Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 05 Apr 2012 (Thursday) 12:14
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

ISO 50 on 5d Mark iii

 
this thread is locked
N2bnfunn
Senior Member
Avatar
688 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 51
Joined Dec 2010
     
Apr 05, 2012 12:14 |  #1

Why is the 50 iso on the mark iii greyed out no matter which lens I use on it?
I thought that was one of the new features on this camera?


Canon 1DX Canon EOS R EF 70-200 L 2.8 EF 50mm 1.2 L 24-105 4.0 L 24-70 2.8L II Canon Pixma PRO-1 3 Canon 600EX-RT Speedlites

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Virto
Goldmember
Avatar
1,647 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Elgin, IL
     
Apr 05, 2012 12:16 |  #2

Does it require ISO expansion to be turned on? I haven't read a manual for it yet.


Kelly - EOS 5D - EOS 40D - Rebel XS - EOS 10D - EOS 1D - SX230 - AE-1 - OM-1n - Minolta Himatic7 - EOS-1N
ABR800 - Several flashes, remote triggers, stands, too many and yet not enough lenses

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
nate42nd
Senior Member
Avatar
767 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2010
Location: The Wild West
     
Apr 05, 2012 12:16 |  #3

Probably a setting in the menu for ISO expansion. Try that.


7D - - 17-55 F/2.8 - 24-105 F/4L - 100mm F/2.8 - 50mm F/1.8 - S95 / To see all click here
My Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drewjoseph
Senior Member
317 posts
Joined Nov 2009
     
Apr 05, 2012 12:16 |  #4

Custom functions


5D Mark II - 24L - 50L
500px (external link)
(drewjosephgoede@me.co​m)
Blog (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mjmackinnon
Senior Member
808 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
     
Apr 05, 2012 15:30 as a reply to  @ post 14215863 |  #5

To get the ISO 50, you need to go into menu. second tab on the camera section, ISO speed settings. Lets you define the available range. by default its set from 100-25600. select the 100 and then you can take it down to 50. Not obvious on the camera but they seem to have done away with the custom settings where you need to reference the manual to figure out what number sets each option. it's now all via a menu.


My Flickr (external link) - Canon EOS 5Diii | EF 50f/1.4 | EF 24-105 f/4L IS| EF 100-400L IS | EF 70-200f/4L |430 EX II | Elinchrom BX500Ri
Post Production: i7-2600k, Win7, iMac 27 i7 | Adobe Photoshop CS6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wookiee2cu
Senior Member
614 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Seattle, WA.
     
Apr 05, 2012 15:34 |  #6

Also, once you enable it, it will be 'L' for low, not 50.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Hogloff
Cream of the Crop
7,606 posts
Likes: 415
Joined Apr 2003
Location: British Columbia
     
Apr 05, 2012 15:36 |  #7
bannedPermanent ban

mjmackinnon wrote in post #14215909 (external link)
To get the ISO 50, you need to go into menu. second tab on the camera section, ISO speed settings. Lets you define the available range. by default its set from 100-25600. select the 100 and then you can take it down to 50. Not obvious on the camera but they seem to have done away with the custom settings where you need to reference the manual to figure out what number sets each option. it's now all via a menu.

Best answer and actually helps out the OP...not like the majority of idiotic chest thumping answers in the thread. Nice to see people who know the answer actually still want to help rather than just be heard.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mjmackinnon
Senior Member
808 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
     
Apr 05, 2012 15:56 |  #8

I just happen to have the camera right beside me, so I just looked it up. I will admit that I went past it about 3-4 times but I did remember it from last week. I had a 50D before and it was the thing that made the camera so difficult. Setting the custom functions to get it to work. And you had no choice but to carry the manual around with you on a photoshoot as how you'd ever know that C3f6 set to 4 would allow to...


My Flickr (external link) - Canon EOS 5Diii | EF 50f/1.4 | EF 24-105 f/4L IS| EF 100-400L IS | EF 70-200f/4L |430 EX II | Elinchrom BX500Ri
Post Production: i7-2600k, Win7, iMac 27 i7 | Adobe Photoshop CS6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Hogloff
Cream of the Crop
7,606 posts
Likes: 415
Joined Apr 2003
Location: British Columbia
     
Apr 05, 2012 16:26 |  #9
bannedPermanent ban

jwcdds wrote in post #14215997 (external link)
Says the man who didn't offer anything else more than the majority. :lol:

At the very least I acknowledged a proper reponse to the question. Too many people hide behind their monitors and churn out rude answers like RTFM. I wonder if these same brave soles would be that rude in person.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
themadman
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
18,871 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Northern California
     
Apr 05, 2012 17:58 |  #10

I am not going to quote all the inappropriate responses here but "RTFM" is NOT an appropriate response here.

