

kethnguy
196 posts
Joined Oct 2011

Mar 26, 2012 04:28 |  #4