Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 21 Jun 2012 (Thursday) 00:28
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon 60D Users, Unite! (4!)

 
ItsJustEd
Senior Member
Avatar
433 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 20
Joined Jan 2012
Location: St. Petersburg FL
     
Apr 17, 2017 16:32 |  #6976

djr01974 wrote in post #18330331 (external link)
I love my 60D, I still have it and its a workhorse of a body. Mine has over 25k on the shutter. The Wife bought me the 80D for xmas body only and I do have to say the 80D to me is a world of difference. Image quality and I like that you can adjust exposure comp in full Manuel . I've tried it on the 60D and it will not let you do it in full Manuel. My 60D got a lot of great pictures. Just need good glass as everyone states.



No sure I follow - you CANT adjust exposure comp on the 60D in manual mode? Could I get you to give me more details? What specifically are you not able to adjust in full manual mode? Thank you.


I used to think I was indecisive,but now I'm not too sure.
5DMkI 60D Canon 24-105 Canon 17-55mm Tamron 70-300
More of me http://www.flickr.com/​photos/77024467@N03/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
djr01974
Goldmember
1,172 posts
Gallery: 300 photos
Likes: 841
Joined Jun 2014
Location: Yorba Linda
     
Apr 17, 2017 18:26 |  #6977

If your in the (m) mode the 60d will not allow you adjust the EC. You can in av or say TV mode. In manual mode it does it for you. On the 80d you have full control of EC in anymode. At least on my camera bodies




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MakisM1
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,466 posts
Gallery: 16 photos
Likes: 248
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Houston
     
Apr 17, 2017 19:55 |  #6978

@JustEd don't worry about it. We are all subscribed to this thread because we love the little body that can.

I have said many times that the 60D/EF 18-200/Sigma 8-16 combo is my travel (light) kit.

I will take exception to the high(er) ISO capabilities. I don't think twice about shooting up to ISO3200. Yes, there is noise, but it can be treated for a satisfactory result. Yes, the newer sensors can shoot higher ISO that cleans easier. But the question is, can you do it with the 60D satisfactorily. The answer is a resounding yes.

I have posted many times this 100% crop (left is before NR and right is after NR):

PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i37.photobucket​.com …-27103001_zps645c49da.j​pg (external link)


This is ISO12800 people!

The one below is ISO 6400

PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i37.photobucket​.com …creenshot_zps11​d08168.jpg (external link)


And a full picture at ISO6400

PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i37.photobucket​.com …MG_9433DT_zps86​3404c4.jpg (external link)


I don't claim that there is NO NOISE! I consider that the level of noise (and the corresponding amount of detail) are satisfactory.

Consider the noise in this photo:

PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i37.photobucket​.com …MG_9510DT_zpsgf​lfmclv.jpg (external link)


And the amount of detail in a 100% crop (ISO 5000):

PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i37.photobucket​.com …0g100crop_zpsku​qvsmko.jpg (external link)


I can get the same level of detail/noise with my 5DIII with less heroics in PP. But I can't claim better results, until we get to ISO12800 in poor lighting conditions. From there to ISO 25600 the 5DIII is the king in my lot...

Gerry
Canon 5D MkIII/Canon 60D/Canon EF-S 18-200/Canon EF 24-70L USM II/Canon EF 70-200L 2.8 USM II/Canon EF 50 f1.8 II/Σ 8-16/ 430 EXII
OS: Linux Ubuntu/PostProcessing: Darktable/Image Processing: GIMP

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Pagman
I just hold the thing :-)
Avatar
8,045 posts
Gallery: 1562 photos
Likes: 5569
Joined Dec 2011
     
Apr 17, 2017 20:20 |  #6979

MakisM1 wrote in post #18330687 (external link)
@JustEd don't worry about it. We are all subscribed to this thread because we love the little body that can.

I have said many times that the 60D/EF 18-200/Sigma 8-16 combo is my travel (light) kit.

I will take exception to the high(er) ISO capabilities. I don't think twice about shooting up to ISO3200. Yes, there is noise, but it can be treated for a satisfactory result. Yes, the newer sensors can shoot higher ISO that cleans easier. But the question is, can you do it with the 60D satisfactorily. The answer is a resounding yes.

