Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre People Talk 
Thread started 15 Jun 2012 (Friday) 06:45
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

No camera gave me time to think...

gazmorton2000
416 posts
Joined Apr 2009

Jun 15, 2012 06:45 |  #1

Well, as per the title really. Whilst my camera and lenses are away at Canon, I have thought about the sort of people photography I want to do. Not long ago, I decided I didn't want to go about photographing anything and everything as I had been doing for a few years, but concentrate solely on people. This is a massive area in itself. I shot a couple of models, and whilst the results were good and received positive feedback on here and elsewhere, i still didn't feel satisfied. Then I began to read a book from a fellow who shoots real people. People who have interesting lives and interesting stories, and the way he goes about photographing them is superb. This is what i would like to do. Real people with no more makeup than they would usually wear for everyday life and little prep. Meet with people who have interesting lives and jobs and make their portrait. What I am finding however, is that it seems really difficult to get going and find a willing subject who doesn't think I am some sort of weirdo or nutter wanting to take his picture. Also that people are either too busy or can't be bothered. I'm not sure how much the mentality differs here (UK) to somewhere like the US where I know this site is heavily based (also this books author was US), or maybe it's a barrier I am putting up as I perceive it that way, but it does s