Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 13 May 2012 (Sunday) 13:06
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Using a 4800w/s Fresnel on Location

aroundlsu
Goldmember
1,430 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Joined Mar 2009

May 13, 2012 13:06 |  #1

I have been wishing to add a large fresnel source to my kit for a few years. I use them in movie and video production all the time and find the focused beam to be more versatile and controllable then the parabolic and bare bulb type lights we are used to as photographers. Unfortunately, few options exist. Several places make attachments that you can use to convert a regular studio strobe to a fresnel but they weren't really what I use looking for. First of all, my kit was already limited to just three lights so adding a fresnel attachment wouldn't really add anything except an accessory. Plus my Profoto D1 lights are only 500w/s which may seem like a lot but after you add the fresnel, some gels, maybe a half scrim, then try to flood it on a source 30 meters away, well it's hopeless underpowered.

Then I found this thing:

IMAGE: http://i.imgur.com/B9sjA.jpg