I have posted many times this 100% crop (left is before NR and right is after NR):

QUOTED IMAGE
IMAGE LINK: http://s37.photobucket​.com …3001_zps645c49d​a.jpg.html  (external link)

This is ISO12800 people!

The one below is ISO 6400

QUOTED IMAGE
IMAGE LINK: http://s37.photobucket​.com …shot_zps11d0816​8.jpg.html  (external link)

And a full picture at ISO6400

QUOTED IMAGE
IMAGE LINK: http://s37.photobucket​.com …33DT_zps863404c​4.jpg.html  (external link)

I don't claim that there is NO NOISE! I consider that the level of noise (and the corresponding amount of detail) are satisfactory.

Consider the noise in this photo:

QUOTED IMAGE
IMAGE LINK: http://s37.photobucket​.com …10DT_zpsgflfmcl​v.jpg.html  (external link)

And the amount of detail in a 100% crop (ISO 5000):

http://s37.photobucket​.com …crop_zpskuqvsmk​o.jpg.html (external link)

I can get the same level of detail/noise with my 5DIII with less heroics in PP. But I can't claim better results, until we get to ISO12800 in poor lighting conditions. From there to ISO 25600 the 5DIII is the king in my lot...

Which de noise workflow did you use for the above?


P.


Some stuff.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MakisM1
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,466 posts
Gallery: 16 photos
Likes: 248
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Houston
     
Apr 17, 2017 20:44 as a reply to  @ Pagman's post |  #6980

Sorry Pagman, I use Darktable (Linux OS). It is not easy to translate the workflow to LR. Also, each photo has its own workflow (reflecting my favorite moves at the time, in line with Darktable's capabilities at the time).

In general terms:

If pressed, I use a Linear Rec input profile. rather than a sRGB or Adobe RGB. This desaturates the photo (I have to come back and color correct), but reduces the noise significantly.

I also use parametric masking (i.e. if there is noise in the blue sky, as it often is in the 60D, I do noise reduction only on the blues, if there is noise in the shadows, I do NR for the shadows only etc).

Other steps include a judicious use of wavelet denoise versus more traditional non-local means NR. Wavelet denoise is extremely powerful, but it can destroy detail, so I keep it low and then finish with non-local, bilateral filters etc. You can kill any kind of noise, keeping the detail is the problem.


Gerry
Canon 5D MkIII/Canon 60D/Canon EF-S 18-200/Canon EF 24-70L USM II/Canon EF 70-200L 2.8 USM II/Canon EF 50 f1.8 II/Σ 8-16/ 430 EXII
OS: Linux Ubuntu/PostProcessing: Darktable/Image Processing: GIMP

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Pagman
I just hold the thing :-)
Avatar
8,045 posts
Gallery: 1562 photos
Likes: 5569
Joined Dec 2011
     
Apr 17, 2017 20:52 |  #6981

MakisM1 wrote in post #18330721 (external link)
Sorry Pagman, I use Darktable (Linux OS). It is not easy to translate the workflow to LR. Also, each photo has its own workflow (reflecting my favorite moves at the time, in line with Darktable's capabilities at the time).

In general terms:

If pressed, I use a Linear Rec input profile. rather than a sRGB or Adobe RGB. This desaturates the photo (I have to come back and color correct), but reduces the noise significantly.

I also use parametric masking (i.e. if there is noise in the blue sky, as it often is in the 60D, I do noise reduction only on the blues, if there is noise in the shadows, I do NR for the shadows only etc).

Other steps include a judicious use of wavelet denoise versus more traditional non-local means NR. Wavelet denoise is extremely powerful, but it can destroy detail, so I keep it low and then finish with non-local, bilateral filters etc. You can kill any kind of noise, keeping the detail is the problem.


Im currently using Topaz De noise 6 as a plug in with my LR5 it is very good also.


P.


Some stuff.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Inspeqtor
I brought this thread back to LIFE
Avatar
6,754 posts
Gallery: 76 photos
Likes: 1208
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Elkhart, Indiana
     
Apr 17, 2017 21:26 |  #6982

djr01974 wrote in post #18330603 (external link)
If your in the (m) mode the 60d will not allow you adjust the EC. You can in av or say TV mode. In manual mode it does it for you. On the 80d you have full control of EC in anymode. At least on my camera bodies

EC ? ?


