Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Forums  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear
Forums  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos The Business of Photography 
Thread started 16 Apr 2012 (Monday) 16:55
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links (only for non-logged)

A cautionary tale about Borrow Lenses.com

this thread is locked
charliecurran
Hatchling
9 posts
Joined Jul 2011

Apr 16, 2012 16:55 |  #1

Hey fellow forum'ers. I'm a long time lurker and i've bought some great equiptment from users on the board but this is my first time posting a thread. I've recently had a truly awful experience doing business with Borrow Lenses.com and I wanted share it with you all to take into consideration when shopping around for lens rentals. So without further ado...there goes.

For the past year I've been working on a documentary project in New York based on the life and work of fashion photographer Davide Sorrenti who passed at the young age of 21 and sent ripples through the world of fashion. Throughout the process, I've been shooting on Canon DSLRs and had been relying on the rental company Borrow Lenses which I had seen positively reviewed online and heavily advertised on photography/film sites that I visited.

At first things were great. I rented a kit for the weekend that included two Zeis Canon mount primes, a data recorder, a wireless lav microphone, a few batteries, and an intervelometer to shoot timelapses. The total for the kit came out to about three hundred dollars with two day shipping and handling. The first rental went without a hitch, and I found the Borrow Lenses team helpful enough.