Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 23 Jul 2012 (Monday) 14:28
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Problems with MiniTT1 and FlexTT5 on 1DX?

 
sdipirro
Goldmember
Avatar
2,207 posts
Likes: 45
Joined Dec 2005
     
Jul 23, 2012 14:28 |  #1

Since recently getting my 1DX, I've been testing out everything. I was playing around with the 580EX II on-camera, and everything looked good. I went into my studio and fired up my strobes. Each one has a PW II on it. I put the MiniTT1 on the 1DX hotshoe, hit the test button (fired all the strobes) and then tried to take a picture...nothing (triggered). Tried again, nothing. Tried the test button again, took the Mini off and put it back on again, fired the strobes. Tried again, nothing. After that, it was about half the time that it triggered the strobes. Removed the Mini and tried the FlexTT5. Similar results, but the strobes triggered about 2/3 of the time. Removed the FlexTT5 and tried a plain ol' PW II, and the strobes fired every time. I don't remember reading about anything peculiar with the 1DX hotshoe and was wondering if anyone else has had problems like this. I haven't updated the firmware in either of these for quite a while, but I doubt that would cause anything like this. I'll try fresh batteries, but it hasn't been long since I put fresh batteries in both of these. I guess the other possibility is that the contacts are not lining up just right.


Cameras: 1DX, 1D4, 20D, 10D, S90, G2
Lenses: Canon 10-22mm, 16-35mm f2.8L II, 24-70mm f2.8L, 70-200mm f2.8L IS, 300mm f2.8L IS, 200mm f2L IS, 50mm f1.4, 50mm f1.2L, 85mm f1.2L, 1.4x TC, 2x TC, 500D macro, Zeiss 21mm
Lighting: 580EX, Elinchrom 600 RX's, D-Lite 4's, ABR800, 74" Eli Octa, 100cm/70cm DOs, Photoflex Medium Octa and reflectors, PW's, Lastolite Hilite, Newton Di400CR bracket

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
SMP_Homer
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,696 posts
Gallery: 28 photos
Likes: 503
Joined Mar 2008
Location: London, Ontario
     
Jul 23, 2012 14:42 |  #2

PW hasn't officially added the 1DX and 5D3 to their compatibility list for their Flex system
(one of the reasons why I haven't picked up a 5D3 yet - I'm a huge Flex fan)

Take a look here:
http://www.pocketwizar​d.com …ws/firmware_rel​ease_plan/ (external link)

Beta releases for #1, #2 and #3 are out already....


EOS R / 1D X / 1D IV (and the wife has a T4i)
Sig35A, Sig50A, Sig85A, Sig14-24A, Sig24-105A, Sig70-200S, Sig150-600C
100-400L, 100L, 100/2, 300 2.8L, 1.4x II / 2x II
600EX-II X3, 430EX-III X3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
taygull
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
Jul 23, 2012 15:08 |  #3

I'm needing the firmware update for the 5D Mark III in a bad way as well!


www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sdipirro
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,207 posts
Likes: 45
Joined Dec 2005
     
Jul 23, 2012 17:32 as a reply to  @ taygull's post |  #4

That's exactly what I was wondering and didn't know. Thanks very much for the info!


Cameras: 1DX, 1D4, 20D, 10D, S90, G2
Lenses: Canon 10-22mm, 16-35mm f2.8L II, 24-70mm f2.8L, 70-200mm f2.8L IS, 300mm f2.8L IS, 200mm f2L IS, 50mm f1.4, 50mm f1.2L, 85mm f1.2L, 1.4x TC, 2x TC, 500D macro, Zeiss 21mm
Lighting: 580EX, Elinchrom 600 RX's, D-Lite 4's, ABR800, 74" Eli Octa, 100cm/70cm DOs, Photoflex Medium Octa and reflectors, PW's, Lastolite Hilite, Newton Di400CR bracket

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AntonLargiader
Goldmember
Avatar
1,825 posts
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Charlottesville, VA
     
Jul 24, 2012 06:22 |  #5

It's a bit surprising that they wouldn't work in basic triggering mode, though. I don't see why that would be camera-dependent. What camera was selected in their setup?


T2i . 18-55 IS . 70-300 IS USM . 70-200 2.8L IS . 28mm 1.8 . 100 Macro . 430EX II . TT1/TT5 . Bogen/Manfrotto 3021 w/3265 ball-mount

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SMP_Homer
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,696 posts
Gallery: 28 photos
Likes: 503
Joined Mar 2008
Location: London, Ontario
     
Jul 24, 2012 07:43 |  #6

AntonLargiader wrote in post #14761214 (external link)
It's a bit surprising that they wouldn't work in basic triggering mode, though. I don't see why that would be camera-dependent. What camera was selected in their setup?

