Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
Thread started 23 Apr 2012 (Monday) 09:25
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Oops may have killed my batteries...

 
joeblack2022
Goldmember
3,005 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Sep 2011
Location: The Great White North
     
Apr 23, 2012 09:25 |  #1

I used my Vivitar 285HV on Friday and forgot to switch it off before I packed it away. Took the batteries (4 x AA eneloops) out to charge this morning and... they didn't register on the charger.

I put them on the Sanyo dumb charger for about half an hour to raise the voltage so the smart charger (Ansmann Energy16) could see them, so hopefully all is good.

Has anyone fully discharged their Eneloops before and noticed any issues after? I know NiMH cells are not designed for deep discharge.


Joel

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ben_r_
-POTN's Three legged Support-
Avatar
15,894 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
     
Apr 23, 2012 11:23 |  #2

You should have no issues fully discharging a NiMh battery. If youre smart charger isnt reading them Id suspect the smart charger. Upgrade and pick yourself up a Maha C-9000. I have many times done discharge/recharge cycles with all of my Eneloops in my Maha C-9000 and they all work great!


[Gear List | Flickr (external link) | My Reviews] /|\ Tripod Leg Protection (external link) /|\
GIVE a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. TEACH a man to fish and he'll eat for a lifetime.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
joeblack2022
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
3,005 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Sep 2011
Location: The Great White North
     
Apr 24, 2012 15:48 |  #3

I was following the advice from this blog post and it seems the batteries have taken a full charge. I really should have pulled the voltmeter out to see what the cells were reading in their discharged state.

http://www.horizonbatt​ery.com …ancy-intelligent-charger/ (external link)

I take it from your post that the Maha recognizes completely drained cells too?


Joel

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

830 views & 0 likes for this thread
Oops may have killed my batteries...
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is dm19dm
1682 guests, 283 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.