Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 28 Jun 2012 (Thursday) 12:16
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Turn on high speed sync?

 
uneek78
Senior Member
Avatar
340 posts
Joined Nov 2011
Location: NC
     
Jun 28, 2012 12:16 |  #1

Anyone know how to turn on high speed sync on a canon 580 speedlite? I noticed that as an off-camera flash the output of the flash is much lower than when on the camera. I was advised to turn on high speed sync. Please advise if you think I should be trying something else.


Gerard Payne | www.gerardpayne.com (external link)
Canon Rebel T1i | Canon 50mm f/1.4 | Canon 24-105L |Canon 55-250mm f/4-5.6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
19,525 posts
Likes: 1676
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Jun 28, 2012 12:23 |  #2

How are you using your 580 of camera, it manual mode or eTTL? HSS mode irrespective of on camera or off camera will lower output power.


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
uneek78
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
340 posts
Joined Nov 2011
Location: NC
     
Jun 28, 2012 12:26 |  #3

bobbyz wrote in post #14644469 (external link)
How are you using your 580 of camera, it manual mode or eTTL? HSS mode irrespective of on camera or off camera will lower output power.

ETTL.


Gerard Payne | www.gerardpayne.com (external link)
Canon Rebel T1i | Canon 50mm f/1.4 | Canon 24-105L |Canon 55-250mm f/4-5.6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
uneek78
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
340 posts
Joined Nov 2011
Location: NC
     
Jun 28, 2012 12:27 |  #4

bobbyz wrote in post #14644469 (external link)
How are you using your 580 of camera, it manual mode or eTTL? HSS mode irrespective of on camera or off camera will lower output power.

What can I do to remedy this issue?


Gerard Payne | www.gerardpayne.com (external link)
Canon Rebel T1i | Canon 50mm f/1.4 | Canon 24-105L |Canon 55-250mm f/4-5.6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,290 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 1749
Joined Dec 2006
     
Jun 28, 2012 12:28 |  #5

What triggering method are you using? What gear?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
uneek78
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
340 posts
Joined Nov 2011
Location: NC
     
Jun 28, 2012 12:30 |  #6

gonzogolf wrote in post #14644491 (external link)
What triggering method are you using? What gear?

Canon Speedlite Transmitter ST-E2


Gerard Payne | www.gerardpayne.com (external link)
Canon Rebel T1i | Canon 50mm f/1.4 | Canon 24-105L |Canon 55-250mm f/4-5.6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
19,525 posts
Likes: 1676
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Jun 28, 2012 12:31 |  #7

Use FEC (on camera or on the flash) to change power.


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
uneek78
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
340 posts
Joined Nov 2011
Location: NC
     
Jun 28, 2012 12:33 |  #8

bobbyz wrote in post #14644501 (external link)
Use FEC (on camera or on the flash) to change power.

This is an option in the menus on the camera and is also on the flash trigger? Is it more of a benefit to turn it on one than the other?


Gerard Payne | www.gerardpayne.com (external link)
Canon Rebel T1i | Canon 50mm f/1.4 | Canon 24-105L |Canon 55-250mm f/4-5.6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,290 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 1749
Joined Dec 2006
     
Jun 28, 2012 12:33 |  #9

bobbyz wrote in post #14644501 (external link)
Use FEC (on camera or on the flash) to change power.

This. In ETTL mode the output is automatic. HSS would only kick in when you set your shutter speed above max, below it doesnt matter if its turned on or not so thats not your problem. Dial in the amount of compensation you need.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
uneek78
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
340 posts
Joined Nov 2011
Location: NC
     
Jun 28, 2012 12:47 |  #10

gonzogolf wrote in post #14644514 (external link)
This. In ETTL mode the output is automatic. HSS would only kick in when you set your shutter speed above max, below it doesnt matter if its turned on or not so thats not your problem. Dial in the amount of compensation you need.

Okay, so they're currently in slave mode to be controlled by the canon wireless transmitter. Are you saying I can manipulate the output in slave mode? Or do I need to change to something totally different? The manuals don't do a great job of explaining this stuff. UGH!!!!!


Gerard Payne | www.gerardpayne.com (external link)
Canon Rebel T1i | Canon 50mm f/1.4 | Canon 24-105L |Canon 55-250mm f/4-5.6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
uneek78
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
340 posts
Joined Nov 2011
Location: NC
     
Jun 28, 2012 12:48 |  #11

gonzogolf wrote in post #14644514 (external link)
This. In ETTL mode the output is automatic. HSS would only kick in when you set your shutter speed above max, below it doesnt matter if its turned on or not so thats not your problem. Dial in the amount of compensation you need.

I am use to manipulating the output when it's on the camera.


Gerard Payne | www.gerardpayne.com (external link)
Canon Rebel T1i | Canon 50mm f/1.4 | Canon 24-105L |Canon 55-250mm f/4-5.6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,290 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 1749
Joined Dec 2006
     
Jun 28, 2012 13:48 |  #12

uneek78 wrote in post #14644569 (external link)
I am use to manipulating the output when it's on the camera.

In ettl mode its pretty much as if they were on camera, assuming you dont have anything set to manual or are using the st-e2 groups function improperly.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,290 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 1749
Joined Dec 2006
     
Jun 28, 2012 13:49 |  #13

If you set FEC on the flash it will override the camera setting in camera.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drvnbysound
Goldmember
3,316 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Aug 2009
     
Jun 28, 2012 15:01 |  #14

gonzogolf wrote in post #14644514 (external link)
This. In ETTL mode the output is automatic. HSS would only kick in when you set your shutter speed above max, below it doesnt matter if its turned on or not so thats not your problem. Dial in the amount of compensation you need.

Just trying to clarify... I believe that if the flash is not already set in HSS mode, the camera will automatically default to your sync speed if you were to try and choose a faster shutter. That said, you can leave your flash in HSS mode at all times, and it will automatically utilize HSS if you set your shutter speed faster than the sync speed.


I use manual exposure settings on the copy machine
..::Gear Listing::.. --==Feedback==--
...A few umbrella brackets I own...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JohnThomas
Senior Member
Avatar
401 posts
Joined May 2012
Location: Long Island, New York
     
Jun 28, 2012 15:42 |  #15

Let me try and help explain with simple english..

What everyone is trying to tell you is that even though you are physically using your flash(es) off-camera, using the ST-E2 to trigger them in ETTL mode makes them operate exactly the same way as if they WERE physically mounted to your camera. In other words, however you're used to adjusting flash exposure, do the same thing. With ETTL, you would use FEC, or flash exposure compensation (on camera).

I have a feeling you think flash exposure decreased because you have the flash(es) setup to your side, and you're used to lighting subjects head-on. That's just my guess.. I apologize if I'm wrong.


You can call me JT
jsantiniphotography.co​m

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,112 views & 0 likes for this thread
Turn on high speed sync?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is mrbarnard
1033 guests, 403 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.