Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 20 Apr 2012 (Friday) 23:42
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Flashpoint and Cybersync won't trigger

 
Scooter650
Senior Member
Avatar
750 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Mile High City
     
Apr 20, 2012 23:42 |  #1

I am having issues with my Cybersyncs triggering my Flashpoint 320M. When I try to use the 1/8 to 1/4 cable it does not fire. The strobe will still work with the optical slave built in if I use another light to trigger it. The light on the receiver flashes, but it does not trigger. Could it be as simple as needing new batteries, or is there another method to test it?

:oops:


Scott I S2Imagery (external link) I Flickr (external link) I Facebook (external link) I 5DII, Canon 85 f1.8, Canon 50mm f1.4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FlashZebra
This space available
Avatar
4,427 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Northern Kentucky
     
Apr 20, 2012 23:52 |  #2

Two possibilities:

1) Can you manually trip the flash by plugging in only a sync cord (do not plug in the radio receiver) and shorting the contacts on the free end. This should fire the flash and tests the sync cord.

2) Any possibility the flash has reversed sync polarity? The CyberSync will not fire a flash that has reversed sync polarity. If you are electrically inclined the tip on the free end of the cord (as above) should be positive.

Enjoy! Lon


*
http://flashzebra.com/ (external link)
*

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Scooter650
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
750 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Mile High City
     
Apr 21, 2012 00:33 |  #3

1) yes
2) huh? How would that happen?


Scott I S2Imagery (external link) I Flickr (external link) I Facebook (external link) I 5DII, Canon 85 f1.8, Canon 50mm f1.4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Scooter650
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
750 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Mile High City
     
Apr 21, 2012 11:45 |  #4

FlashZebra wrote in post #14301753 (external link)
2) Any possibility the flash has reversed sync polarity? The CyberSync will not fire a flash that has reversed sync polarity. If you are electrically inclined the tip on the free end of the cord (as above) should be positive.

Enjoy! Lon

How can I check the polarity? Everything seems to work with other strobes and flashes, slave triggers it with another flash, test button works, so it must be related to the sync port (1/4" mono) not working...not sure how to correct this.


Scott I S2Imagery (external link) I Flickr (external link) I Facebook (external link) I 5DII, Canon 85 f1.8, Canon 50mm f1.4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FlashZebra
This space available
Avatar
4,427 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Northern Kentucky
     
Apr 21, 2012 20:57 |  #5

Scooter650 wrote in post #14303466 (external link)
How can I check the polarity? Everything seems to work with other strobes and flashes, slave triggers it with another flash, test button works, so it must be related to the sync port (1/4" mono) not working...not sure how to correct this.

Again, if you are electrically adept checking the polarity is easy.

You must have a Voltmeter set to an appropriate DC Voltage range (a 20 Volt range should be about right).

Connect the meter with the positive lead to the tip contact on the free end of the cord coming from the flash.

Connect the negative lead to the sleeve contact on the free end of the cord.

If the Voltage reading you get is positive the polarity is correct. If the Voltage is negative the polarity is reversed.

But, you must be sure you connect positive and negative leads from the meter correctly.

If this explanation does not resonate you must seek help in how to properly use a Voltmeter.

Enjoy! Lon


*
http://flashzebra.com/ (external link)
*

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,413 views & 0 likes for this thread
Flashpoint and Cybersync won't trigger
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Mannyromano123
720 guests, 289 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.