Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 28 Jun 2012 (Thursday) 00:01
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

New 7D firmware released - good upgrades!

 
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,286 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 410
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Aug 07, 2012 02:10 as a reply to  @ post 14824501 |  #481

The camera always shows the estimated number with a certain type of CF card. If you use the faster UDMA cards, you'll get a bit more.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
jwcdds
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
14,925 posts
Gallery: 1738 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 5627
Joined Aug 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
     
Aug 07, 2012 02:19 |  #482

javierz0509 wrote in post #14824501 (external link)
mines says 23, how come others are getting 27? faster memory if so which one?

Mine says 23 also. I tested it out and actually only got 22-shots. (but i'm not complaining, it's more than before and my testing conditions were rather poor).

** subsequent testing yielded 26 and then 27 shots **


Julian
Gear/Feedbacks | SmugMug (external link) | Flickr (external link) | Blog (external link) | Instagram (external link) | YouTube (external link)
My Reviews | "The Mighty One" (external link) | "EF 85mm f/1.4 L IS Review" (external link)
Founding member and President of the BOGUS Photo Club (Blatantly-Over-Geared & Under-Skilled)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bigjezza
Hatchling
3 posts
Joined Aug 2010
     
Aug 07, 2012 02:23 as a reply to  @ post 14824501 |  #483

Ducked in home during my lunch break earlier to update. I videod (with sound)a burst of raw and raw+jpg before and after the update. Will upload in a while. My god its made a heeeuuuge difference on raw+jpg!! Used a lexar 600x. Just wishing I used the old cards to do a test too.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jwcdds
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
14,925 posts
Gallery: 1738 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 5627
Joined Aug 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
     
Aug 07, 2012 02:24 |  #484

My tests at 1/2000s, f/1.2, iso 400 got me from 18 shots to 22.

** Subsequent testing got 26 and 27 shots **, so certainly an appreciable increase.


Julian
Gear/Feedbacks | SmugMug (external link) | Flickr (external link) | Blog (external link) | Instagram (external link) | YouTube (external link)
My Reviews | "The Mighty One" (external link) | "EF 85mm f/1.4 L IS Review" (external link)
Founding member and President of the BOGUS Photo Club (Blatantly-Over-Geared & Under-Skilled)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
liquidstone
insane Bird photographer
Avatar
1,089 posts
Likes: 114
Joined Dec 2005
     
Aug 07, 2012 02:29 |  #485

Bill Boehme wrote in post #14824467 (external link)
I like your long telephoto shots with the stacked teleconverters. I have stacked two TC's, but never even considered using three. I especially like the capture of the ISS. How did you set up the camera so that it was ready to capture the ISS -- I know that it moves very fast across the sky.

Thanks, Bill! You mean an ISS shot like this?

IMAGE: http://www.pbase.com/liquidstone/image/134000218.jpg


I pre-focused manually on an astro object (either star, planet or moon), activated IS mode 2, then tried my best to acquire the speeding ISS through the VF. :)

Romy Ocon, Philippine Wild Birds (external link)
Over 260 species captured in habitat, and counting.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tpatana
Senior Member
471 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Feb 2007
Location: Redmond, WA
     
Aug 07, 2012 02:32 |  #486

Someone at other forum complained that his bursts dropped to bursts of 4-5 pics with small pause in between. He said he don't have fast UDMA6/7 cards.

Can someone confirm if that happens, or is that isolated?

Also could someone do this test with "normal" card, like 266x or such, both with old FW and new FW:
-Shoot full buffer at 8fps, record time how long it took to empty the buffer (the red CF light goes out, repeat 3-4 times to get average result)

Meaning I'm interested if the buffer gets emptied faster or not. I think Dpreview records those, but I'd like to see the test done with one same card with same settings.


Have: Many cameras with some Ls
Kendo.Photography (external link) / Kendo@Facebook (external link) / TeroPhotography.com (external link) / Tero@Facebook (external link) / CF card Speedtest on my gear (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jwcdds
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
14,925 posts
Gallery: 1738 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 5627
Joined Aug 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
     
Aug 07, 2012 02:34 |  #487

Hm... It varies. I'm able to get 26-27 bursts now.


Julian
Gear/Feedbacks | SmugMug (external link) | Flickr (external link) | Blog (external link) | Instagram (external link) | YouTube (external link)
My Reviews | "The Mighty One" (external link) | "EF 85mm f/1.4 L IS Review" (external link)
Founding member and President of the BOGUS Photo Club (Blatantly-Over-Geared & Under-Skilled)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jwcdds
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
14,925 posts
Gallery: 1738 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 5627
Joined Aug 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
     
Aug 07, 2012 02:36 |  #488

tpatana wrote in post #14824605 (external link)
Someone at other forum complained that his bursts dropped to bursts of 4-5 pics with small pause in between. He said he don't have fast UDMA6/7 cards.

