Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon G-series Digital Cameras 
Thread started 05 Apr 2012 (Thursday) 00:32
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

G1X Filters and Adapter

 
WA ­ Tiger
Senior Member
Avatar
682 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 27
Joined Mar 2010
     
Apr 05, 2012 00:32 |  #1

I am looking at getting the G1X (my bloody daughter wants my G12..:D) and also purchasing the filter adaptor and a CPL, protector filter and a Hoya ND8 filter, all PRO D1's.

Has anyone been using filters and how are they finding them on this camera?

Please post photos if you can...before and after.

Cheers




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
GordonSBuck
Senior Member
914 posts
Joined Jan 2003
Location: Louisiana
     
Apr 05, 2012 06:33 |  #2

I haven't used any filters yet but here's the filter adptor and lens hood on my G1X: http://lightdescriptio​n.blogspot.com …dapter-and-lens-hood.html (external link)


Gordon
http://lightdescriptio​n.blogspot.com (external link)
My 10 Best Photos: http://hornerbuck.smug​mug.com …187_MdCXA#56343​6691_UdXpt (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
strictfunctor
Mostly Lurking
10 posts
Joined Jul 2008
     
Apr 05, 2012 07:00 as a reply to  @ GordonSBuck's post |  #3

Since getting the filter adapter, I've been playing with a 500D close-up lens to see what it can do to overcome the macro deficiency of this camera. It doesn't make a big difference when zoomed out, but does when zoomed in. Usable for flowers, but never ever going to do insects.

http://www.flickr.com …6874499570/in/p​hotostream (external link)

The only Canon accessory that justifies the removable ring around the lens is the macrolite adapter, but it doesn't do macro, so that's a bit of a waste. That ring rattles. I put some removable tape on the inside and made it stop that, improving the feel of the camera a lot.

The hood is good. It is small and unimposing, and you can leave it on to protect the front element (more than anything), and not have to bother with the lens cap so much.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WA ­ Tiger
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
682 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 27
Joined Mar 2010
     
Apr 05, 2012 07:18 |  #4

GordonSBuck wrote in post #14213363 (external link)
I haven't used any filters yet but here's the filter adptor and lens hood on my G1X: http://lightdescriptio​n.blogspot.com …dapter-and-lens-hood.html (external link)

Cheers, shame the lens hood doesnt fit with a filter on.....




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WA ­ Tiger
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
682 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 27
Joined Mar 2010
     
Apr 05, 2012 12:50 as a reply to  @ WA Tiger's post |  #5

Being that the camera actually has a built in ND to 3 stop, is there much point buying a 0.9 ND screw on filter, or will they work the same as they are both 3 stop?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
foster2380
Member
228 posts
Joined Dec 2011
     
Apr 05, 2012 20:34 |  #6

The other question is where are you finding the adapter? Everyplace I usually buy from has no stock.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WA ­ Tiger
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
682 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 27
Joined Mar 2010
     
Apr 05, 2012 22:45 |  #7

foster2380 wrote in post #14217273 (external link)
The other question is where are you finding the adapter? Everyplace I usually buy from has no stock.

Try Digirev (link below) they also have the hood etc..., you can change the currency when you add it to the cart. If I find anotyher place I will let you know.

http://www.digitalrev.​com …r-fa-dc58c/MTAwMDM0NQ_A_A (external link)

Now.....

Being that the camera actually has a built in ND to 3 stop, is there much point buying a 0.9 ND screw on filter, or will they work the same as they are both 3 stop?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
chrislofotos
Mostly Lurking
13 posts
Joined Mar 2012
Location: Southern England
     
Apr 06, 2012 07:23 as a reply to  @ WA Tiger's post |  #8

For information I've just ordered a non Canon one from Ebay for around £8.00 including postage and it's aluminium.
For that sort of price I'm willing to take a chance!


Chrislofotos
Canon 50D, efs17-55, efs10-22, 70-200 f4L is, 430EX Speedlite, Canon SL1, 18-55 STM is
www.chrislofotos.org (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WA ­ Tiger
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
682 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 27
Joined Mar 2010
     
Apr 06, 2012 07:30 |  #9

chrislofotos wrote in post #14219341 (external link)
For information I've just ordered a non Canon one from Ebay for around £8.00 including postage and it's aluminium.
For that sort of price I'm willing to take a chance!

Let me know how you go please, what filters will you be getting?

Cheers




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GordonSBuck
Senior Member
914 posts
Joined Jan 2003
Location: Louisiana
     
Apr 06, 2012 08:16 |  #10

WA Tiger wrote in post #14215133 (external link)
Being that the camera actually has a built in ND to 3 stop, is there much point buying a 0.9 ND screw on filter, or will they work the same as they are both 3 stop?

If all you need is 3 stops ND then there's no reason to buy a 0.9 ND screw on filter. Instead, I suggest getting a polarizing filter. The polarizing filter will also have a stop or two of ND effect.


Gordon
http://lightdescriptio​n.blogspot.com (external link)
My 10 Best Photos: http://hornerbuck.smug​mug.com …187_MdCXA#56343​6691_UdXpt (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WA ­ Tiger
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
682 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 27
Joined Mar 2010
     
Apr 06, 2012 11:25 |  #11

GordonSBuck wrote in post #14219554 (external link)
If all you need is 3 stops ND then there's no reason to buy a 0.9 ND screw on filter. Instead, I suggest getting a polarizing filter. The polarizing filter will also have a stop or two of ND effect.

Cool, cheers, I was going to get one of those actually...:cool:




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WA ­ Tiger
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
682 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 27
Joined Mar 2010
     
Apr 06, 2012 12:51 |  #12

strictfunctor wrote in post #14213451 (external link)
Since getting the filter adapter, I've been playing with a 500D close-up lens to see what it can do to overcome the macro deficiency of this camera. It doesn't make a big difference when zoomed out, but does when zoomed in. Usable for flowers, but never ever going to do insects.

http://www.flickr.com …6874499570/in/p​hotostream (external link)

The only Canon accessory that justifies the removable ring around the lens is the macrolite adapter, but it doesn't do macro, so that's a bit of a waste. That ring rattles. I put some removable tape on the inside and made it stop that, improving the feel of the camera a lot.

The hood is good. It is small and unimposing, and you can leave it on to protect the front element (more than anything), and not have to bother with the lens cap so much.

Does the lens cap come with the camera and will it fit with the filter adapter and a filter on?

Cheers




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
C4SMT
Member
39 posts
Joined Mar 2012
Location: Pembrokeshire & Languedoc
     
Apr 06, 2012 14:20 as a reply to  @ WA Tiger's post |  #13

No you will need a 58mm lens cap.


www.simonmturner.com (external link)
My Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WA ­ Tiger
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
682 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 27
Joined Mar 2010
     
Apr 07, 2012 02:14 |  #14

C4SMT wrote in post #14221253 (external link)
No you will need a 58mm lens cap.

Cheers mate, one on order...:cool:




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Perfect_10
Goldmember
Avatar
1,998 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Aug 2004
Location: An Ex Brit living in Alberta, Canada
     
Apr 17, 2012 22:39 |  #15

chrislofotos wrote in post #14219341 (external link)
For information I've just ordered a non Canon one from Ebay for around £8.00 including postage and it's aluminium.
For that sort of price I'm willing to take a chance!

Which one of these did you get? I was looking at this JJC one (external link) for $15 but they're made of plastic.


My Gear List  :p

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

15,326 views & 0 likes for this thread
G1X Filters and Adapter
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon G-series Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Blagotebi
963 guests, 318 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.