Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 13 May 2012 (Sunday) 02:06
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Watching other photographers....

jra
Cream of the Crop
6,565 posts
Joined Oct 2005

May 13, 2012 02:06 |  #1

Does anyone else enjoy watching other photographers? For some reason, I find it extremely interesting to watch how other photographers work. It doesn't matter if it's a hired pro or a complete beginner, I always find it interesting to see how they shoot in particular situations and how they handle the situation in different ways.
As you watch other photographers, do you notice anything that you generally do differently from the majority of people? For me, it's burst mode....I rarely ever, virtually never, use burst mode (and I shoot a lot of youth sports). I prefer to anticipate the peak moment of action and simply grab that single frame....and that works well for me. On the other hand, I've noticed that many others just love to shoot in bursts.....even when it really makes no logical sense (such as a slow/non moving animal at the zoo).
What are your experiences/observatio​ns?

sponsored links
shayneyasinski
657 posts
Joined Dec 2008

May 13, 2012 02:12 |  #2

I look for the shot, take the shot folowed by a burst of 3 to 5 to have eyes to clone if I need them.

my gear Canon 7D, Canon 5DMK2, 70-200 f2.8 IS, 50mm f1.8, canon 430 speedlight, canon 17-55 2.8 IS, canon 100mm macro sigma 10-20, Canon 17-85 , 60 cokin filters , 2x telecoverter.

FlyingPhotog
Cream of the "Prop"
57,560 posts
Joined May 2007