Can someone confirm if that happens, or is that isolated?

Also could someone do this test with "normal" card, like 266x or such, both with old FW and new FW:
-Shoot full buffer at 8fps, record time how long it took to empty the buffer (the red CF light goes out, repeat 3-4 times to get average result)

Meaning I'm interested if the buffer gets emptied faster or not. I think Dpreview records those, but I'd like to see the test done with one same card with same settings.

The buffer definitely takes longer to clear. I didn't measure the exact time but it takes quite a bit longer for the first preview to show up.

IMO, whoever complained the burst rate dropped simply was taking bursts in the dark and the camera's metering and/or shutterspeed wasn't allowing the camera to burst to full 8fps.


Julian
Gear/Feedbacks | SmugMug (external link) | Flickr (external link) | Blog (external link) | Instagram (external link) | YouTube (external link)
My Reviews | "The Mighty One" (external link) | "EF 85mm f/1.4 L IS Review" (external link)
Founding member and President of the BOGUS Photo Club (Blatantly-Over-Geared & Under-Skilled)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jack880
Goldmember
Avatar
2,852 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 788
Joined Apr 2011
Location: Manchester, UK
     
Aug 07, 2012 02:38 |  #489

apersson850 wrote in post #14824442 (external link)
The firmware is the same globally.

Thanks mate


https://www.flickr.com​/photos/jackhenriques/ (external link)
1DX, 7D, 20D, G7X II, 70-200 f/2.8 L IS II, 24-70 f/2.8 L, 16-35 f/2.8 L II, 50 f/1.8 II, 50 f/1.4, TS-E 17 f/4 L, 8-15 f/4 L, Sigma 17-50 f/2.8, Sigma 8-16 f/4.5-5.6, Sigma 150 f/2.8 macro, x1.4 extender II, Kenko extension tubes, 430 EX II x 2, DJI Mavic Air

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lordedmond
Member
145 posts
Joined Nov 2005
Location: Tilchestune UK
     
Aug 07, 2012 02:40 as a reply to  @ jwcdds's post |  #490

due to Canon being lazy with the OSX mountain Lion not showing the UD just use the Lion selection, its only a DL anyway


Stuart


Apple Dev


Canon 7d, Speedlite 580EX II | EF 17-40 f4 L | EF 70-200 f4 L IS USM
Stuart

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
javierz0509
Senior Member
Avatar
744 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Apr 2012
Location: Miami FL
     
Aug 07, 2012 02:40 |  #491

weird my say 23 and i test with 28 shots in just raw mode.


Follow me on Facebook (external link) - Canon 5D MK3 - 85mm f/1.8 - 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SkipD
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
20,476 posts
Likes: 163
Joined Dec 2002
Location: Southeastern WI, USA
     
Aug 07, 2012 02:42 |  #492

I've updated my 7D.

I'm trying to change the filename from IMG to other characters. I've figured out how to change the characters in User Setting 1, for example. Editing the character string is easy. Now, I want to know how to make the camera actually use the User Setting 1 file name structure. I don't see instructions for that anywhere (and I did download the new 7D manual).


Skip Douglas
A few cameras and over 50 years behind them .....
..... but still learning all the time.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,286 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 410
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Aug 07, 2012 02:47 as a reply to  @ SkipD's post |  #493

That's the selection in the top row on the same menu page.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,286 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 410
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Aug 07, 2012 02:48 |  #494

javierz0509 wrote in post #14824627 (external link)
weird my say 23 and i test with 28 shots in just raw mode.

Again, the camera will show an estimate that's valid for a standard type of card. If you have a faster one, perhaps a UDMA compatible card, your actual figure will be higher.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SkipD
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
20,476 posts
Likes: 163
Joined Dec 2002
Location: Southeastern WI, USA
     
Aug 07, 2012 02:51 |  #495

SkipD wrote in post #14824629 (external link)
I've updated my 7D.

I'm trying to change the filename from IMG to other characters. I've figured out how to change the characters in User Setting 1, for example. Editing the character string is easy. Now, I want to know how to make the camera actually use the User Setting 1 file name structure. I don't see instructions for that anywhere (and I did download the new 7D manual).

apersson850 wrote in post #14824639 (external link)
That's the selection in the top row on the same menu page.

Got it. Thanks. It's just too darned late. I didn't recognize that top item as a selection tool. I just thought it was a way to see the three selection settings. :rolleyes:


Skip Douglas
A few cameras and over 50 years behind them .....
..... but still learning all the time.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

256,941 views & 0 likes for this thread
New 7D firmware released - good upgrades!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is txlaflash
851 guests, 237 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.