I haven't read anything that says they won't....


EOS R / 1D X / 1D IV (and the wife has a T4i)
Sig35A, Sig50A, Sig85A, Sig14-24A, Sig24-105A, Sig70-200S, Sig150-600C
100-400L, 100L, 100/2, 300 2.8L, 1.4x II / 2x II
600EX-II X3, 430EX-III X3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sdipirro
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,207 posts
Likes: 45
Joined Dec 2005
     
Jul 24, 2012 12:08 |  #7

I had been using both with my 1D4, and I was thinking the same thing, that I can see there being problems in ETTL mode, but I thought basic triggering would work with the PW II's.


Cameras: 1DX, 1D4, 20D, 10D, S90, G2
Lenses: Canon 10-22mm, 16-35mm f2.8L II, 24-70mm f2.8L, 70-200mm f2.8L IS, 300mm f2.8L IS, 200mm f2L IS, 50mm f1.4, 50mm f1.2L, 85mm f1.2L, 1.4x TC, 2x TC, 500D macro, Zeiss 21mm
Lighting: 580EX, Elinchrom 600 RX's, D-Lite 4's, ABR800, 74" Eli Octa, 100cm/70cm DOs, Photoflex Medium Octa and reflectors, PW's, Lastolite Hilite, Newton Di400CR bracket

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SMP_Homer
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,696 posts
Gallery: 28 photos
Likes: 503
Joined Mar 2008
Location: London, Ontario
     
Jul 24, 2012 12:35 |  #8

don't you have to manually set it to basic trigger from the PC/MAC app?
I've never used the Flex system with other PW devices...


EOS R / 1D X / 1D IV (and the wife has a T4i)
Sig35A, Sig50A, Sig85A, Sig14-24A, Sig24-105A, Sig70-200S, Sig150-600C
100-400L, 100L, 100/2, 300 2.8L, 1.4x II / 2x II
600EX-II X3, 430EX-III X3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AntonLargiader
Goldmember
Avatar
1,825 posts
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Charlottesville, VA
     
Jul 24, 2012 12:44 |  #9

Can you clarify: is the TT1 set to 1D4 or to Basic Triggering?


T2i . 18-55 IS . 70-300 IS USM . 70-200 2.8L IS . 28mm 1.8 . 100 Macro . 430EX II . TT1/TT5 . Bogen/Manfrotto 3021 w/3265 ball-mount

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
taygull
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
Jul 24, 2012 14:20 |  #10

Basic triggering works fine with my 5DIII, I have come to depend on the AC3 so I can adjust the quantity of light from the camera and now I can't.


www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
HighSierraPhotogarphyMamm
Hatchling
Avatar
1 post
Joined Sep 2012
     
Sep 01, 2012 03:49 |  #11

Has anyone been able to get a Flex TT5 to sync over 1/250th as a transmitter on a 1D-X? It seems to work in basic trigger mode, but not over 1/250th.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SMP_Homer
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,696 posts
Gallery: 28 photos
Likes: 503
Joined Mar 2008
Location: London, Ontario
     
Sep 01, 2012 06:30 |  #12

HighSierraPhotogarphyM​amm wrote in post #14934068 (external link)
Has anyone been able to get a Flex TT5 to sync over 1/250th as a transmitter on a 1D-X? It seems to work in basic trigger mode, but not over 1/250th.

Has the 1D X firmware been announced yet?
I think the 5d3 beta firmware was announced, not sure if it covers the X as well...


EOS R / 1D X / 1D IV (and the wife has a T4i)
Sig35A, Sig50A, Sig85A, Sig14-24A, Sig24-105A, Sig70-200S, Sig150-600C
100-400L, 100L, 100/2, 300 2.8L, 1.4x II / 2x II
600EX-II X3, 430EX-III X3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JBillings
Senior Member
Avatar
919 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 685
Joined Mar 2005
Location: Midwest, USA
     
Sep 02, 2012 16:48 |  #13

sdipirro wrote in post #14758890 (external link)
That's exactly what I was wondering and didn't know. Thanks very much for the info!

You're not the only one in the boat. I'm waiting the update too.

They are working on the update, and they are estimating 2-8 weeks.


jb
Nature website (external link) -- Sports website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,962 views & 0 likes for this thread
Problems with MiniTT1 and FlexTT5 on 1DX?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is balu2020
927 guests, 278 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.