Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 07 Jul 2012 (Saturday) 22:19
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

How do you have your C1, C2, C3 set up?

 
Graziee
Mostly Lurking
15 posts
Joined Sep 2012
     
Sep 25, 2012 08:58 |  #31

David Arbogast wrote in post #15039754 (external link)
The only problem I consistently have with my custom settings is the fact that it always reverts the aperture and shutter speed back to what was set when the custom setting was registered. So, if your custom setting was registered with an aperture value of f/1.4, but you happen to be shooting mostly at f/8, then you can run into screw-ups if you switch off your camera for a few moments. You can turn your camera back on thinking you're still set on f/8, but the camera has reverted back to f/1.4. Same applies with ISO settings. So, if I'm on a photowalk, it's often more convenient for me to just use full manual mode "M", since the other modes remember the previously used settings rather than reverting back to a registered custom setting.

That said, I still use C1-3 most of the time in my shooting and my biggest complaint about the custom modes is that there's only three of them...I could use a couple more. ;)

There's an option to enable "Auto update set" when on you're on custom mode. If enabled, it will automatically register any changes you've done while shooting on a specific custom set.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
David ­ Arbogast
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,429 posts
Gallery: 36 photos
Likes: 8217
Joined Aug 2010
Location: West Point, Georgia
     
Sep 25, 2012 09:27 |  #32

Graziee wrote in post #15039783 (external link)
There's an option to enable "Auto update set" when on you're on custom mode. If enabled, it will automatically register any changes you've done while shooting on a specific custom set.

I saw that...I may give that a try, but I wonder how that is any different than just having three extra manual modes.


David | Flickr (external link)
Sony α7R II | CV 12mm, FE 12-24mm, Loxia 21mm, Loxia 35mm, CV 40mm, FE 50mm ZA, Loxia 85mm, Batis 85mm, Batis 135mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Scott ­ M
Goldmember
3,166 posts
Gallery: 65 photos
Likes: 250
Joined May 2008
Location: Michigan
     
Sep 25, 2012 12:11 |  #33

David Arbogast wrote in post #15039917 (external link)
I saw that...I may give that a try, but I wonder how that is any different than just having three extra manual modes.

I really like the auto update option, as I will tweak my custom mode settings sometimes. I use the custom modes more than just for exposure settings -- it's more about auto focus settings, drive mode, etc. With the 7D, it is cumbersome to register the changes. I wish the 7D had this option.


Photo Gallery (external link)
Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
nburwell
Goldmember
Avatar
1,264 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Oct 2006
Location: Wilmington, DE
     
Sep 25, 2012 12:24 |  #34

Kechar wrote in post #14687359 (external link)
Truthfully I never use them.
I just change my settings as needed...only takes me a few seconds.

Same here. I mainly just work in Av, M or bulb mode depending on what I'm shooting.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
filmjuicer
Member
48 posts
Joined Jan 2012
Location: Chicago
     
Sep 25, 2012 12:56 |  #35

I don't use them. Just change settings on the fly. But, after reading this thread...maybe I will!


_______________
EOS 5D MkII | EF 50mm F1.4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

12,982 views & 0 likes for this thread
How do you have your C1, C2, C3 set up?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is PhotoEngineering
942 guests, 332 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.