Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Bird Talk 
Thread started 29 Apr 2012 (Sunday) 13:50
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

What Am I Doing Wrong

jbrackjr
481 posts
Joined Dec 2011

Apr 29, 2012 13:50 |  #1

I am new to DSLRs as of Dec 2011. I have a 60D w/100-400 lens that I primarily handhold (I do have a tripod available). I have been taking pictures of the birds in my backyard but find that the results are not the best. My deck faces south with open grass until it meets the forest at about 75 feet away. Even in full sun, the background of the forest makes it difficult for using smaller apertures to obtain a better depth of field.

I have included a few samples (jpeg straight out of the camera) and would appreciate any feedback on what I am doing wrong and or anyway to improve my results.

I have lightroom 3, but rarely use it. I shoot in both RAW and JPEG as I have plenty of SD cards. Generally, I do not do any touchups to my photos (maybe when I have something worthy of keeping!)

For the moment, I am trying to stop the action and also have the bird remain in focus. Would a flash help? Distance to birdhouse is 60 ft. Focus is set using the AF-ON button on back.
Data:
F5.6
1/2000 sec.
Shutter Priority
400mm
Metering mode: Pattern

PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i230.photobucke​t.com …rackjr/Birds/IM​G_6145.jpg (external link)