Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 17 Jul 2012 (Tuesday) 06:48
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Transfer to Photoshop greyed out - and fix

 
amorrison
Member
170 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2003
     
Jul 17, 2012 06:48 |  #1

Well, I had this problem after upgrading to CS6 and removing CS4. Internet searches will find lots of threads on this but none worked until I tried this. Most registry edits deal with putting values that point to application paths. Mine were already there, and it still didn't work. Reinstalling DPP didn't work. Rebooting didn't work. However, the registry entry that "activates" this option in DPP is below:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSI​D\{6DECC242-87EF-11cf-86B4-444553540000}

apparently this is what DPP uses, and by adding the key "ProgID" and for CS6 the value "Photoshop.Application​.60" the transfer to photoshop option is activated (at least on my machine) and works. On mine, the CLSID entry was there, but no ProgID key.

Also, here is the URL I found the most helpful figuring this out:

http://digitol.free.fr​/forum/viewtopic.php?f​=2&t=22 (external link)

As always, with registry edits, proceed at your own risk.

Good luck!!

- Art


http://photos.atlantaf​alconscheerleaders.com (external link)
http://action4image.co​m (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,642 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 522
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jul 18, 2012 04:54 |  #2

I'd advise against using the DPP Transfer to Photoshop function because it creates a "tiff" file buried in your temp files and does not remove it. Do a Convert and Save, and open it in Bridge until Canon "fixes" this!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
Avatar
12,924 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
     
Jul 18, 2012 05:02 as a reply to  @ tonylong's post |  #3

Tony,

Again, many thanks for info I did not know!

However I religeously run CCleaner once a day and it cleans out all my temp files. I always do what you are suggesting the OP does not do, so if I did not tidy up behind me I can only imagine the mess there would be. Some days there is as much as 200 mb of junk.


Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Jul 18, 2012 05:29 |  #4

Bigger problem (IMO) that the filename of the Raw file doesn't transfer, but instead becomes something random like "DPP07DC07120C1746.TIF​", which is pretty useless.


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
Avatar
12,924 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
     
Jul 18, 2012 06:43 |  #5

Rene,

Mine does not. I get exactly the same file name in Photoshop that I did in DPP, which then becomes its standard record ident in my filing system.


Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
amorrison
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
170 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2003
     
Jul 18, 2012 07:50 |  #6

Hmmm, I never thought about the temp files collecting. I just looked at my PStemp file directory and there is only one entry there from today. There must be some built-in automatic cleanup going on then because I don't run any cleaners. I use 64bit Win7. They are in Users\Art\AppData\Roam​ing\Canon\Genzo\PStemp on my machine. It is a pain to navigate to the directory I need from there when I "save-as" though.


http://photos.atlantaf​alconscheerleaders.com (external link)
http://action4image.co​m (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Jul 18, 2012 10:47 |  #7

Lowner wrote in post #14733702 (external link)
Rene,

Mine does not. I get exactly the same file name in Photoshop that I did in DPP, which then becomes its standard record ident in my filing system.

Hmmm. Must be an OSX thing then…

Anyway, it's the reason I use (Batch) convert & save.


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,642 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 522
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jul 18, 2012 18:26 |  #8

René Damkot wrote in post #14733530 (external link)
Bigger problem (IMO) that the filename of the Raw file doesn't transfer, but instead becomes something random like "DPP07DC07120C1746.TIF​", which is pretty useless.

Lowner wrote in post #14733702 (external link)
Rene,

Mine does not. I get exactly the same file name in Photoshop that I did in DPP, which then becomes its standard record ident in my filing system.

amorrison wrote in post #14733906 (external link)
Hmmm, I never thought about the temp files collecting. I just looked at my PStemp file directory and there is only one entry there from today. There must be some built-in automatic cleanup going on then because I don't run any cleaners. I use 64bit Win7. They are in Users\Art\AppData\Roam​ing\Canon\Genzo\PStemp on my machine. It is a pain to navigate to the directory I need from there when I "save-as" though.

