Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 28 Jun 2012 (Thursday) 00:01
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

New 7D firmware released - good upgrades!

 
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,036 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 289
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Aug 17, 2012 05:57 as a reply to  @ post 14869664 |  #1141

Had it been Sweden, THEN...


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Red ­ Dog
Senior Member
Avatar
868 posts
Gallery: 46 photos
Likes: 413
Joined Feb 2007
Location: N Ireland
     
Aug 17, 2012 06:26 |  #1142

apersson850 wrote in post #14869674 (external link)
Had it been Sweden, THEN...

Would have got it right first time. ;)


www.portadownfc.co.uk (external link)
Canon 1DX +1D Mkiv - Canon 300 IS F2.8 + Sigma 70-200 F2.8 & 120-300 f2.8
My Gallery: http://www.flickr.com/​photos/actionpix/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,036 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 289
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Aug 17, 2012 13:12 as a reply to  @ Red Dog's post |  #1143

I can now join the bunch of people who have seen the dreaded Error 30 message on their 7D.
As far as I can remember, this has never happened before, and I've had this camera since 2009. Today, during a two hour session where I took some 500+ images, it happened five-six times or so. Cured each time by removing and inserting the battery, but since I had the WFT-E5B on to geotag immediately, it's rather cumbersome to get to the battery.

Shall we start taking bets on when we see 2.0.1?


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Yogi ­ Bear
Goldmember
1,492 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2009
Location: League City, TX USA (Houston)
     
Aug 17, 2012 13:29 |  #1144

apersson850 wrote in post #14871046 (external link)
I can now join the bunch of people who have seen the dreaded Error 30 message on their 7D.
As far as I can remember, this has never happened before, and I've had this camera since 2009. Today, during a two hour session where I took some 500+ images, it happened five-six times or so. Cured each time by removing and inserting the battery, but since I had the WFT-E5B on to geotag immediately, it's rather cumbersome to get to the battery.

Shall we start taking bets on when we see 2.0.1?

One user on DPR seems to think that his Error 30 problem is related to his selection of CF card: http://forums.dpreview​.com …rum=1019&messag​e=42276837 (external link) However, according to Canon, Error 30 indicates a shutter problem.


Canon EOS 7D | EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM | EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS |
EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM | 250D | EF-S 10-22 mm f/3.5-4.5 USM | 580 EX II |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,036 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 289
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Aug 17, 2012 13:50 as a reply to  @ Yogi Bear's post |  #1145

Mine is using the same card as I've used for several months before, without any problem.
Of course it could be a shutter problem, but it's a bit of a coincidence that it showed up right now.
Well, I'll see what happens during the next few weeks.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
36,582 posts
Gallery: 108 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5622
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Aug 17, 2012 14:01 |  #1146

Yogi Bear wrote in post #14871118 (external link)
One user on DPR seems to think that his Error 30 problem is related to his selection of CF card: http://forums.dpreview​.com …rum=1019&messag​e=42276837 (external link) However, according to Canon, Error 30 indicates a shutter problem.

Could be a typical programmer's copy/paste error, and Error 30 is now misleading for whatever is indeed being fired off... :(


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: 1.4x TC
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,036 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 289
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Aug 17, 2012 14:53 as a reply to  @ TeamSpeed's post |  #1147

Or the new firmware could have updated diagnostic routines, which turn out to be too sensitive and sees mechanical faults where there aren't any, really.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
msowsun
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,237 posts
Gallery: 14 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 267
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Oakville Ont. Canada
     
Aug 17, 2012 15:07 |  #1148

apersson850 wrote in post #14871046 (external link)
I can now join the bunch of people who have seen the dreaded Error 30 message on their 7D.
As far as I can remember, this has never happened before, and I've had this camera since 2009...............

Shall we start taking bets on when we see 2.0.1?

I would occasionally get Error 30 when using Liveview. It started happening after aproximately 60,00 shutter actuations. I learned that giving the base of the camera a thump with the palm of my hand would free up the sticking shutter without removing the battery.

After installing 2.0.0 I have used Liveview a few times and so far have NOT received Error 30.

I don't belive 2.0.0 has fixed my camera, but after reading your post above I suppose it could be possible that 2.0.0 may be more sensitive to the beginnings of a failing shutter. I am hoping it is LESS sensitive to whatever my shutter problem is, and will report back if I ever get error 30 again.


