Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 29 May 2012 (Tuesday) 10:16
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Finding a Webhost: Disk Space and Bandwidth Questions

BigBadWolfie
268 posts
Joined Jul 2011

May 29, 2012 10:16 |  #1

Since I want to run a private blog as well as a picture sharing site, I've been looking at finding a web/site host other than SmugMug and Zenfolio. I'm just starting out and I don't foresee my sites to have any sort of heavy traffic anytime soon.

Since I'm completely new to this, I am wondering what disk space/bandwidth requirements I should be looking at. Will 5gb worth of disk space be enough? 10gb? 15gb? The difference between 5gb and 10gb isn't a whole lot. Then again, if disk space and bandwidth will become an issue because of my photo sharing needs then I might just as well choose the cheapest package and go with SmugMug and Zenfolio for my image sharing needs. Any suggestions?

sponsored links
Kronie
Goldmember
2,183 posts
Joined Jun 2008

May 29, 2012 11:09 |  #2

I primarily use go daddy for hosting and domains but there are many others. There economy hosting is maybe $5 a month and will be more then you need. You may want to look into wordpress for a website as its entirely customizable. A little more work than Zenfolio or smugmug but you get the results you want and you don't have to work around their format and look.

BigBadWolfie
THREAD ­ STARTER
268 posts
Joined Jul 2011

May 29, 2012 20:59 as a reply to  @ Kronie's post |  #3