I think the misunderstanding is about the "temp" file. If I recall correctly it does have an "odd" name. Also, it doesn't get stored in a "normal" temp directory, but I don't recall the specific spot where it gets placed.

I'd recommend searching your hard drive for ".tif" files after doing a "transfer to Photoshop" and you should find one that matches the time of your transfer. Delete it (DPP won't do it for you), and then don't use that function!

Hopefully Canon will fix that in a new version, but as far as I know it hasn't happened yet...


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,642 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 522
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jul 18, 2012 18:41 |  #9

OK, *DATA UPDATE*!!

I did the deed -- I used the Tranfer to Photoshop Tool, then did a search of my "system" drive for "*.tif". The "not temp" file did show up in a bizarre place.

For my Win7x64, the path is:

C:\Users\[your user name]\AppData\Roaming\​Canon\Genzo\PStemp\[So​me garbled folder name]\

That's the path, again for Win7x64. The actual file name matched the original "base" file name, just with the .tif extension.

If you have another OS, your results will vary, but I would definitely encourage you to check this out! Those tiffs can gobble up disk space!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
amorrison
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
170 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2003
     
Jul 18, 2012 20:42 as a reply to  @ tonylong's post |  #10

When I looked through the PStemp directory in my system I did find one .psd file I had accidentally saved there several months ago but that was the only one that was not deleted by some automated cleanup process. Apparently (on my system anyway) it only deletes the .tif files created in the transfer process. I use that transfer function all the time for single file edits and have never deleted a .tif file in that temporary space.


http://photos.atlantaf​alconscheerleaders.com (external link)
http://action4image.co​m (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,642 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 522
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jul 18, 2012 22:48 |  #11

amorrison wrote in post #14737315 (external link)
When I looked through the PStemp directory in my system I did find one .psd file I had accidentally saved there several months ago but that was the only one that was not deleted by some automated cleanup process. Apparently (on my system anyway) it only deletes the .tif files created in the transfer process. I use that transfer function all the time for single file edits and have never deleted a .tif file in that temporary space.

Well, that's odd, because others who have checked have found the tif files. I don't know what you may have that differs...

What OS are you using?


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
amorrison
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
170 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2003
     
Jul 19, 2012 06:26 |  #12

I am using Windows 7 64bit. I went through a session and tracked what DPP did in the PStemp file. Every time I transferred a file to photoshop it created a directory with a long alpha name like a registry key. Each transfer temp file was put in its own ong named directory. I did not modify the temp files in any way - I always do a save-as and put the edited version somewhere else. I then exited PS, and exited DPP. The PStemp files were still there. I started another session of DPP, and looked at PStemp and they were gone. So, on my system DPP cleans up the temp files when it starts up.


http://photos.atlantaf​alconscheerleaders.com (external link)
http://action4image.co​m (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
Avatar
12,924 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
     
Jul 19, 2012 06:30 |  #13

amorrison wrote in post #14738867 (external link)
I am using Windows 7 64bit. I went through a session and tracked what DPP did in the PStemp file. Every time I transferred a file to photoshop it created a directory with a long alpha name like a registry key. Each transfer temp file was put in its own ong named directory. I did not modify the temp files in any way - I always do a save-as and put the edited version somewhere else. I then exited PS, and exited DPP. The PStemp files were still there. I started another session of DPP, and looked at PStemp and they were gone. So, on my system DPP cleans up the temp files when it starts up.

That sounds as though thats what my (Win7 - home) does. So its not my using CCleaner, its tidying up after itself! Good for DPP.


Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,642 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 522
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jul 19, 2012 10:09 |  #14

So you have to close and re-start DPP to do the "cleanup"? OK, new info!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,722 views & 0 likes for this thread
Transfer to Photoshop greyed out - and fix
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Miyashoe
442 guests, 348 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.