Mike Sowsun / S110 / SL1 / 80D / EF-S 24mm STM / EF-S 10-18mm STM / EF-S 18-55mm STM / EF-S 15-85mm USM / EF-S 18-135mm USM / EF-S 55-250mm STM / 5D3 / Samyang 14mm 2.8 / EF 40mm 2.8 STM / EF 50mm 1.8 STM / EF 100mm 2.0 USM / EF 100mm 2.8 USM Macro / EF 24-105mm IS / EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS Mk II / EF 1.4x II
Full Current and Previously Owned Gear List over 40 years Flickr Photostream (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bill ­ Boehme
Enjoy being spanked
Avatar
7,358 posts
Gallery: 38 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 88
Joined Jan 2007
Location: DFW Metro-mess, Texas
     
Aug 17, 2012 15:47 as a reply to  @ msowsun's post |  #1149

I think that somebody mentioned earlier in this thread that the firmware update will get the blame for anything that happens subsequently. Just saying.


Atmospheric haze in images? Click for Tutorial to Reduce Atmospheric Haze with Photoshop.
Gear List .... Gallery: Woodturner Bill (external link)
Donate to Support POTN Operating Costs

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,036 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 289
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Aug 17, 2012 15:54 as a reply to  @ Bill Boehme's post |  #1150

Sure. I didn't even say it was the firmware, just that it was quite a coincidence.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cmosman
Senior Member
Avatar
456 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 243
Joined Mar 2005
Location: Essex, England
     
Aug 18, 2012 05:10 as a reply to  @ apersson850's post |  #1151

I have updated to V2 and cannot update the Peripheral illumin correction lens list.

I can go into EOS Utility and then the list and select the lens I have, but when I click okay, the list closes and then nothing happens. EOS Utility hangs, so have to turn off the camera to close the program.

Does anyone else have this issue?


Cameras & Lens all due to my kind wife :D

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
msowsun
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,237 posts
Gallery: 14 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 267
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Oakville Ont. Canada
     
Aug 18, 2012 05:39 |  #1152

You probably just need to get the latest version of EOS Utility.

http://www.canon.co.uk …318&page=1&type​=important (external link)

-It is recommended that you use the updated EOS 7D camera (Version 2.0.0) with the latest applications*3 . Some applications of previous versions do not support functions that are added by the new firmware. Please also note that EOS Utility needs to be updated to the latest version before it can be used with the updated EOS 7D camera. You can download the latest applications from our Web site.

EOS Utility Version 2.11.4 or later (Supported OSes: Windows XP SP3/Vista SP2/7/7 SP1,Mac OS X v10.6/10.7)

Digital Photo Professional Version 3.11.31 or later (Supported OSes: Windows XP SP3/Vista SP2/7/7 SP1,Mac OS X v10.6/10.7)

ImageBrowser EX Version 1.0.1 or later (Supported OSes: Windows XP SP3/Vista SP2/7/7 SP1,Mac OS X v10.6/10.7)

The system requirements for the latest applications may be different for the applications that have already been installed to your computer. For information on the system requirements, please go to our Web site.


Mike Sowsun / S110 / SL1 / 80D / EF-S 24mm STM / EF-S 10-18mm STM / EF-S 18-55mm STM / EF-S 15-85mm USM / EF-S 18-135mm USM / EF-S 55-250mm STM / 5D3 / Samyang 14mm 2.8 / EF 40mm 2.8 STM / EF 50mm 1.8 STM / EF 100mm 2.0 USM / EF 100mm 2.8 USM Macro / EF 24-105mm IS / EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS Mk II / EF 1.4x II
Full Current and Previously Owned Gear List over 40 years Flickr Photostream (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cmosman
Senior Member
Avatar
456 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 243
Joined Mar 2005
Location: Essex, England
     
Aug 18, 2012 05:57 |  #1153

msowsun wrote in post #14873787 (external link)
You probably just need to get the latest version of EOS Utility.

http://www.canon.co.uk …318&page=1&type​=important (external link)

Many thanks msowsun, fixed. Have agreat weekend :D


Cameras & Lens all due to my kind wife :D

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sploo
premature adulation
2,409 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 463
Joined Nov 2011
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
     
Aug 19, 2012 15:19 as a reply to  @ cmosman's post |  #1154

Had chance for a 'proper' use of the 7D this weekend (i.e. taking pics, rather than just testing). No apparent problems, and I'm definitely liking the Q button on playback & faster scrolling.

I tried out auto ISO (limited to 800) and it seemed to work pretty well in mixed light. Occasionally I reckon it chose an ISO speed a little higher than necessary at longer focal lengths, but I'd certainly consider using it now (which I wouldn't have done before the updates).


Camera, some lenses, too little time, too little talent

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
holicbox
Hatchling
Avatar
2 posts
Joined Jul 2012
     
Aug 20, 2012 13:43 |  #1155

i really like this firmware update.. it's awesome !!


Facebook (external link) | Twitter (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

234,480 views & 0 likes for this thread
New 7D firmware released - good upgrades!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is MandeepNayee
859 guests, 283 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.