Charles
Canon EOS 60D Gripped * Canon EOS XSi * Flickr Account (external link)
Tokina AT-X Pro DX 11-20 f/2.8 * Sigma 17-70 f2.8-4 DC Macro OS * Sigma 150-500 f5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM
Canon 18-55 IS Kit Lens * Canon 70-300 IS USM * Canon 50mm f1.8 * Canon 580EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
djr01974
Goldmember
1,172 posts
Gallery: 300 photos
Likes: 841
Joined Jun 2014
Location: Yorba Linda
     
Apr 18, 2017 00:37 |  #6983

Sorry. Exposer compensation




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
happyduck
Goldmember
Avatar
1,578 posts
Gallery: 293 photos
Likes: 738
Joined May 2008
Location: North west England
     
Apr 18, 2017 01:48 |  #6984

Although i dont shoot in manual mode, i found this on ePHOTOZINE

Exposure compensation when in manual on Canon 60D?

When you are in manual mode there is no need for the exposure compensation function as you have full control over the exposure.
If you have the iso set to 100 and the aperture set to f16 you change your exposure by adjusting the shutter speed. For example, if the shutter is set to 1/250 and you want to double the exposure you would change it to 1/125, leaving the other controls alone.:rolleyes:


Canon 70D Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS STM
"Rome wasn't built in a day. But I wasn't on that particular job."
Brian Clough.

My Flkr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Inspeqtor
I brought this thread back to LIFE
Avatar
6,754 posts
Gallery: 76 photos
Likes: 1208
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Elkhart, Indiana
     
Apr 18, 2017 05:18 as a reply to  @ djr01974's post |  #6985

Thank you


Charles
Canon EOS 60D Gripped * Canon EOS XSi * Flickr Account (external link)
Tokina AT-X Pro DX 11-20 f/2.8 * Sigma 17-70 f2.8-4 DC Macro OS * Sigma 150-500 f5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM
Canon 18-55 IS Kit Lens * Canon 70-300 IS USM * Canon 50mm f1.8 * Canon 580EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Frodge
Goldmember
Avatar
3,043 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 141
Joined Nov 2012
     
Apr 18, 2017 06:58 |  #6986

I'm not sure how the ec works in manual mode on the newer cameras. For example if you set shutter to 1/100th, aperture to f/8 and ISO to 800, and the ec +2/3rd what is it changing?


_______________
“It's kind of fun to do the impossible.” - Walt Disney.
Equipment: Tokina 12-24mm, Canon 40mm 2.8, Tamron 17-50 2.8 XR Di, Canon 18-55mm, Canon 50mm 1.8, Tamron 70-300VC / T3I and 60D

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BurnUnit
Senior Member
Avatar
781 posts
Gallery: 104 photos
Likes: 113
Joined May 2012
Location: Ft. Wayne, Indiana
     
Apr 18, 2017 10:24 as a reply to  @ Frodge's post |  #6987

Are we maybe getting into a little bit of confusion between "exposure compensation" and "exposure bracketing"?
In manual mode there's not much need for EC, but you might still want to use the bracketing function.


Canon 60D+EFs 18-200, EFs 10-18, G5, A20 (retired), Pentax Optio Z10, Powershot A620 and a recently adopted Digital Rebel/300D

"They've introduced a new camera that's so advanced, you don't even need it!"
Steven Wright

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MakisM1
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,466 posts
Gallery: 16 photos
Likes: 248
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Houston
     
Apr 18, 2017 11:05 |  #6988

There is some confusion in the 'wants'!...

In Av mode, everybody easily understands that you fix the aperture (I assume based on DOF considerations) and in Tv mode you fix the shutter speed (based on subject or shooter movement considerations). This has carried over from the film days. Then, you couldn't change the ISO, it was set by the film manufacturer.

However, it is clearly understood that occasionally you need to overexpose/underexpose the photo (snow scenes, beach, sunset etc etc).

For the automatic modes, Canon has provided the EC function.

However, until recently, in M mode the photographer sets the aperture and the shutter speed (and the ISO). There is no automation needed in M, the same way you set aperture, speed (or ISO) you can set them the desired number of stops higher or lower.

However, Canon made another concession. They gave you an extra automatic mode where you set aperture (based in DOF considerations, or maybe lens performance) shutter speed (based again on movement requirements) but allowing the ISO to float in an auto ISO mode. This created such hue and cry because now you have an automatic mode that you cannot apply exposure compensation!

