Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 14 Jun 2012 (Thursday) 16:31
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Depth of Field w/ a Macro 100

Stillwater ­ Gold
24 posts
Joined Jun 2012

Jun 14, 2012 16:31 |  #1

I'm a newbie here and I just got some nice new equipment. Now I just need to figure out how to use it? I'm shooting a canon mark iii with a 100mm f/2.8L macro. I'm trying to shoot bugs but I'm finding I can't get the entire bug in focus. How do you go about increasing the depth of field? I've only had this set up 4 days and used to shoot SLR's and as much as i like it I'm almost completely lost on this digital.

Thanks,

Pete

sponsored links
dsit995
527 posts
Joined Mar 2011

Jun 14, 2012 16:34 |  #2

DOF is DOF no matter if it's film or digital.... Try shooting w/ flash at say f11-f16 and that should be a good start and FYI the 100L goes all the way to f42

If u don't have a flash just bump ur iso up some to get a faster shutter speed....
The 100L is a great lens!

Canon 5D MkII | T2i | 35L | 24-105 IS L | 70-200L | 100L | 17-40L | 85 1.8 | 50 1.4 | 430EX II
5∞ (external link) | GEAR & FeedBack | flickr (external link)

DreDaze
happy with myself for not saying anything stupid
18,375 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Joined Mar 2006

Jun 14, 2012 16:39 |  #3

Get a flash- and stop down the lens

Andre or Dre
gear list
Instagram (external link)
flickr (external link)

John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
10,392 posts
Joined May 2003

Jun 14, 2012 19:03 |  #4