If you don't desire to answer, don't answer.

To quote FORUM RULES Section 4.9

If you know an answer to a question either answer it or say nothing. Giving newbies blunt answers like "search the forum" is not allowed - please use the typing effort to giving the answer instead. Or just give the link to that post you wished the newbie should have searched for. Respect newbies - you were a newbie once.

Also under this post which people are REQUIRED to read before POSTING in these forums (https://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=574001)

Think before you post

Think of POTN as public plaza where everyone can hear what you say and everyone can reply to you. A place where you meet regulars every day and all the strangers know you too even if you don't know all of them yet. Remember:
do not post when you are angry or under the influence (seriously!).
respect members (especially newbies) by giving full answers, "do a search" or "rtfm" is banned here.
personal attacks or harassment are not tolerated at all.
political and religious discussions are not allowed.
you must own copyright to all photos you post, or have permission from the author
image posting rules are important for making POTN more readable to all


Will | WilliamLiuPhotography.​com (external link) | Gear List and Feedback | CPS Member | Have you Pre-Ordered Your 3Dx Yet? | HorusBennu Discussion | In honor of Uncle Steve, thanks for everything! 10-5-2011

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KeithS
Senior Member
266 posts
Gallery: 14 photos
Likes: 108
Joined Jul 2009
Location: Arizona
     
Apr 05, 2012 19:16 |  #11

OP, thanks for asking the question. I did not know that 50 ISO was available. Now I do.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ejenner
Goldmember
Avatar
3,752 posts
Gallery: 73 photos
Likes: 700
Joined Nov 2011
Location: Denver, CO
     
Apr 05, 2012 20:07 as a reply to  @ KeithS's post |  #12

Better if you didn't since it is just ISO100 with some scaling and thus only useful for shooting .jpeg when for some reason you want to darken the mid and dark tones of your ISO100 shot in-camera (ISO50 will clip highlights at the same level as ISO100).


Edward Jenner
5DIV, M6, GX1 II, Sig15mm FE, 16-35 F4,TS-E 17, TS-E 24, M11-22, M18-150 ,24-105, T45 1.8VC, 70-200 f4 IS, 70-200 2.8 vII, Sig 85 1.4, 100L, 135L, 400DOII.
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/48305795@N03/ (external link)
https://www.facebook.c​om/edward.jenner.372/p​hotos (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ohata0
Senior Member
557 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jan 2011
     
Apr 05, 2012 22:38 |  #13

i would suggest to download the manual (pdf) for future reference. I was able to type "iso 50" in the search and came across the section that explains how to enable it (I did have to go to the second "iso 50", but it was just on the next page (and in the same gray info block)).

Most of the time, I'd prefer to use the paper manual, rather than read the pdf on the computer, but pdf searching is helpful if I know what I'm looking for, but don't want to flip through pages like a choose your own adventure book to find it. Sometimes searching through the pdf is just quicker and works pretty well. Other times, it may take longer, but at least it gives you options.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
NASS ­ Photo
Goldmember
Avatar
1,804 posts
Likes: 293
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Westmoreland Co., PA
     
Apr 06, 2012 08:38 |  #14

mjmackinnon wrote in post #14215909 (external link)
To get the ISO 50, you need to go into menu. second tab on the camera section, ISO speed settings. Lets you define the available range. by default its set from 100-25600. select the 100 and then you can take it down to 50. Not obvious on the camera but they seem to have done away with the custom settings where you need to reference the manual to figure out what number sets each option. it's now all via a menu.

Thanks to the OP for asking the question, and thank you for the answer. I have tried a few times to change the ISO, but kept missing it. My Canon is now set to ISO 50.


NickS

Canon 5DMIII; Canon EF35mm, f/1.4L; EF85mm, f/1.8; EF135mm, f/2.0L; EF200mm, f/2.8L.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Pekka
El General Moderator
Avatar
17,752 posts
Gallery: 35 photos
Best ofs: 7
Likes: 1509
Joined Mar 2001
Location: Hellsinki, Finland
     
Apr 06, 2012 08:45 |  #15

Thread closed and cleaned 26 posts of crap. Thank you for those who answered OP's question, and for the rest of you please read themadman's excellent post https://photography-on-the.net …p?p=14216575&po​stcount=10 and learn from it. You can have fun and be funny, at this thread you FAILED.


The Forum Boss, El General Moderator
AMASS 2.1 Changelog (installed here now)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

27,274 views & 0 likes for this thread
ISO 50 on 5d Mark iii
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Ellie.outram2002
1061 guests, 294 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.