Oh the shame!

(Well, actually you can, in a way... you can use exposure bracketing, with the bracketing being the EC you want. You shoot 3 pictures, one useless, one properly exposed to 12% gray and one exposed the way you want...). A bit of a waste, but oh well...


Gerry
Canon 5D MkIII/Canon 60D/Canon EF-S 18-200/Canon EF 24-70L USM II/Canon EF 70-200L 2.8 USM II/Canon EF 50 f1.8 II/Σ 8-16/ 430 EXII
OS: Linux Ubuntu/PostProcessing: Darktable/Image Processing: GIMP

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ItsJustEd
Senior Member
Avatar
433 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 20
Joined Jan 2012
Location: St. Petersburg FL
     
Apr 18, 2017 14:09 |  #6989

MakisM1 wrote in post #18330687 (external link)
@JustEd don't worry about it. We are all subscribed to this thread because we love the little body that can.

I have said many times that the 60D/EF 18-200/Sigma 8-16 combo is my travel (light) kit.

I will take exception to the high(er) ISO capabilities. I don't think twice about shooting up to ISO3200. Yes, there is noise, but it can be treated for a satisfactory result. Yes, the newer sensors can shoot higher ISO that cleans easier. But the question is, can you do it with the 60D satisfactorily. The answer is a resounding yes.

I have posted many times this 100% crop (left is before NR and right is after NR):

QUOTED IMAGE
IMAGE LINK: http://s37.photobucket​.com …3001_zps645c49d​a.jpg.html  (external link)

This is ISO12800 people!

The one below is ISO 6400

QUOTED IMAGE
IMAGE LINK: http://s37.photobucket​.com …shot_zps11d0816​8.jpg.html  (external link)

And a full picture at ISO6400

QUOTED IMAGE
IMAGE LINK: http://s37.photobucket​.com …33DT_zps863404c​4.jpg.html  (external link)

I don't claim that there is NO NOISE! I consider that the level of noise (and the corresponding amount of detail) are satisfactory.

Consider the noise in this photo:

QUOTED IMAGE
IMAGE LINK: http://s37.photobucket​.com …10DT_zpsgflfmcl​v.jpg.html  (external link)

And the amount of detail in a 100% crop (ISO 5000):

http://s37.photobucket​.com …crop_zpskuqvsmk​o.jpg.html (external link)

I can get the same level of detail/noise with my 5DIII with less heroics in PP. But I can't claim better results, until we get to ISO12800 in poor lighting conditions. From there to ISO 25600 the 5DIII is the king in my lot...



Excellent examples! Really appreciate you posting this and the work that went in to it!


I used to think I was indecisive,but now I'm not too sure.
5DMkI 60D Canon 24-105 Canon 17-55mm Tamron 70-300
More of me http://www.flickr.com/​photos/77024467@N03/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ItsJustEd
Senior Member
Avatar
433 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 20
Joined Jan 2012
Location: St. Petersburg FL
     
Apr 18, 2017 14:16 |  #6990

shane_c wrote in post #18330304 (external link)
I've been wanting to trade up for quite a while now but haven't pulled the trigger yet. I shoot a mix of everything, except people, and the 60D does almost everything I ask of it.

One of my biggest complaints with the 60D is the poor AI Servo when shooting BIF. But with a lot of practice on my technique I've been able to get a good number of keepers.

My other issue is that the images get pretty noisy over ISO 800. So if at all possible I try to keep it lower than that.

A few months ago I bought LR6 and started shooting RAW and it has really breathed new life into the 60D.

Right now I can't justify spending money on a new body because I'm still very happy with the results I'm getting from my 60D.


Saw this the other day, meant to say something but got distracted as in OH LOOK A SQUIRREL! But I agree, AI servo is dreadful. Atleast has been for me since day one. No matter how hard I try just cant seem to get any keepers.


I used to think I was indecisive,but now I'm not too sure.
5DMkI 60D Canon 24-105 Canon 17-55mm Tamron 70-300
More of me http://www.flickr.com/​photos/77024467@N03/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,239,713 views & 314 likes for this thread
Canon 60D Users, Unite! (4!)
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is The Fossil
741 guests, 400 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.